Reviews - The Winchester Arms Public House



Price From 104.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (64)

98% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Moore

  • October 2014

Lovely place to stay overnight

We stayed here on our way to holiday in North Devon.

What a charming tranquil place. The room was clean and lovely decorated for the 3 of us plus 4 legged variety. The food was lovely and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The walks around the area were also lovely and you really felt you were in the countryside.

  • Michael Neale

  • October 2014

Long weekend stay

Comfortable room, excellent bed, brilliant evening meal in restaurant, what more could you want.

A pub in an out of the way village as busy as that speaks for itself.


  • October 2014

Fantastic place to stay.Comfortable room and fantastic food.

  • J Mills

  • September 2014

Great pub B & B

Location near Taunton ideal for visiting friends.

Very relaxed atmosphere. Would prefer a more comfortable bed but overall good B & B.

  • Elaine W

  • September 2014


Friendly pub which seemed very popular with locals and judging by the overcrowded car park lots of folks from further afield.

Accommodation was fairly basic but clean with a powerful shower and ample clean towels. Room had a generous supply tea/coffee/biscuits. Breakfast was well cooked and presented.

  • a parry

  • August 2014

winchester arms

We stayed here for one night on our way to Devon, we had booked room 5 but on arrival had been given the larger room 6 with king size bed at the same price, the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

We had our evening meal here which was excellent (choice of three good vegetarian options on the specials board), the breakfast was also good.

  • Lorraine A

  • August 2014

Above and beyond

Wonderful setting, nice pub and B&B.

We arrived after food service had ended, but the lovely staff went out of their way to provide us with a lovely pub meal. The room was spotless and nicely arranged. The communal bathroom and toilets were also clean and fresh. Service was excellent. I really don't have anything bad to say about our overnight stay in the Winchester Arms. Definitely recommended.

  • Robert S

  • July 2014

Excellent experience

As one who frequently stays in Premier Inns, (where to be fair you know what you will be getting will be very acceptable, if predictable), "The Winch" was a breath of fresh air.

Very nice (if slightly compact) room (Room No. 5), with a comfortable bed and a good powerful shower in the en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was beautifully cooked, and the staff went out of their way to accommodate my need for a prompt start and departure. Also had my evening meal there, which was very tasty and all washed down with a decent pint of real ale. Free wi-fi was an unexpected bonus and helpful from my business perspective I would very happily stay again should I be passing.

  • Richard S

  • July 2014

A pub and restaurant with accommodation

Friendly staff, good food, good selection of ales, private room with all facilities, what more can I say, everything that we wanted.

  • Christine G

  • July 2014

A hidden gem

A real treat, a gem of a place.

Spotlessly clean, warm welcome, excellent value