Reviews - The Winchester Arms Public House



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (65)

98% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • July 2014

Had an overnight stay en route to Cornwall.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious and the portion size was huge. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was excellent. The staff and service couldn't be faulted.

  • michelle osborne

  • July 2014

Hidden Gem.

Quite a few people say they will go back.

well in the case its true. we stayed in room6, the room was spotless. luxury bedding, plenty of room. had a great nights sleep, bed so comfy. could not ask for more. Breakfast was to die for, first time in ages full up. all fresh and cooked to perfection. jams. Mwah. Staff were not in your face, but very helpful and friendly. lovely place.

  • N Murray

  • June 2014

Superb value for money stay at The Winchester Arms

Superb stay; room was perfectly clean, quiet with wifi, tv and tea making facilities (and pub downstairs with good beers!!!).

Breakfast was ample and really good, I would definitely stay again; better than many hotels costing 2 or 3 times as much!

  • E Connolly

  • June 2014

Lovely country pub

I thought that this was a lovely public house.

The staff are attentive and friendly. The room was brilliant value for money. I stayed on a night when England were playing in the world cup and it was busy but the staff still found time to make you feel welcome. The local punters were friendly and not hostile which I have found at other country pubs. The food was very nice, both dinner and breakfast and great value for money.

  • C Chambers

  • June 2014

excellent pub, staff very helpful.

  • Alan H

  • June 2014

Very good value country pub

Small but comfortable en-suite room with everything provided.

Excellent breakfast and very friendly service. Ample car parking. We stayed on "skittles evening" which was a little noisy until the bar closed at 2300 and then very quiet. We found it to be an ideal overnight stop en-route to Cornwall.

  • K Holmes

  • May 2014

Fantastic breakfast!

  • Alan P

  • May 2014

Great value for money Inn serving good food with plenty of choices and perhaps most importantly, well kept beer!!

  • J Platts

  • May 2014

Tries to make your stay as pleasant as could be.

  • Asha L

  • May 2014

A hidden gem uncovered!

After a long journey stuck in traffic we finally arrived and received a very warm welcome.

Our room was lovely and had everything you need for a few nights stay (only small downside was the mattress but we both suffer with our backs so that's just personal taste!). Our hosts made sure we ate and managed to squeeze us in to their very busy restaurant on a Friday night. The food was amazing. I personally ate far too much so couldn't eat the full breakfast the next morning but didn't make such a mistake the next day. The breakfast I ate on Sunday morning was possibly one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever eaten. We also recommend the Ham, Egg and Bubble & Squeak and the Rich Chocolate Torte. All in all a great place to stay, reasonably priced and perfect food. Definitely recommended!!