No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break Feb 2014
Not worth paying the extra for "Gorge view" as you had to strain your neck to see it. Room small and window small. Parking is not brilliant and on a first come first served basis, so you could end up paying for street parking. Rooms not particularly well soundproofed snoring and early hours television from next door.

Reviewed by
A Flinders

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FAB!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
jeremy d

From reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bed was a standard double, a little small for larger frames

Reviewed by
M Bonomini

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced for what it offers
Staff were not very attentive. The room was a little tired, the bath was dirty. I expected more for my £94 a night.

Reviewed by
Leslie L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Views, Great Location
A lovely part of Clifton, within walking distance of bars, restaurants and cafés. Room was nice, especially bathroom. View of suspension bridge from terrace of restaurant a highlight.

Reviewed by
S Menzies

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class service
Excellent service, good ambience, super food and good looking room; large bathroom all well appointed. However I found the mattress too hard and the quilt too hot so had a very comfortable night sleeping on the top. My husband however found it perfect and slept even better. We had visiting family and children but this was all accepted with no qualms by the hotel staff.

Reviewed by
Geraldine W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Deeply disappointed
As a former Bristolian I've known the Avon Gorge Hotel for decades and been there many times, but never stayed. The expectation of grandeur and luxury far outweighed the sad reality, however modernised it may have been or nice the view. The bar and restaurant could have been at any second rate commercial hotel, the food likewise. I had to stuff a towel between the double-glazing panes to stop a howling draft. No other facilities I could see (such as sauna, spa, swimming pool, fitness room, massage etc.). All in all, a deep disappointment.

Reviewed by
Carl N

From Munich, Germany
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were the best I have ever met. In any hotel , if I ever come back to Bristol it will be to stay at The Avon Gorge hotel

Reviewed by
D Findley

From , UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Happy Customer
The accommodation was in an excellent location and was very clean and tidy the bathroom was immaculate and the staff were very helpful especially with me trying to use my laptop the Value for money was good and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Jason Roseblade

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 1st Christmas morning in a hotel
The hotel was clean and comfortable.Recent refurbishment had obviously taken place.We booked breakfast on arrival for 2 of the 3 mornings we stayed and the food was fine,providing good value for money.
Our only problem which we discovered on arriving home was that payment had been taken twice from my debit card.I was asked to present this on arrival and on departure to settle the bill.The 1st amount was £237(the cost for 3 nights)and the bill on departure for £263(including the 2 breakfasts).
I had to ring the hotel and my bank urgently to resolve this matter,at my expense,when it was their error.The £237 will not be returned to my account until 2/1/14.I have little option but to accept this but it is not good enough!

Reviewed by
John McCormack

From , UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next