No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Although I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world on business I have to say that this is my favourite. The position is as spectacular as you could find in the UK and everything is done just right.
If it is your first time in Bristol be sure to take a ride on the harbour ferry up to the centre and then go for a drink in the Llandoger Trow, where Daniel Defoe met Alexander Selkirk who was his inspiration for Robinson Crusoe.

Reviewed by
Greg Stapleton

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Staff really friendly. One or two rooms could do with updating, but this is in progress so give it a few months and all the rooms should be top notch.

Reviewed by
KEVIN T

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mid week break
Hotel beautifully situated plesent looking both inside and out a couple of minor issues on arrival with my booking but were dealt with quickly and professionally the room was well presented but on arrival noticed curtains were hanging off and the ironing board were missing again however these minor issues were dealt with by the hotel staff quickly.all the staff were very friendly and helpful although there were one or two language issues.the breakfasts I had booked were extremely good and very well worth the 6.50 per day each and in the evening the hotel pub is very lively with good staff and excellent service and food.I would not hesitate to stay here again for a night or two although I don't know if there is enough to keep me there longer all in all for a short break excellent

Reviewed by
chris adams

From cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lark wedding
Good venue, food ok, drinks very expensive very little parking.

Reviewed by
R Campbell

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really helpful reception and Restaurant staff. Room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was very well designed and we had a view of Clifton Suspension Bridge and Avon Gorge. However we both found the mattresses too hard and, therefore, uncomfortable. The Bridge Cafe was excellent both for dinner and breakfast; the staff could not have been more helpful. Altogether a good experience that was slightly marred by the hard bed.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family trip

Reviewed by
A Coombes

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel to stay for exploring Bristol
Very good nights stay, pity about party in room beneath our room noisy until 12.30am. Curtain hook broken on our arrival, room needs a bit of up dating but serviceable. Very good breakfast and very pleasant staff. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Samantha B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the job but room was showing it's age
Access to the room was too difficult. It involved a lift to the first floor then we walked along and down a few flights of stairs. The corridors were overly warm and it was awkward getting to and from the room with bags. The room was a twin when I'd requested a double at the time of booking. They only had twins available in the hotel due to it's business. I got the impression when I asked to change rooms to a double that they'd given me an older, shabbier room because I'd booked through laterooms. The terrace views are great but parking is a pain. If you are lucky to get a space at the hotel, don't move. FInding one on the streets of Clifton is like finding a needle in a haystack. I'd recommend it for certain types of stay. We didn't spend much time in the room but did enjoy sitting on the balcony, which was a bonus as it was sunny.

Reviewed by
Neil T

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Location
We chose the Avon Grange on a personal recommendation and because we wanted to be close to the Avon Gorge for the first day of Balloon Fiesta. It was a perfect choice!

Reviewed by
R Johnson

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
The Avon Gorge has the most wonderful location being alongside the Avon and the Clifton Suspension Bridge. Had I paid the full price I would have been very disappointed. Our standard room was perfectly fine but I guess due to H & S issues the window would not open beyond a few inches. We had a ceiling fan but we roasted. The bed was only a 4'6" (the room would not have taken any larger) this is something we have not come across for years, I guess Americans would most certainly call this a single room. Parking is difficult but we managed to find a place to the rear of the hotel, not a good place to leave your car. We didn't eat there so can't comment. Many lovely restaurants and cafes in Clifton.The ajoining pub is very much a center for the young.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next