No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent view of the bridge from our room

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
We had a comfortable stay - no problems and recieved good quality service from reception and good breakfast

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
Very nice

Reviewed by
M Hill

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chin's Birthday
A great place to stay - may have over done it on the hospitality...

Reviewed by
Shane P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better what you know
We always stay at the Gorge when we visit Bristol. The view across the bridge is astounding and Clifton Village is very quaint to walk around, but the hotel is looking a bit dated and worn out.

Reviewed by
Albert R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best view in Bristol
Clearly this was a luxury hotel at some point but I'm guessing that this just wasn't viable as a business and now guests have the advantage of the amazing views and surroundings in a beautiful building without having to pay the earth. OK, nobody is going to take your bags to the room but I can honestly say that I'd prefer to save £100 and carry my own things.
Our room had a balcony overlooking the Gorge and, of course, just outside your window you have the magnificence of Isambard Kingdom Brunel's great suspension bridge which is lit up at night to reveal its absolute splendour.
Locationwise, you're just minutes from the eateries, bars and pubs of Clifton Village. Its got most bases covered and has some lovely little pubs to drink in such as the Albion and The Clifton. During the day you can walk around the boutiques or head down into the city centre (15 minutes walk or 5 in a taxi).
The hotel is around 25 minutes drive from the airport and is well-placed to get there (i.e you avoid the traffic hotspots). The train station is about a 10 minute taxi ride.

Reviewed by
jason nevin

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service
In the restaurant bar at lunchtime, we were ignored as staff got on with other business. Even walking past us to take plates through to the kitchen, without acknolwedging our presence.
It was clear that the staff were busy BUT, it would not have taken any trouble for someone to say 'Good afternoon gentlemen, I will be with you in a couple of minutes!'

Reviewed by
M Hobbs

From Muscat, Oman
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas visit 2012
Generally good quality with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfasts good. WiFi worked well in room. Plenty of space in public areas and good-sized bedroom. Whole hotel very warm.
Not a modern hotel and ambiance could be described as a little dated.
Free car parking available, though on a steep hill and not very convenient.

Reviewed by
David M

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight at Avon Gorge
Nice room, lovely balcony and views of the bridge. Bathroom although clean needed updating. Overall, a good stay just let down by the buffet style breakfast which was a bit works canteen.

Reviewed by
stephen b

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
Pleasant hotel, friendly staff, room clean and homely. Food very good, all in all a very pleasant experience

Reviewed by
G HAMER

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next