Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Trull Hotels > The Winchester Arms Public House
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Winchester Arms Public House

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
CHURCH ROAD , TAUNTON, TA3 7LG
The Westcountry Inn Experience

Nestling at the bottom of the Blackdown Hills just one and a half miles from the centre of the county town of Taunton. The Winchester Arms is a traditional family run village pub, situated in the quaint village of Trull. We offer a great spot for lunch, dinner, bed & breakfast or just a quiet pint!!

We have six comfortable bedrooms (single, double, twin or family) all with digital T.V, tea and coffee facilities and some en-suite. All have really comfortable beds. It is well worth staying just for our traditional English breakfast with local bacon, sausages and our homemade preserves.
Picture of The Winchester Arms Public House , TAUNTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value country pub
Small but comfortable en-suite room with everything provided. Excellent breakfast and very friendly service. Ample car parking. We stayed on "skittles evening" which was a little noisy until the bar closed at 2300 and then very quiet. We found it to be an ideal overnight stop en-route to Cornwall.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic breakfast!

Reviewed by
K Holmes

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tries to make your stay as pleasant as could be.

Reviewed by
J Platts

From Barnsley, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem uncovered!
After a long journey stuck in traffic we finally arrived and received a very warm welcome. Our room was lovely and had everything you need for a few nights stay (only small downside was the mattress but we both suffer with our backs so that's just personal taste!). Our hosts made sure we ate and managed to squeeze us in to their very busy restaurant on a Friday night. The food was amazing! I personally ate far too much so couldn't eat the full breakfast the next morning but didn't make such a mistake the next day! The breakfast I ate on Sunday morning was possibly one of the best cooked breakfasts I've ever eaten. We also recommend the Ham, Egg and Bubble & Squeak and the Rich Chocolate Torte! All in all a great place to stay, reasonably priced and perfect food. Definitely recommended!!

Reviewed by
Asha L

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money Inn serving good food with plenty of choices and perhaps most importantly, well kept beer!!

Reviewed by
Alan P

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay, was given an upgrade, which was a surprise. Very busy pace for food so make sure you book!

Reviewed by
Andrea H

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Great Place a couple of little things was no en-suit (which I know about before I booked), and a bit noisy on Friday night but it was the weekend and over a pub (now I sound like a meowing old man) saying all that I would differently stay here again. The breakfast was the best ive ever had, two bits of bacon, two eggs and a proper sausage and lots more.

Reviewed by
Colin Botterill

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

same as before
Same as before, Sorry forgot to say the owners were great and very friendly and helpful. AAA Star,

Reviewed by
Colin Botterill

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Find!
Stayed here for one night before a job interview in Taunton. Fantastic value for money, excellent food and friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable, with good facilities. Situated in a lovely little village. Would definitely stay here again or recommend to anyone. Plus, I got the job!!!!

Reviewed by
Helen S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and relaxing
A absolutely lovely place to stay. The room was snug and very tastefully decorated with ample bathroom space. The atmosphere in the pub was very charming and friendly. The food is a delight to behold. A great selection of dishes and plenty on the plate too, the breakfast is a must, it certainly sets you up for the day. Overall we had a very relaxing weekend due to the fantastic customer service and ambient surroundings.

Reviewed by
Anthony N

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next