Avon Gorge Hotel

3

Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD

Price From 171.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (121)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kirstie M

  • July 2014

The room was stifling hot and you couldn't open the windows more than a couple of inches.

A fan was provided but did not do much to alleviate the heat. Apart from that a nice hotel in a great location

  • A CHAPPLE

  • July 2014

room

Newly refurbished rooms and corridors, a big improvement.

  • Simon Miller

  • July 2014

An excellent experience.

This hotel is very good and my expectation before arriving was already quite high given the other reviews and Hotel's own statements. However, my expectations were exceeded and the reviews did not do justice to the hotel, it's location or the magnificent views of the Bridge from the large terrace and of course, some rooms.. The only minor crticisms relate to the slighlty less than attentive reception staff. The welcome and level of interest was disspapointing. The only other point of concern was that the room not being equipped with air conditioning and we stayed on an exceptionally hot night. I guess we can not really blame the hotel for this, but nonetheless the lack of a/c made for an uncomfortable sleep.

  • Claire C

  • July 2014

Fantastic stay, cherry on top of my graduation day

I stayed in the Avon Gorge Bristol for the night of my graduation as i had things to do the following day and my partner and i know we love the white lion bar attached and the village.

I asked for the sheets to be washed in non-bio as my partner has an uncomfortable skin reaction to biological washing powders. I was called two weeks before the check in date by a member of staff who informed me that she had called the sheet and washing suppliers and that our sheets would definitely be washed in non-bio. She delivered on that promise as we both had a comfortable night sleep and his skin didn't flare up over night, which i can assure you is a blessing.

As we were there for my graduation we needed to be at the cathedral dressed and ready by 2:30 so i called and asked if i could check in early and they were very accommodating and said my room was ready by 9 and i could arrive when i chose. This made my day so much easier.

My partner had bought me a bottle of sparkling rose to celebrate and yet again a member of staff helpfully delivered us a bucket of ice and glasses. My brother is disabled and was supposed to arrived a little later with my mother. The staff on the front desk went out of their way to find him a taxicab that could accommodate his wheelchair.

We went up to our room to find that we had been upgraded to a room with a view over Clifton bridge and the gorge which was just delightful and that extra special as we love that view.

Overall the room was fantastic, clean, the view was spectacular, the service was fantastic and this whole experience made my graduation day feel extra special.

I should add that the staff were unaware it was my graduation and this was not a special request or treatment, they were just damn good at their jobs.

  • Claire M

  • July 2014

Fantastic

I've stayed in 4 star accommodation that was vastly inferior to the Avon Gorge Hotel.

The room was large, bright, clean and airy and very well maintained and tastefully decorated. As was the bathroom. Every member of hotel staff that I dealt with was charming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great - good quality fresh food and plenty of choice. Only one minor niggle and that was the parking which was limited in availability and awkward to access. Not sure what you could do about that though....

  • Alastair C

  • July 2014

Great value and fabulous position

The Avon Gorge has a lot going for it.

It sits on a prime spot on the edge of the gorge in the shadow of Clifton Suspension bridge with views upstream towards the city and beyond.The hotel's terrace is a popular place to watch the sun go down. My room, booked at the last minute, was bigger tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. If I was not on business I would opt for a gorge view but there was nothing to complain about with my room. With Clifton's many restaurants, bars and interesting shops I could happily stay here for a few days and with the city centre only a short walk, or taxi ride, away there would be no shortage of things to do.

  • Lynn A

  • July 2014

Perfect

Great location.

Lovely clean quiet room. We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Bristol.

  • Ray I

  • July 2014

Stunning Hotel

What a lovely hotel this is and they accept dogs.

Our Rottweiler loved the room and going up and down in the lift..and what a stunning location..right next to the famous Clifton Suspension Bridge. ....her nightly walk was amazing with the lit up bridge right there in the background. Shame we were only down for the weekend. ...would have liked to have stayed longer.....

  • piers harrison

  • July 2014

historic hotel in a stunning location

The hotel is perched on the cliffs next to the iconic suspension Bridge and benefits from fantastic panoramic views from it's huge outside terrace.

We enjoyed a few drinks and tasty pub grub in the evening sunshine.

Having not stayed at the hotel for c20 years I was pleasantly surprised to see the rooms has been sympathetically updated with flat screen TV, power shower etc. A nice touch given the heatwave when we visited was that a powerful fan had been set up in our room. Clifton is a beautiful and historic part of Bristol and offers some attractive local coffee shops and pubs. The city centre is certainly walkable but given it is uphill on the way back you may wish to get a bus or cab on your return trip.

  • loretta f

  • July 2014

Great stay

Clean, hot powerful shower, comfy bed, good breakfast.