No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Nice room - clean, modern and airy.
The only slightly awkward thing was that one of the rooms we had booked was much smaller than the others, although the price was the same. It did not seem fair.
Perhaps a small double room should be a slightly cheaper option.

Reviewed by
Rosemary W

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another lovely stay at the Avon Gorge
This was our sixth visit to this hotel as we have an elderly aunt in Bristol.The hotel has been refurbished in several areas and the rooms are clean, comfortable and staff are excellent. We had minor problem with cistern in bathroom which was dealt with immediately and otherwise no problems. Location is superb, food good in both restaurant and bar and lovely area of decking to fully appreciate the fabulous view of the bridge.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From Fortrose, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Avon Gorge Hotel
The hotel is in an excellent location in the quiet streets of Clifton with stunning views of the suspension bridge and gorge. We found all staff that we encountered to be most friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.
The only criticism that we would have is the car parking is chaotic to say the least, and on the evening that we stayed there a large student function was going on and the participants were extremely noisy until quite late.

Reviewed by
A Chave

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful setting but slightly faded glory
The setting is magnificent and the bar, terrace and restaurant have a lovely view of the suspension bridge. The rooms are clean but simple and in need of slightly refurbishment.. Little things like the bathroom tap always knocked against the mirror. I had spent the previous night in an ultramodern BLOC hotel where everything was ultra-modern and perfectly designed. The comparison exacerbated the sense of a venue that was a little faded and old-fashioned. However, it is what you expect from an older hotel and I enjoyed my visit and would consider visiting again. .

Reviewed by
N Suggit

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First visit
Overall good. Breakfast arrangements very crowded. We were given a table in a very cold room.
Otherwise no complaints
P


Reviewed by
Thomas D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week stay
On arrival we found that the lift was to be serviced. Because of my wife's disability she can not manage stairs, so we could not have the room with a view over the Avon Gorge which we had booked specially. The reception staff were able to relocate us in the annexe at street level, so that was convenient. I think we could have been forewarned about the lift because when I made the booking by telephone I had checked about accessibility.
In other respects we were well satisfied thanks to the attentions of the staff.

Reviewed by
michael riggs

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff

Reviewed by
L Sweetman

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Friendly hotel, room rather small, but adequate for one night. Very good breakfast

Reviewed by
Elizabeth D

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break Feb 2014
Not worth paying the extra for "Gorge view" as you had to strain your neck to see it. Room small and window small. Parking is not brilliant and on a first come first served basis, so you could end up paying for street parking. Rooms not particularly well soundproofed snoring and early hours television from next door.

Reviewed by
A Flinders

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FAB!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
jeremy d

From reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next