Avon Gorge Hotel

3

Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD

Price From 241.76 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (118)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Claire M

  • July 2014

Fantastic

I've stayed in 4 star accommodation that was vastly inferior to the Avon Gorge Hotel.

The room was large, bright, clean and airy and very well maintained and tastefully decorated. As was the bathroom. Every member of hotel staff that I dealt with was charming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great - good quality fresh food and plenty of choice. Only one minor niggle and that was the parking which was limited in availability and awkward to access. Not sure what you could do about that though....

  • Alastair C

  • July 2014

Great value and fabulous position

The Avon Gorge has a lot going for it.

It sits on a prime spot on the edge of the gorge in the shadow of Clifton Suspension bridge with views upstream towards the city and beyond.The hotel's terrace is a popular place to watch the sun go down. My room, booked at the last minute, was bigger tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. If I was not on business I would opt for a gorge view but there was nothing to complain about with my room. With Clifton's many restaurants, bars and interesting shops I could happily stay here for a few days and with the city centre only a short walk, or taxi ride, away there would be no shortage of things to do.

  • Lynn A

  • July 2014

Perfect

Great location.

Lovely clean quiet room. We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Bristol.

  • Ray I

  • July 2014

Stunning Hotel

What a lovely hotel this is and they accept dogs.

Our Rottweiler loved the room and going up and down in the lift..and what a stunning location..right next to the famous Clifton Suspension Bridge. ....her nightly walk was amazing with the lit up bridge right there in the background. Shame we were only down for the weekend. ...would have liked to have stayed longer.....

  • piers harrison

  • July 2014

historic hotel in a stunning location

The hotel is perched on the cliffs next to the iconic suspension Bridge and benefits from fantastic panoramic views from it's huge outside terrace.

We enjoyed a few drinks and tasty pub grub in the evening sunshine.

Having not stayed at the hotel for c20 years I was pleasantly surprised to see the rooms has been sympathetically updated with flat screen TV, power shower etc. A nice touch given the heatwave when we visited was that a powerful fan had been set up in our room. Clifton is a beautiful and historic part of Bristol and offers some attractive local coffee shops and pubs. The city centre is certainly walkable but given it is uphill on the way back you may wish to get a bus or cab on your return trip.

  • loretta f

  • July 2014

Great stay

Clean, hot powerful shower, comfy bed, good breakfast.

  • Hayley P

  • July 2014

Break away

Lovely hotel with stunning views and lots of nice independent shops near by.

  • stephen s

  • June 2014

Recommend thus venue for sure

  • Anna B

  • June 2014

Avon Gorge Hotel - location great

This hotel was in such a great location and priced so reasonably, we were very pleased.

The only negative is the beds. They are so hard I actually checked under my sheet that there was a mattress. Otherwise it was a lovely stay in a great location with friendly helpful staff. Just remember to ask if they have rooms with softer mattresses!.

  • R Wheatley

  • June 2014

The staff were very helpful.