No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Willow Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Willow Close, Near Hessay, , York, YO26 8JU
If you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast in York then The Willows is the place for you. You will find yourself in the heart of the North Yorkshire countryside yet only 4 miles from the vibrant and atmospheric York city centre and York Races. Our exclusive and unique bed and breakfast in York has accommodation with outstanding views across our fishing lakes and is set in 7 acres of natural, mature, scenic surroundings with over 3000 trees and mature landscaped gardens. We are brilliantly placed on the Stage 2 Route of the fantastic Tour de France so if cycling is you then we are too. We can even provide lock-up facilities for bicycles. Dining - At The Willows we know how important it is to start your day with a hearty breakfast so we provide a full English Breakfast served to you in our dining area which also boasts those beautiful lake views to die for. Paul is the chef and he takes great pride in providing the very best breakfast possible. Bedrooms - All our bedrooms are en-suite and have been tastefully decorated to provide extremely comfortable, luxurious accommodation all equipped to a very high standard. Facilities include wide-screen colour television, DAB radio alarm, hair dryers and tea & coffee making facilities. Ironing facilities are available upon request. Our Bed and Breakfast in York will meet all your needs and more. The Garden - A unique feature of The Willows York is our fantastic landscaped gardens with, of course, those magnificent lake views. After a hard day sightseeing it is an ideal way to relax and unwind. You can bathe in the sun during summer months, do a little bird watching maybe, or spot some of the wildlife which inhabit the grounds. There are many Bed and Breakfasts in York but it would be hard to find grounds as beautiful as ours. Come and stay, take a look for yourselves.
Picture of The Willow Bed and Breakfast, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

handy for York

Reviewed by
Vincent C

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best English breakfast ever
Cozy and beautiful gardens. We enjoyed our stay and were well looked after by the owners.

Reviewed by
S Hindso

From Denmark
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a lakeside view
Excellent position, entry into property signs were somewhat small and confusing.However an exceptionally clean and friendly stay.Food of excellent quality and a good position for both York and Harrogate.

Reviewed by
Pat C

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to feel very welcome. Quality of breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Is in beautiful grounds & had a wonderful view from bedroom window - was also very tranquil & quiet. Host was very friendly & very helpful & very approachable.
Would definitely go back & would recommend to family & friends

Reviewed by
Lorraine s

From jarrow, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting for a relaxing short break
The house and grounds are lovely, walks around the lakes and gardens were most enjoyable and the chats with the Macaws! Would be a lovely retreat for the keen fisherman. Lovely clean rooms, well maintained and friendly owners.

Reviewed by
M Wade

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good, small hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Birgit P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Lovely setting in expansive grounds. We were made to feel right at home and the breakfasts we couldnt fault at all they were really tasty. The room was comfortable and the little sitting room was an added bonus and somewhere to sit relax at the end of a long day. Overall we had a lovely weekend and would definately recommend to others.

Reviewed by
RONALD M

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet stay close to york.
Looking to stay close to York for a quiet Break, then why not stay at The Willows just outside York near Poppelton. We were given a warm welcome by Paul who showed us our double room, which was same as the image we had seen. A double bed, 2 chairs, large screen tv and Bluray player. Ensuite bathroom all tilled and very clean like the bedroom. Lovely and warm with a great view over a fishing lake and trees and garden, which would look fantastic in full bloom. We had a full home cooked English breakfast with cereal and juice every morning on the landing between the rooms with a great view of fishing lake. You have the chance to walk around the lake and upon returning to the house you are kindly asked to take off your shoes so no mud is taken around the house. It's just like being at home. Just 2.5 miles from the park and ride and a new park and ride opening April 2014 ish close to the house made it so easy to travel back and to into York, given you all day to walk around the attractions and shops. Overall a great stay in a wonderful house. Looking for a quiet place to recharge your batteries before another busy day in York, then this is the place to go.

Reviewed by
Antony C

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hospitality from the moment we arrived. Spotlessly clean and first class breakfast.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
D Carter

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break
Owners were very happy to help with anything and made us very welcome.
Really nice surroundings and good facilities in room.
Breakfast was very good and value for money as was the whole accommodation provided

Reviewed by
A Price

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next