No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avon Gorge Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Avon Gorge HotelPrinces Buildings, Clifton, BRISTOL, BS8 4LD
The Avon Gorge Hotel is a historic building which offers unparalleled views of Brunel’s Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges.
Boasting a fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance.
The views don’t stop here, from the popular Bridge Café and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all-weather terrace area, look out across the Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the country’s finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, just on your door step

Leisure facilities are available nearby for the hotel guests, consisting of a pool, gym and sauna.

Picture of Avon Gorge Hotel, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 114 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Avon Gorge Hotel
Stayed in a twin room overlooking the gorge. Very happy with the room - spacious enough and a lovely view. Shower nice and powerful, and all was clean. If I were to be picky, I could comment on the poor grouting. However, a minor point. The restaurant was lovely - fantastic view of the bridge - and the staff were absolutely lovely and very accommodating. It was no problem for them to toast my friend's gluten free bread at breakfast. We had dinner there twice - both times excellent. Steak night was particularly good value. Had room service one evening - a lovely treat after a long day at a conference. Breakfast was quite good although it might be nice to offer a change e.g. fish or poached eggs rather than exactly the same choices each day. My overall view - more than happy with this hotel and I intend to return with my partner for a leisure break.




Reviewed by
Wendy S

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large room but very dated.

Reviewed by
R Rawsthorne

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and homely
It may not be super-duper up-to-date but I have stayed here several times now and have become quite fond of the place. The location is amazing and it is good value for money. Doubt I would stay anywhere else in Bristol or Clifton now.

Reviewed by
M Spillane

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Car Parking very stressful.
Hotel advertised Free Parking, however on arrival there was no parking available at the Hotel or on surrounding streets. When I went in to say we would have to find somewhere else to stay because we couldn't park our car a very kind member of staff was just leaving and I was able to take her space. After a long journey to an unfamiliar place this was very stressful. The room was adequate and clean and the breakfast was excellent. I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to anyone taking a car.

Reviewed by
H Horton

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average stay
The staff were excellent, food excellent, room had a great view of the Clifton suspension bridge, however the room was a dated and did not warrent the cost for a night's stay, paint chipped from door frames, wall paper torn on the walls. The evening was spoilt by some idiot smoking in there room which set the fire alarms off twice in the early hours of the morning (this I know was not the fault of the hotel staff).

Reviewed by
andrea p

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel and lovely breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
There was a mix up with my room to begin with as I was given the spare key to the room I was supposed to stay in. When I opened the door I realized that the room was already occupied, which was slightly embarrassing. Perhaps in future, if the spare key is provided to a customer, a member of staff can check the room first. The receptionist did phone the room first but there was no answer. Fortunately the hotel had a room free that they were able to give me.
Dinner in the dining room was a bit disappointing, I had the ravioli starter which tasted a bit too floury and stodgy for pasta.
Overall though, the initial room problem was rectified promptly, the breakfast was very nice, the room was comfortable and the views and location of the hotel are really good.

Reviewed by
K Mackay

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly hotel, lovely bed, really comfortable.
Would definitely come back again, lovely location and excellent service

Reviewed by
julie s

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent view of the bridge from our room

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
Very nice

Reviewed by
M Hill

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
We had a comfortable stay - no problems and recieved good quality service from reception and good breakfast

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next