No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location wins the day.
Great suspension bridge location. Room was a little cool, outside some noise from boiler room? Service excellent but sausages need to be cooked more!

Reviewed by
Simon M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent location for exploring Bristol.Staff friendly and attentive.

Reviewed by
john tough

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting Bristol
Good hotel, handy for clifton and the suspension bridge, short walk to bristol centre. Parking very limited, managed to find a very tight spot on st nearby.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in Bristol
We have stayed at a few but this suits us fine good hot food when you need it no frills but lovely friendly people with nice smiles and helpful people good clean room pillows a bit springy but all very good and the most beautiful views and terrace a gem.

Reviewed by
Matthew R

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AGH
Great hotel, easy to find, value for money through late rooms

Reviewed by
Kevan T

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little jewel
I like the Avon Gorge a lot, having stayed there a few times. My room on Monday evening was very clean, comfortable and peaceful. Although I didn't have breakfast this time, I know from experience it is very hearty.

Reviewed by
Alexander S

From winchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I love the avon gorge hotel. The staff are Brilliant and the setting is idylic. The problem with booking at the Avon gorge is that the size and quality of the rooms vary immensely within the same price bracket. It would be really useful to know whether my superior double/twin will be a sprawling space with balcony and floor to ceiling windows or a box at the top with a tiny window that barely spills enough light to find the light switch. I expect to pay less for the latter bit it's pot luck at the moment. I'll still go but will call them first next time.

Reviewed by
D Walsh

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected!
We only needed a room for the night as we were bringing my niece to University it was too far to travel to Bristol and back in a day with young kids. Hotel availability was very limited, and the Avon Gorge was the only one I could get within the city itself, so I really wasn't expected much more than a place to put our heads down.
I was therefore pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel - the room we had was a family room and was very spacious, and the breakfast was really good with top quality ingredients. We had a wonderful view of the Clifton Suspension bridge, and took our time in the morning to stroll across it and take in the views.
My only "gripes" would be that parking is limited, but we managed to find a space on one of the street surrounding the hotel, so it wasn't too bad. There was also an 18th birthday party going on downstairs, so there was a little noise, but nothing to keep anyone awake at night.

Reviewed by
Dave Fox

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Although I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world on business I have to say that this is my favourite. The position is as spectacular as you could find in the UK and everything is done just right.
If it is your first time in Bristol be sure to take a ride on the harbour ferry up to the centre and then go for a drink in the Llandoger Trow, where Daniel Defoe met Alexander Selkirk who was his inspiration for Robinson Crusoe.

Reviewed by
Greg Stapleton

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Staff really friendly. One or two rooms could do with updating, but this is in progress so give it a few months and all the rooms should be top notch.

Reviewed by
KEVIN T

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next