Avon Gorge Hotel

3

Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (120)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Robert H

  • September 2014

Avon Gorge

Fortunately, this was what it said on the tin: you can sit on the terrace and look directly across at the Clifton Suspension Bridge.

Marvellous with the weather we were having then. The food in the main sit-down restaurant was really good and it looked as though much effort had been put in. Possible drawback: there are lots of seagulls and the car parking area is not immune from droppings.

  • Anita C

  • September 2014

Happy Customer

Very pleased with our stay, the staff were extremely helpful.

  • Janet D

  • September 2014

Feedback

Stay was satisfactory and overall room perfectly comfortable.

Had requested top feather pillows but was not possible though at least this was acknowledged. I awoke with a stiff neck. It would have been useful for a simple hotel guide re breakfast times and tel numbers, check out time to be in the room seemed odd not to be there though main restaurant details were. These facts were recounted but too often it relies on customer remembering. A good morning before asked re room number at breakfast would be a nic touch please. the waiter did respond (in general attention etc0 when i said good morning before giving room number so hope that was a blip. Would have been bothered if I had paid ful price but would stay again.

  • Chris J

  • August 2014

Great staff, horrible uncomfortable room

Our room was small, quite tatty, very warm with a horrible small very uncomfortable bed.

The hotel is in a great setting but badly needs refurbishing, we were so disappointed as we had looked forward to this break, we had three largely sleepless nights because of the bed. The receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay and we said yes, but that the bed was horrible, she looked surprised and said "sorry" , please do something to make it better.

  • Simon C

  • August 2014

room on the street

The room had a window which looked straight out (and in) to the street.

Felt a bit public, and in an annex to the main hotel so you have to go back out in the rain and down the road to find the room.

  • T Astley

  • August 2014

Great location, shame about the rest!

Great view of the Clifton Bridge, but ...

room was only surface clean and the bathroom was smelly. Breakfast was poor in quality, choice and service. The (female) restaurant manager was particularly brusk and unfriendly, she was more keen on clearing away the buffet and getting the tables changed for lunch than serving the breakfast guests. We won't be returning.

  • Keri D

  • August 2014

The room we were allocated was very nice.

It was clean, well presented, and in good repair. The rain shower was lovely. We chose a 'village view' room as we were only going to be sleeping there so there didn't seem much point in paying extra for a view. The terrace was lovely though the drinks were a little on the pricey side. The only real downside was that our room was incredibly hot. Fortunately it was not one of the warmer weekends we've been having, if it had been I'm not sure how we would have coped. A fan was provided but this only made the temperature bearable.

  • Stephen C

  • August 2014

Great location, atmosphere & view of the Balloon Fiesta too!

Manged to get a late booking for 1 night to mix business with pleasure.

Sampled the restaurant & bar terrace with ample staff and great food across a varied menue. the attached pub provided for a great atmosphere what with hotdogs & ice cream booths available as well as traditional cream-teas. Comanding a view across the Avon Gorge to Brunells Clifton Suspension Bridge made for a examplary location for photographs of the Balloon Fiesta, whislt tucking into an early dinner

  • Chris D

  • August 2014

Free bottle of wine was a nice touch but noise was an issue with lots of people, presumably kids running up and down the corridor outside our room.

The room was of a high standard and clean. Location was excellent, however, and very near the Suspension Bridge and Clifton Village.

  • Jean D

  • August 2014

Nice place, slight issue on check out

Had a lovely stay, clean and comfortable.

only problem was they tried to charge me for breakfast which I didn't have. thankfully the staff sorted it out