No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Great location. Lovely clean quiet room. We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Bristol.

Reviewed by
Lynn A

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Hotel
What a lovely hotel this is and they accept dogs. Our Rottweiler loved the room and going up and down in the lift..and what a stunning location..right next to the famous Clifton Suspension Bridge. ....her nightly walk was amazing with the lit up bridge right there in the background. Shame we were only down for the weekend. ...would have liked to have stayed longer.....

Reviewed by
Ray I

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
I've stayed in 4 star accommodation that was vastly inferior to the Avon Gorge Hotel. The room was large, bright, clean and airy and very well maintained and tastefully decorated. As was the bathroom. Every member of hotel staff that I dealt with was charming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great - good quality fresh food and plenty of choice. Only one minor niggle and that was the parking which was limited in availability and awkward to access. Not sure what you could do about that though...!

Reviewed by
Claire M

From Alderley Edge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Clean, hot powerful shower, comfy bed, good breakfast.

Reviewed by
loretta f

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was stifling hot and you couldn't open the windows more than a couple of inches. A fan was provided but did not do much to alleviate the heat. Apart from that a nice hotel in a great location

Reviewed by
Kirstie M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break away
Lovely hotel with stunning views and lots of nice independent shops near by.

Reviewed by
Hayley P

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avon Gorge Hotel - location great
This hotel was in such a great location and priced so reasonably, we were very pleased.
The only negative is the beds. They are so hard I actually checked under my sheet that there was a mattress. Otherwise it was a lovely stay in a great location with friendly helpful staff.
Just remember to ask if they have rooms with softer mattresses!.

Reviewed by
Anna B

From Reigate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend thus venue for sure

Reviewed by
stephen s

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
R Wheatley

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at the Avon Gorge Hotel
The hotel lived up to its description on the web-site. The location is excellent and public areas attractive and spacious. Check in was efficient, friendly and helpful providing a map, and marking it out, when I asked for directions. The standard room on the top floor was small but beautifully decorated with an excellent bathroom. It was however very hot (it was a warm weekend) and the window could only be opened a little, but a fan was provided. The breakfast service was courteous and efficient. We did not eat at the hotel for other meals so cannot comment other than the menu appearing to lack variety. My only criticism was out of the control of the hotel, but following the World Cup Match televised in the bar until about 1.30 a.m. a game of football with lots of shouting took place outside the hotel in the road. As our room was at the front, we were kept awake for some time. The hotel does have signs asking residents to be considerate of local residents so have tried to give a message but clearly this did not work on this occasion. On the whole though this was an excellent hotel and we enjoyed our stay and would visit again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Lesley Goodwin

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next