Avon Gorge Hotel

3

Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD

Price From 233.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (118)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Simon C

  • August 2014

room on the street

The room had a window which looked straight out (and in) to the street.

Felt a bit public, and in an annex to the main hotel so you have to go back out in the rain and down the road to find the room.

  • T Astley

  • August 2014

Great location, shame about the rest!

Great view of the Clifton Bridge, but ...

room was only surface clean and the bathroom was smelly. Breakfast was poor in quality, choice and service. The (female) restaurant manager was particularly brusk and unfriendly, she was more keen on clearing away the buffet and getting the tables changed for lunch than serving the breakfast guests. We won't be returning.

  • Keri D

  • August 2014

The room we were allocated was very nice.

It was clean, well presented, and in good repair. The rain shower was lovely. We chose a 'village view' room as we were only going to be sleeping there so there didn't seem much point in paying extra for a view. The terrace was lovely though the drinks were a little on the pricey side. The only real downside was that our room was incredibly hot. Fortunately it was not one of the warmer weekends we've been having, if it had been I'm not sure how we would have coped. A fan was provided but this only made the temperature bearable.

  • Stephen C

  • August 2014

Great location, atmosphere & view of the Balloon Fiesta too!

Manged to get a late booking for 1 night to mix business with pleasure.

Sampled the restaurant & bar terrace with ample staff and great food across a varied menue. the attached pub provided for a great atmosphere what with hotdogs & ice cream booths available as well as traditional cream-teas. Comanding a view across the Avon Gorge to Brunells Clifton Suspension Bridge made for a examplary location for photographs of the Balloon Fiesta, whislt tucking into an early dinner

  • Chris D

  • August 2014

Free bottle of wine was a nice touch but noise was an issue with lots of people, presumably kids running up and down the corridor outside our room.

The room was of a high standard and clean. Location was excellent, however, and very near the Suspension Bridge and Clifton Village.

  • Jean D

  • August 2014

Nice place, slight issue on check out

Had a lovely stay, clean and comfortable.

only problem was they tried to charge me for breakfast which I didn't have. thankfully the staff sorted it out

  • Kirstie M

  • July 2014

The room was stifling hot and you couldn't open the windows more than a couple of inches.

A fan was provided but did not do much to alleviate the heat. Apart from that a nice hotel in a great location

  • A CHAPPLE

  • July 2014

room

Newly refurbished rooms and corridors, a big improvement.

  • Simon Miller

  • July 2014

An excellent experience.

This hotel is very good and my expectation before arriving was already quite high given the other reviews and Hotel's own statements. However, my expectations were exceeded and the reviews did not do justice to the hotel, it's location or the magnificent views of the Bridge from the large terrace and of course, some rooms.. The only minor crticisms relate to the slighlty less than attentive reception staff. The welcome and level of interest was disspapointing. The only other point of concern was that the room not being equipped with air conditioning and we stayed on an exceptionally hot night. I guess we can not really blame the hotel for this, but nonetheless the lack of a/c made for an uncomfortable sleep.

  • Claire C

  • July 2014

Fantastic stay, cherry on top of my graduation day

I stayed in the Avon Gorge Bristol for the night of my graduation as i had things to do the following day and my partner and i know we love the white lion bar attached and the village.

I asked for the sheets to be washed in non-bio as my partner has an uncomfortable skin reaction to biological washing powders. I was called two weeks before the check in date by a member of staff who informed me that she had called the sheet and washing suppliers and that our sheets would definitely be washed in non-bio. She delivered on that promise as we both had a comfortable night sleep and his skin didn't flare up over night, which i can assure you is a blessing.

As we were there for my graduation we needed to be at the cathedral dressed and ready by 2:30 so i called and asked if i could check in early and they were very accommodating and said my room was ready by 9 and i could arrive when i chose. This made my day so much easier.

My partner had bought me a bottle of sparkling rose to celebrate and yet again a member of staff helpfully delivered us a bucket of ice and glasses. My brother is disabled and was supposed to arrived a little later with my mother. The staff on the front desk went out of their way to find him a taxicab that could accommodate his wheelchair.

We went up to our room to find that we had been upgraded to a room with a view over Clifton bridge and the gorge which was just delightful and that extra special as we love that view.

Overall the room was fantastic, clean, the view was spectacular, the service was fantastic and this whole experience made my graduation day feel extra special.

I should add that the staff were unaware it was my graduation and this was not a special request or treatment, they were just damn good at their jobs.