Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel


Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (92)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Jones

  • May 2014

Another lovely stay at the Avon Gorge

This was our sixth visit to this hotel as we have an elderly aunt in Bristol.The hotel has been refurbished in several areas and the rooms are clean, comfortable and staff are excellent.

We had minor problem with cistern in bathroom which was dealt with immediately and otherwise no problems. Location is superb, food good in both restaurant and bar and lovely area of decking to fully appreciate the fabulous view of the bridge.

  • A Chave

  • May 2014

Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

The hotel is in an excellent location in the quiet streets of Clifton with stunning views of the suspension bridge and gorge.

We found all staff that we encountered to be most friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The only criticism that we would have is the car parking is chaotic to say the least, and on the evening that we stayed there a large student function was going on and the participants were extremely noisy until quite late.

  • N Suggit

  • May 2014

Delightful setting but slightly faded glory

The setting is magnificent and the bar, terrace and restaurant have a lovely view of the suspension bridge.

The rooms are clean but simple and in need of slightly refurbishment.. Little things like the bathroom tap always knocked against the mirror. I had spent the previous night in an ultramodern BLOC hotel where everything was ultra-modern and perfectly designed. The comparison exacerbated the sense of a venue that was a little faded and old-fashioned. However, it is what you expect from an older hotel and I enjoyed my visit and would consider visiting again. .

  • Thomas D

  • April 2014

First visit

Overall good.

Breakfast arrangements very crowded. We were given a table in a very cold room. Otherwise no complaints


  • michael riggs

  • April 2014

Mid week stay

On arrival we found that the lift was to be serviced.

Because of my wife's disability she can not manage stairs, so we could not have the room with a view over the Avon Gorge which we had booked specially. The reception staff were able to relocate us in the annexe at street level, so that was convenient. I think we could have been forewarned about the lift because when I made the booking by telephone I had checked about accessibility.

In other respects we were well satisfied thanks to the attentions of the staff.

  • L Sweetman

  • March 2014

A lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff

  • S Menzies

  • March 2014

Lovely Views, Great Location

A lovely part of Clifton, within walking distance of bars, restaurants and cafés.

Room was nice, especially bathroom. View of suspension bridge from terrace of restaurant a highlight.

  • Elizabeth D

  • March 2014

Overnight stay

Friendly hotel, room rather small, but adequate for one night.

Very good breakfast

  • A Flinders

  • February 2014

Weekend Break Feb 2014

Not worth paying the extra for "Gorge view" as you had to strain your neck to see it.

Room small and window small. Parking is not brilliant and on a first come first served basis, so you could end up paying for street parking. Rooms not particularly well soundproofed snoring and early hours television from next door.

  • jeremy d

  • February 2014