No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road , York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to May 2015 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Also please be aware that the hotel no longer offers free onsite car parking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple, but suited our needs
Our room and bathroom were simply furnished but exactly what we needed for a short stopover close to York city centre. It was clean, comfy, provided tea and coffee, internet access and Freeview TV.
Car Parking was available at a well discounted price within 200 yards. Luggage pick up and drop off at the door. I would willingly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Jeffrey T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for my 70th birthday
exellent hotel, lovely refurbished room. very helpful and attentive staff. would stay again.

Reviewed by
susan moss

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights in a row the food we ordered was no longer available !! Could not fault the room the bed was really comfortable

Reviewed by
david myers

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wifi didn't work upstairs in the bedroom and a few problems with the heating in the bedroom but in general a nice hotel, with pleasant helpful staff, situated just outside of the walls, across the street from the main attractions, shops and cafes of York.

Reviewed by
Anthony H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location; tired rooms
Couldn't wish for better location just outside the walls. Restaurant and bar staff very helpful and friendly with good breakfast in both quality and selection. Rooms need updating and bathroom very much so! Sadly the 'king size' bed was 2 large singles, badly put together with a big ridge and a dip in the middle! Good size room and lots of drawer space but floor creaked to high heaven. On the whole pretty average apart from breakfast.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Car Parking
We have stayed here before. This a good place to be. Close to all aspects of York. Good in all aspects except somebody has decided to throw away 1 of its main assets. To have your own parking in a place like York is very rare and a to build on that is to say the least totally without thought.

Reviewed by
P Miller

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and good location
Nice central location in York and easy to get into and out of town, either walking or by car. The staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaint really is about the internet access - in the room I was staying in it was pretty hopeless, very slow, continually dropping out.

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visiting University
5 mins walk from St Johns University. excellent location

Reviewed by
L Stevens

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

God quality hotel
Once again this hotel has been wonderful. Staff, rooms and accessibility are all outstanding.

Reviewed by
P McDonald

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely city break
York is a beautiful city and the hotel is close enough to the city centre to give you a feel 'in the heart of it' feel. Just a couple of minutes walk from lots of lovely little streets full of boutique shops, bars & restaurants, and overlooking the city walls and the impressive York Minster, the hotel's location is great. The downside is some road noise - the windows could be better insulated.

Reviewed by
M Allenby

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next