No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 100 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique site and outlook - Brunel's suspension bridge. Hotel has character, but parking can be a nightmare if you arrive late in the day.

Reviewed by
Anthony W

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The two best things about this place was the location and the food served in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
A Searle

From Oswestry, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money

Reviewed by
s bright

From Carlisle, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
A great hotel which was probably grand back in the day. Though old it is in no way tired with young happy staff, a great sports bar and a cool looking resturant. Fantastic views of the Avon Gorge from thier wonderful terrace. I ate in the bar but I will try the resturant on my next visit.

Reviewed by
Steve Kelly

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GORGE AT HE AVON GORGE
ALL STAFF VERY HELPFUL - ESPECIALLY THE RECEPTION STAFF
INTEND TO RETURN FOR A LEISURE STAY

Reviewed by
A MAHONEY

From Merthyr Tydfil, Wales
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay but with some niggles
Comfortable spacious room with lovely view. However, expellair not working (or repairable by maintenance man) in bathroom resulting in everything getting steamed up after a shower. TV old with a dodgy remote. Dusty atmosphere especially in corridors. Understand hotel is undergoing a revamp so these things will probably be rectified in time.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Hereford, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Break
The room was clean but the fixtures & fittings are showing a little wear & tear. The TV only had 4 channels & no remote, but then again we didn't come to watch TV all day.
The staff were helpful & we enjoyed the stay although the drinks were quite expensive.

Reviewed by
Alun R

From Bridgend, Wales
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday 26th Aug at the Avon Gorge
Great location and free parking which was nice. I went for the Superior room as it stated they had a view of the bridge or gorge. Well my room was down the far end of the hotel - over the White Lion bar i think - and I barely got a view of the bridge or the gorge due to trees. Staff were great. The terrace was great but i thought it was acessed via the hotel and therefore it was for guests but its acessed via the White Lion bar - attached to the hotel - and therefore members of public and use it. It was very crowded for most of the day. The room was a good size but the decor was dated.

Reviewed by
Phil M

From Southampton, England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fan stay with beautiful views
Grea stay for my Mums 60th, hotel even upgraded her to a suite which was really kind And she was delighted! Only negative comment would be the service in the bridge cafe which was really poor at both dinner and breakfast, staff were unattentive and it let the rest of the hotel down.

Reviewed by
Katharine Bignell

From Stourbridge, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with amazing views and staff
The tarrace is amazing especially in the sunshine over looking the suspension bridge (though not cheap). If you can upgrade to the 'rooms with a view' that have balconys and overlook the bridge. Rooms are large and spacious and the balcony was massive with an amazing view. Dont expect modern and the inetrior decoration is in keeping with the gae of the building-though facilities were more than adequate. Staff couldnt be more helpful and were freindly and fun.

Reviewed by
Abbey C

From High Wycombe, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10