No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to December 2014 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just "nice"
The Monkbar Best Western is a clean hotel and the staff are very efficient.
The rooms are adequate but it's all a bit tired.
The floorboards creak so badly so, when guests above you arise... So do you.
The noise is unacceptable.
The road is busy beyond belief and the windows are of the old sash type and all traffic/people noise is heard throughout the night. It's like sleeping outside really.

Reviewed by
D young

From Kirkby in Ashfield , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Staff very friendly

Reviewed by
Ray G

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at many great western hotels and this was the worst hotel, for the money it was shocking, rooms are like caravans, was most disappointed,

Reviewed by
j mcguire

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location shame about the room!
superbly located in York. Warm welcome from staff who were excellent. Room on paper may have sounded great with spiral stair to bathroom, jacuzzie bath and four poster bed. Reality was a very dodgy stair which was in the way being in the middle of the room and you had to be careful not to smack your head off it. the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a hand held shower as it fell off the wall, the decor was tired. On a plus note the bed was comfortable and the view was pretty. Breakfast was excellent. The room really did let it down

Reviewed by
c scott

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Monkbar
Hotel staff were very helpfull and willing and always polite. Room was good, clean with a comfortable bed with good aminities. I would of liked a bigger TV with the cost of the room taken into account and it would not adjust to face the bed, but all in all very pleasent stay. Good location with the city wall / city centre just accross the road .

Reviewed by
Mitchell C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stop!
Brilliant hotel! just a shame that we booked a disabled room, (Accidental) need modernising and brightening up a little. but overall experience in that hotel was brilliant, Brilliant room service. we called for a ice bucket and some wine glasses and by time we got off the phone they was at our door. 5* stars! defiantly be staying again just in a more suitable room. Thank you Best western!

Reviewed by
Jake Kerswill

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful hotel
We were given a disabled ground floor suite with every disabled user friendly device spacious, welcoming light and comfortable and best of all a disabled space in front. I'm a blue badge holder with limited walking ability

Reviewed by
Margaret C

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking! Don't stay here
I will say that the reception staff and maître D in the dining room were most helpful and courteous.
Sadly everything else let the hotel down. Room was not clean. Tired tawdry décor. I was originally booked in for 3 nights but checked out after the first one. Paid a fortune, £120, for and extremely poor experience. Restaurant took for ever to serve people's meals. Gentleman next door to my table had been in the dining room for nearly 1.5 hours, and was still awaiting dessert. Coach parties were visible in the hotel. I felt so sorry for them, as they might have expected somewhere reasonable to stay for the money they were paying. I can only say that I was ashamed on behalf of tourists subjected to such poor conditions and paying such a lot. Wouldn't have been a good memory of York had it been my only one. Luckily I have stayed at two other York hotels that have been exceptionally good. Lady Anne Middleton's and Judges' Lodgings.
I was a bit suspicious when I spent 2 hours the night before on the internet trying to find last minute accommodation for an emergency visit. This was the only place I could find. At the time I thought, I hope it's not because it's lousy. It was, indeed. beware!

Reviewed by
Fiona H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy
Im sorry to say this but the amount of money I paid I expected to be in hotel not the annexe rooms .
we have been to the monk bar hotel on several occasions but booked direct through them. the hotel is a very nice place to stay at.

Reviewed by
L KEAL

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel good location

Reviewed by
S Wright

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next