Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Trull Hotels > The Winchester Arms Public House
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Winchester Arms Public House

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
CHURCH ROAD , TAUNTON, TA3 7LG
The Westcountry Inn Experience

Nestling at the bottom of the Blackdown Hills just one and a half miles from the centre of the county town of Taunton. The Winchester Arms is a traditional family run village pub, situated in the quaint village of Trull. We offer a great spot for lunch, dinner, bed & breakfast or just a quiet pint!!

We have six comfortable bedrooms (single, double, twin or family) all with digital T.V, tea and coffee facilities and some en-suite. All have really comfortable beds. It is well worth staying just for our traditional English breakfast with local bacon, sausages and our homemade preserves.
Picture of The Winchester Arms Public House , TAUNTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room, good food and very friendly,efficient staff -- a most enjoyable stay. One I will certainly repeat next year.

Reviewed by
john williams

From Hayle, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable with good food
Very nice comfortable place to stay. We had a evening meal which was lovely and reasonably priced, also breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Victoria W

From Falmouth, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Taunton heatwave
Very pleasant place. Not luxurious, but nice clean room, nice bar with various wines/ciders etc. Lovely evening walk in vicinity. Pleasant staff and nice breakfast. Would come again.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Glossop, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip
had a great stay in the winchester arms staff very friendly, stayed in the family room ensuite as my son was performing as a child model near by and needed the facilities. would stay again if ever i needed to. booked through late rooms.

Reviewed by
a Coughlan

From Solihull, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic old fashioned hotel stay
The staff were lovely: pleasant and attentive. The best night's sleep I have had in weeks - I would have slept on had it not been for my personalised early (8 am) knock on the door. I would definitely go back. Not en suite but that did not matter. Good budget accommodation, thanks. Good food, too.

Reviewed by
cathy g

From Bournemouth, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the room was a little small, it was adequately and beautifully equpped and spotlessly clean
The restaurant food and service was excellent and the breakfast was more than good!

Reviewed by
Rita Aldridge

From Stockport, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay offering excellent value with a warm welcome
I received a very warm welcome and the accomodation provided excellent value being clean, warm, with plenty of parking in a picturesque setting. The hearty full english breakfast set me up for the days activity and I could relax in the evening with some local real ale.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From England
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small bedroom, comfortable bed, slept like a log
This is a great family run country pub which hosts a small number of rooms which they use for B&B. Shared toilet and shower for those rooms but they're clean and easy to access. Best part is the homeliness of the place. The welcome is sincere and the food is to die for. It's restaurant is even busy midweek so good is the fare on offer. And for breakfast there's even home made gooseberry jam on offer. Loved the place and will stay there again if I'm ever in the area. However, if you like the sameliness of Travelodges or Holiday Inns then this is probably not for you.

Reviewed by
Colin Cessford

From Hexham, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Winchester Arms
Totally enjoyed it, even as seasoned travellers. Customer care was good leaving room for own space. Impressed that Inn was also popular with locals, especially restaurant area, but not noisy. Rooms were warm and cosy in March, ours was non-ensuite but a wash basin in the room would have been a helpful touch. Facilities were very clean.
We would stay there again and would recommend it highly. A nice walk into Taunton.

Reviewed by
Lorna T

From London, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of my stay at Winchester Arms March 2013
Weather was very cold threatening to snow but room was lovely and warm for us on arrival, all staff were friendly and ready to help at all times, we had dinner in the evening the food was great. Warm, cosy and clean room, great food and friendly staff couldn't ask for anything more.

Reviewed by
T Spears

From Grays, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next