No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road , York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to May 2015 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Also please be aware that the hotel no longer offers free onsite car parking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing too much trouble
Great staff. I arrived late for a meeting and the staff were uber helpful in getting me checked in and out to my meeting in break neck speed.

Reviewed by
Lou W

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel
On arrival I was disappointed to learn that we had been allocated a room on the balcony
This was outside the hotel complex and was reached by approx 10 stone steps plus very unsafe and poorly lit single steps on approach to our room. I had booked this accommodation approx 6 months ago and was unaware of the outside rooms. Had I Known this I would not have stayed in ths hotel. At no time was my daughter or myself asked if we could manage to climb steep steps with our luggage. I would not choose to stay in Best Western Monkbar again.

Reviewed by
M Doran

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Staff good, location great.would recommend.

Reviewed by
IAN F

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive experience
Great overnight close to city centre, good service, parking cheap and handy, good sized room very clean

Reviewed by
Gillian G

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, great bed!
The bed was massive and very comfy. The decor a little tired but clean and well maintained. We found the floors noisy so we were trying to be considerate to our neighbours but unfortunately we were unlucky to have been neighbours with people less considerate but all in all it was quite good value for money and would definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Standen

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just "nice"
The Monkbar Best Western is a clean hotel and the staff are very efficient.
The rooms are adequate but it's all a bit tired.
The floorboards creak so badly so, when guests above you arise... So do you.
The noise is unacceptable.
The road is busy beyond belief and the windows are of the old sash type and all traffic/people noise is heard throughout the night. It's like sleeping outside really.

Reviewed by
D young

From Kirkby in Ashfield , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Staff very friendly

Reviewed by
Ray G

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at many great western hotels and this was the worst hotel, for the money it was shocking, rooms are like caravans, was most disappointed,

Reviewed by
j mcguire

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location shame about the room!
superbly located in York. Warm welcome from staff who were excellent. Room on paper may have sounded great with spiral stair to bathroom, jacuzzie bath and four poster bed. Reality was a very dodgy stair which was in the way being in the middle of the room and you had to be careful not to smack your head off it. the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a hand held shower as it fell off the wall, the decor was tired. On a plus note the bed was comfortable and the view was pretty. Breakfast was excellent. The room really did let it down

Reviewed by
c scott

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Monkbar
Hotel staff were very helpfull and willing and always polite. Room was good, clean with a comfortable bed with good aminities. I would of liked a bigger TV with the cost of the room taken into account and it would not adjust to face the bed, but all in all very pleasent stay. Good location with the city wall / city centre just accross the road .

Reviewed by
Mitchell C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next