No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely 2 night stay with view of Clifton suspension bridge
Booked one night to visit bath Christmas market and booked a second night. Lovely room with a beautiful view. Reported about the dip in the bed where springs had gone and a dry patch of blood found on side of bed receptionist apologised but that was it and had a large party on that was distracting. Disappointing. On check out mentioned again but lady just apologised.

Reviewed by
J Gibbs

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Anniversary
As we have done for a number of years, we spent our wedding anniversary (the 35th) at the Avon Gorge, where we held our wedding reception all those years ago. The room had a view of the suspension bridge and Clifton village, was recently refurbished to a high standard and we were delighted with it. As always, the staff were helpful and courteous and our stay in our old haunt of Clifton, where we first met and lived when we were married, was again memorable. We have lived in Cornwall for over 30 years now, but still return to the Avon Gorge at least once a year and hope to return to the beautiful and vibrant city of Bristol for many more years yet

Reviewed by
Harry Webb

From St. Cleer, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrace with a view
First impressions were very good. Friendly at reception and nice room. Food in the bar was nice and the view from the terrace was great. The downside was at night. There must have been a door slammers convention on when we stayed. We were kept awake till the small hours listening to every door in the hotel being shut. Our room overlooked a busy street so we heard all the revellers too. I found the pillows too high and hard, but that's just my preference. Car parking was very limited too. Ideal location for a visit to Bristol Zoo as it is only a 15 minute walk .

Reviewed by
T Martin

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too bad but not great either
View was limited, water pressure very bad so shower was pretty terrible. Noisy lift shaft. Only 2 channels worked on the TV.

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Fancy hotel with lovely views. Close to Clifton Village and Bristol Zoo. Only negative was that the walls are paper thin. Other than that, very good.

Reviewed by
JASMIN H

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

avon gorge hotel
No complaints about accommodation, but when we asked for Bacardi in the bar we were served with a cheaper rum - if you ask for Bacardi you should be served Bacardi if not they should tell you that it is another make

Reviewed by
ann e

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful hotel
beautiful hotel and a great location. staff very friendly also. would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
alex richardson

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice new refurb happening
Very helpful staff, price reflects location location location...best in the area ,would use again.

Reviewed by
carole w

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a November visit
The Avon Gorge was my base for a training course I was attending locally. The hotel is located to the west of Bristol in the village of Clifton. The hotel has obviously undergone refurbishment of its accommodation and this is continuing. My room was pleasant and well presented and overlooked the gorge and the Clifton Bridge, worth the money for the room alone! the room was clean and comfortable but a tad basic, for example there was a lack of information about the hotel and services.
Breakfast was good, although service altered daily as a result of switching from a buffet style to waiter service. For this to work needs better co-ordinated staff. Evening meals were good, but limited in choice, Clifton village though offers plenty of choice. Bar prices are a bit on the steep side though. All the staff I dealt with were helpful and provided good service, although in a lot of cases English was not their first language.
I will visit again for leisure to further explore the local area and the village of Clifton

Reviewed by
Jason M

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over to visit daughter at Uni
Very pleased with our chice of Hotel - mainly for the location and view ( both excellent) - but, everything else was absolutely fine.

Reviewed by
A McConchie

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next