The Winchester Arms Public House

2

CHURCH ROAD, TAUNTON, TA3 7LG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (58)

98% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Crane

  • April 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the Winchester Arms and were made to feel very welcome by the owners and customers from the time we arrived until the time we left.

The room was bery clean and comfortable and the food was excellent.

  • N Holt

  • April 2014

Nice village pub, friendly management.

Clean spacious room - it was a triple so there was a bed left unused. Good breakfast so excellent value. Shared bathroom and toilet, hardly surprising for what it cost, but both fine. Room was above the bar, so might have been a problem if you were desperate to get to sleep early, but all was quiet shortly after 11 o'clock. Short drive or half hour pleasant walk into Taunton. Would definitely use again at the rate I paid.

  • Dave R

  • March 2014

Good value

The only thing I didn't like was the noise from downstairs.

My room was above the bar and the drone got a bit annoying after a while. The pub shuts at 11.30 though, so I was able to sleep ok.

  • A Barnes

  • February 2014

Always excellent

Have stayed here a few times, and have recommended to family, who have also enjoyed.

The owners and staff are all excellent. It's a pub with rooms and so obviously not going to be five star luxury but more than makes up for that in charm and friendliness. Breakfast excellent, evening meals above normal pub standard. (Might be an idea to book a table whenever you're staying as it gets busy with locals, for whom it's a favourite - not a bad sign.) Wifi in the rooms is a major boost and the beer garden is lovely (when it's not raining.) Could do with bigger TVs in the room, but this more of a quibble than a complaint. Value for money is the biggest plus. They're way below comparable places in the area on price. Recommended.

  • david g

  • February 2014

one night stay

Top class accomodation with good food and service at a very reasonable cost

  • James A

  • February 2014

Warm and Friendly Atmosphere

My stay at the Winchester Arms was great.

I hate eating alone and when I came down to dinner they found me a table straight away out of the glare of the rest of the restaurant and bar. Food was really tasty and my beer was good too. The room was clean, flat screen TV with freeview, the usual hotel experience BUT a cooked breakfast, also tasty, was included in the room tariff. It's not listed in the amenities but they do have WIFI. Staff were helpful and made me feel really welcome.

  • Paul R

  • January 2014

Pleasant enough and good value for money.

Breakfast was excellent. Was a little more than the 1.5 miles from Taunton centre that is stated on the hotel info.

  • p goldsmith

  • November 2013

Good choice of beers at the bar,room was clean and comfotable unfortanatley we were not told that the restaurant was closed that evening due to a function, A good full english breakfast in the morning.

  • Richard Hawkins

  • November 2013

Winchester Arms Public House 2G8 CHURCH ROAD , TAUNTON, TA3 7LG

We struggled a bit finding the place, as the written directions provided were a bit misleading, and didn't work with a SatNav, but as we were held up, and were in danger of missing the 9pm cut off for food, we phoned ahead, and the owners were very understanding, and reserved us a table.

We had a largish room, with a double and single bed, which was enough for 2 adults and a 14 year old, room was clean with room to move. Ideal for a stopover for us on the way to Cornwall, would use again.

  • A H

  • November 2013

Great peaceful and friendly place to stay in a lovely location

Generous breakfast and good pub food