Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Trull Hotels > The Winchester Arms Public House
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Winchester Arms Public House

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
CHURCH ROAD , TAUNTON, TA3 7LG
The Westcountry Inn Experience

Nestling at the bottom of the Blackdown Hills just one and a half miles from the centre of the county town of Taunton. The Winchester Arms is a traditional family run village pub, situated in the quaint village of Trull. We offer a great spot for lunch, dinner, bed & breakfast or just a quiet pint!!

We have six comfortable bedrooms (single, double, twin or family) all with digital T.V, tea and coffee facilities and some en-suite. All have really comfortable beds. It is well worth staying just for our traditional English breakfast with local bacon, sausages and our homemade preserves.
Picture of The Winchester Arms Public House , TAUNTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room and food were excellent good value for the money.

Reviewed by
a lippitt

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I spent one night at the Winchester Arms and were made to feel very welcome by the owners and customers from the time we arrived until the time we left. The room was bery clean and comfortable and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
J Crane

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice village pub, friendly management. Clean spacious room - it was a triple so there was a bed left unused. Good breakfast so excellent value. Shared bathroom and toilet, hardly surprising for what it cost, but both fine. Room was above the bar, so might have been a problem if you were desperate to get to sleep early, but all was quiet shortly after 11 o'clock. Short drive or half hour pleasant walk into Taunton. Would definitely use again at the rate I paid.

Reviewed by
N Holt

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Quiet village setting, could not fault it.

Reviewed by
Chris Zisimides

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
The only thing I didn't like was the noise from downstairs. My room was above the bar and the drone got a bit annoying after a while. The pub shuts at 11.30 though, so I was able to sleep ok.

Reviewed by
Dave R

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always excellent
Have stayed here a few times, and have recommended to family, who have also enjoyed. The owners and staff are all excellent. It's a pub with rooms and so obviously not going to be five star luxury but more than makes up for that in charm and friendliness. Breakfast excellent, evening meals above normal pub standard. (Might be an idea to book a table whenever you're staying as it gets busy with locals, for whom it's a favourite - not a bad sign.) Wifi in the rooms is a major boost and the beer garden is lovely (when it's not raining.) Could do with bigger TVs in the room, but this more of a quibble than a complaint. Value for money is the biggest plus. They're way below comparable places in the area on price. Recommended.

Reviewed by
A Barnes

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
Top class accomodation with good food and service at a very reasonable cost

Reviewed by
david g

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and Friendly Atmosphere
My stay at the Winchester Arms was great. I hate eating alone and when I came down to dinner they found me a table straight away out of the glare of the rest of the restaurant and bar. Food was really tasty and my beer was good too! The room was clean, flat screen TV with freeview, the usual hotel experience BUT a cooked breakfast, also tasty, was included in the room tariff. It's not listed in the amenities but they do have WIFI. Staff were helpful and made me feel really welcome.

Reviewed by
James A

From Stourport-on-Severn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant enough and good value for money. Breakfast was excellent. Was a little more than the 1.5 miles from Taunton centre that is stated on the hotel info.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good choice of beers at the bar,room was clean and comfotable unfortanatley we were not told that the restaurant was closed that evening due to a function, A good full english breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
p goldsmith

From Southwold, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next