No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really helpful reception and Restaurant staff. Room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was very well designed and we had a view of Clifton Suspension Bridge and Avon Gorge. However we both found the mattresses too hard and, therefore, uncomfortable. The Bridge Cafe was excellent both for dinner and breakfast; the staff could not have been more helpful. Altogether a good experience that was slightly marred by the hard bed.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family trip

Reviewed by
A Coombes

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel to stay for exploring Bristol
Very good nights stay, pity about party in room beneath our room noisy until 12.30am. Curtain hook broken on our arrival, room needs a bit of up dating but serviceable. Very good breakfast and very pleasant staff. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Samantha B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the job but room was showing it's age
Access to the room was too difficult. It involved a lift to the first floor then we walked along and down a few flights of stairs. The corridors were overly warm and it was awkward getting to and from the room with bags. The room was a twin when I'd requested a double at the time of booking. They only had twins available in the hotel due to it's business. I got the impression when I asked to change rooms to a double that they'd given me an older, shabbier room because I'd booked through laterooms. The terrace views are great but parking is a pain. If you are lucky to get a space at the hotel, don't move. FInding one on the streets of Clifton is like finding a needle in a haystack. I'd recommend it for certain types of stay. We didn't spend much time in the room but did enjoy sitting on the balcony, which was a bonus as it was sunny.

Reviewed by
Neil T

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Location
We chose the Avon Grange on a personal recommendation and because we wanted to be close to the Avon Gorge for the first day of Balloon Fiesta. It was a perfect choice!

Reviewed by
R Johnson

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
The Avon Gorge has the most wonderful location being alongside the Avon and the Clifton Suspension Bridge. Had I paid the full price I would have been very disappointed. Our standard room was perfectly fine but I guess due to H & S issues the window would not open beyond a few inches. We had a ceiling fan but we roasted. The bed was only a 4'6" (the room would not have taken any larger) this is something we have not come across for years, I guess Americans would most certainly call this a single room. Parking is difficult but we managed to find a place to the rear of the hotel, not a good place to leave your car. We didn't eat there so can't comment. Many lovely restaurants and cafes in Clifton.The ajoining pub is very much a center for the young.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely hotel..
We stopped here on our way into Wales to explore Bristol and to learn more about Brunel. We were situated on top of the Clifton Bridge and had the view from both our room and the hotel outside bar - spectacular. Anytime we asked for information or help we were given excellent service and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the bar attached to the hotel and again, the staff and service was second to none. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and whilst it's not in the centre of Bristol it's not far and has plenty to do if you want to explore or just relax. We went into town and had a fantastic time there too..

Reviewed by
R Pulford

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disapointed
Booked a superior double and found not so superior

Reviewed by
Denise H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed before and cannot recommend it too highly. Great spot and accomodation. Will be back
A friendly and warm welcome. Great bar and views second to none. Didn't eat this time, but probably one of the most romantic places to eat, either in the evening, or having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Clifton Bridge and Gorge

Reviewed by
A Somerville

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meals
Staff and restaurant manager very off hand and not at all helpful when we arrived at 9.20 and were told the restaurant was open until 10pm. It was our problem that the kitchen closed at 9.30!!!
Terrace is scruffy with litter everywhere and the building needs decorating. Go for the view only...

Reviewed by
Nick A

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next