No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best weekend ever

Reviewed by
jackie rice

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for suspension bridge and clifton village
Lovely hotel but very small car park so if you need to park ask before booking where the other areas are to park as most streets are limited or permits. room large and beds - twins good side and quality. Decor free and clean. Our shower was not up to much as the pressure was low which we reported. Overall a very enjoyable stay. Food wise we only had breakfast but if you did not want to venue out the restaurant on Thursdays does 2 steaks and bottle of wine for £25.00. They say they cater for dietary needs ie soya milk and gluten free bread but did not put to the test t as took own soya milk. The restaurant has wonderful views and if weather good then the terrace is huge and again gives excellent views of the bridge and gorge. would stay there again
we had a no view room which was fine as we did not intend to be in the room for very long.
locally found a lovely wine bar 'The Mall' five mins walk form hotel and had a very good quality 3 course meal for £11 a bargain

Reviewed by
b sheldon-hill

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avon gorge break
A lovely stay. Hotel clean, friendly, relaxed and convenient.

Reviewed by
Brian P

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will return next time in Bristol

Reviewed by
Jean cook`

From middlesbrough, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avon Gorge Hotel overnight stay
Beautiful location overlooking the Gorge and susspesion bridge. Very small but clean and well equipped room. car parking is an issue on a bank holiday weekend at this location but we managed to park in the hotels small car park. Staff were very pleasent and polite and unusually; mostly speaking English as a first language. Bar and restaurant area is pleasent and clean. Breakfast was very resonably priced, well presented and very tasty. Overall an agreable experience.

Reviewed by
N Boyland

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice, clean hotel with a bit of character. Friendly staff. My only complaint was a mix up with the actual booking in that Avon Gorge thought we needed beds for children when they emailed to confirm. I emailed to clarify that we needed two single beds and no extra beds for children but there was more confusion checking in when they had put a z bed in our room and given us a double bed. Even though we explained agian we didn't need the extra bed and reception said they'd arrange to have it removed, when we returned from the wedding it was still in our room. It's not a big deal but the room was very small and there wasn't enough room for two girls to get ready for a wedding with a z bed in the way. Apart form that everything was great. It would have been nice to have a basic breakfast included in the price but this was extra.

Reviewed by
B Holland

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Avon Gorge Hotel
Stayed in a twin room overlooking the gorge. Very happy with the room - spacious enough and a lovely view. Shower nice and powerful, and all was clean. If I were to be picky, I could comment on the poor grouting. However, a minor point. The restaurant was lovely - fantastic view of the bridge - and the staff were absolutely lovely and very accommodating. It was no problem for them to toast my friend's gluten free bread at breakfast. We had dinner there twice - both times excellent. Steak night was particularly good value. Had room service one evening - a lovely treat after a long day at a conference. Breakfast was quite good although it might be nice to offer a change e.g. fish or poached eggs rather than exactly the same choices each day. My overall view - more than happy with this hotel and I intend to return with my partner for a leisure break.




Reviewed by
Wendy S

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large room but very dated.

Reviewed by
R Rawsthorne

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and homely
It may not be super-duper up-to-date but I have stayed here several times now and have become quite fond of the place. The location is amazing and it is good value for money. Doubt I would stay anywhere else in Bristol or Clifton now.

Reviewed by
M Spillane

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Car Parking very stressful.
Hotel advertised Free Parking, however on arrival there was no parking available at the Hotel or on surrounding streets. When I went in to say we would have to find somewhere else to stay because we couldn't park our car a very kind member of staff was just leaving and I was able to take her space. After a long journey to an unfamiliar place this was very stressful. The room was adequate and clean and the breakfast was excellent. I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to anyone taking a car.

Reviewed by
H Horton

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next