No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carraw Bed & Breakfast

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Carraw Farm, Military Road, Humshaugh, Hexham, NE46 4DB
Kevin and Leah Vigars would love to welcome you to Carraw Bed and Breakfast, a luxury Four Star Gold Awarded Bed and Breakfast guest house located in picturesque Northumberland. Carraw Bed and Breakfast is one of the finest luxury Northumberland guest houses, situated on the foundations of Hadrian's Wall, with a sublime hilltop setting overlooking the countryside of Northumberland National Park and the surrounding scenery of the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Awarded 4 Star Gold by Visit Britain for outstanding service and quality, Carraw offers superior Bed and Breakfast accommodation and short breaks in Northumberland. Carraw Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated for walking the Hadrian's Wall Path National Trail, cycling Hadrian's Cycleway or touring the delights of Northumberland. We are close to all the major heritage attractions along Hadrian's Wall including the Roman Forts at Chesters, Housesteads and Vindolanda. If you are looking for a relaxing or active break at any time of the year in England's Border Country, Carraw Bed & Breakfast is ideally situated to meet your needs. We will make you very welcome and ensure your stay is memorable.
Picture of Carraw Bed & Breakfast, Hexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Accomodation
This is the third time I have stayed at Carrow. The accommodation is excellent, it is spotless and very well presented. Kevin & Leah do everything to make your stay enjoyable & comfortable right from when you are offered a drink & home made cake on arrival. The property is right by the Hadrian's Wall path so is a great base for exploring that area. The only thing to bear in mind is that you have to travel a short distance to find restaurants or pubs but roads are very quiet so it takes very little time to travel and the Hadrian's wall bus stops nearby which is very useful for walking the Path.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very good Bed and Breakfast
This is a very good bed and breakfast accommodation. The location is excellent for access to Hadrian's wall and various Roman visitor attractions and some good walks. The hostess could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one and the quality of the accommodation was one of the best we've stayed in. Very comfortable bed in a large bedroom with a beautiful view over the Northumbrian countryside. It is quiet and some may say a little remote but we liked the peace but Hexham is a short drive away and there are a number of good country pubs with good food and beer within a short drive.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your lovely comments. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your short break and hope that you had a good trip home. We look forward to welcoming you at Carraw again in the future. Regards, Kevin and Leah.

Reviewed by
David Brailsford

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Week end away
Great spacious Room (Chesters), very comfortable bed. Very good complimentary tray with delicious home made biscuits everyday and large choice of teas/coffees plus bottles of water.
Lovely breakfast, recommend the home made jam!
Excellent location for walking along Hadrian's wall and also not too far from Kielder forest. Lots of local pubs, thanks for the recommendation from our hosts and also the booking on our behalf.
Fully enjoyed the Easter chocolate treat, too. All in all we had a great stay.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your comments. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you enjoyed the home made biscuits and jam, as well as the little Easter surprise. It was nice to read that you enjoyed our recommendations for dining out and we were happy to assist in any way we could to ensure you had a relaxing stay. We hope that you had a good onward trip and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards, Kevin and Leah

Reviewed by
Christine P

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would highly recommend staying at the carraw
If you want to stay here at the Carraw ,then i highly recommend you do.The rooms are spacious ,clean with freeview tv. We were made welcome and the breakfast was lovely

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Carraw. It is always nice to read that guests have enjoyed their stay, the facilities and service. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, Kevin and Leah.

Reviewed by
s prescott

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning
What a location,superb food and quality of room, excellent hosting -faultless!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Carraw. We hope you had a good trip home and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards Kevin and Leah

Reviewed by
Ben B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't have been better
Everything was excellent. The sunrises and sunsets from the bedroom window were a wonder to watch.
We will book here again.

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Mark N

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leah and Kevin are very welcoming and highly efficient. The b&b is most comfortable and equipped with everything you need for a pleasant and informative stay in a wonderful location.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Owens

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
The owners are a very friendly couple and the B&B provides some stunning views of the Northumberland landscape. The room and guest lounge area provide more than enough facilities/entertainment options should you need them.
I had requested the 'Champagne on Ice' extra and the owners were very accommodating to suit my specific needs and discreet as it was a surprise for my fiancee. Tranquil and relaxing, just what I was looking for.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope your fiancée enjoyed her little surprise. We hope you had a good trip home and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards, Kevin and Leah

Reviewed by
A Widdrington

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Accommodation
Leah and Kevin have done such a good job with this bed and breakfast establishment. Everything was done to the highest standard and couldn't be faulted. So many lovely touches, e.g. a fresh rose in our room, home made shortbread biscuits in our room. Bottled water for thirsty walkers, very comfortable beds. Luxury toiletries by Scottish Fine Soaps.
The food was exceptional and breakfast kept us going all day, home made muesli and bread worthy of mention.

Reviewed by
Dorothy Stewart

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next