Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel


Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD

Price From 260.62 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (83)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Flinders

  • February 2014

Weekend Break Feb 2014

Not worth paying the extra for "Gorge view" as you had to strain your neck to see it.

Room small and window small. Parking is not brilliant and on a first come first served basis, so you could end up paying for street parking. Rooms not particularly well soundproofed snoring and early hours television from next door.

  • jeremy d

  • February 2014


  • M Bonomini

  • January 2014

The bed was a standard double, a little small for larger frames

  • Leslie L

  • January 2014

Overpriced for what it offers

Staff were not very attentive.

The room was a little tired, the bath was dirty. I expected more for my £94 a night.

  • Geraldine W

  • January 2014

First class service

Excellent service, good ambience, super food and good looking room; large bathroom all well appointed.

However I found the mattress too hard and the quilt too hot so had a very comfortable night sleeping on the top. My husband however found it perfect and slept even better. We had visiting family and children but this was all accepted with no qualms by the hotel staff.

  • Carl N

  • December 2013

Deeply disappointed

As a former Bristolian I've known the Avon Gorge Hotel for decades and been there many times, but never stayed.

The expectation of grandeur and luxury far outweighed the sad reality, however modernised it may have been or nice the view. The bar and restaurant could have been at any second rate commercial hotel, the food likewise. I had to stuff a towel between the double-glazing panes to stop a howling draft. No other facilities I could see (such as sauna, spa, swimming pool, fitness room, massage etc.). All in all, a deep disappointment.

  • D Findley

  • December 2013

The staff were the best I have ever met.

In any hotel , if I ever come back to Bristol it will be to stay at The Avon Gorge hotel

  • Jason Roseblade

  • December 2013

Very Happy Customer

The accommodation was in an excellent location and was very clean and tidy the bathroom was immaculate and the staff were very helpful especially with me trying to use my laptop the Value for money was good and the food was excellent.

  • John McCormack

  • December 2013

Our 1st Christmas morning in a hotel

The hotel was clean and comfortable.Recent refurbishment had obviously taken place.We booked breakfast on arrival for 2 of the 3 mornings we stayed and the food was fine,providing good value for money.

Our only problem which we discovered on arriving home was that payment had been taken twice from my debit card.I was asked to present this on arrival and on departure to settle the bill.The 1st amount was £237(the cost for 3 nights)and the bill on departure for £263(including the 2 breakfasts). I had to ring the hotel and my bank urgently to resolve this matter,at my expense,when it was their error.The £237 will not be returned to my account until 2/1/14.I have little option but to accept this but it is not good enough.

  • J Gibbs

  • December 2013

Lovely 2 night stay with view of Clifton suspension bridge

Booked one night to visit bath Christmas market and booked a second night.

Lovely room with a beautiful view. Reported about the dip in the bed where springs had gone and a dry patch of blood found on side of bed receptionist apologised but that was it and had a large party on that was distracting. Disappointing. On check out mentioned again but lady just apologised.