No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Carew Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Carew Arms Crowcombe, Somerset, TA4 4AD
At the heart of a picturesque village, the Carew Arms is the quintessential English inn. Nestled at the foot of the Quantock Hills, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the Carew offers fine views of the neighbouring countryside both from some of the well-appointed guest rooms and from the garden terrace. In addition, we offer a wide menu of local produce and fine local ales, which you can enjoy, if you choose, in our original flagstone bar with its wide inglenook fireplace. All rooms are double/twin and have their own tea and coffee making facilities, Digital Freeview and free Wi-Fi access. All this, and still only twenty minutes from major road and rail links at Taunton! We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of The Carew Arms, Somerset at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Superb breakfast

Reviewed by
Ken Brett

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay
Friendly owners, tasty breakfast, clean linen.

Reviewed by
p rogers

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A single night stay with a 4 year old.
We enjoyed our short stay at this pub and its location so close to the Quantocks is very special. The room was perfectly adequate, but we didn't like the green paint on the walls...but you might. We like the irregularities and wonky stairs of an old building. The food was good and reasonably priced and the breakfast sets you up for the day. The loos for the bar need improving and the Saniflow in the bedroom growls at you....but they always do. Our 4 year old loves adventures like this and he wanted to stay. It was a perfect stop off after an horrendous traffic jam on the M5. It was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We found that all the staff were pleasant and helpful during our two night stay, The food was of generous servings nice and hot, we took our dog along with us and she was made welcome and accompanied us all over the place, The pub is set in lovely country setting.

Reviewed by
Roy F

From Smethwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stop
Very nice old pub friendly atmosphere, rooms could do with a little updating all round good value

Reviewed by
P Renshaw

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice break
A lovely stay in a beautiful setting

Reviewed by
C Davies

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
second time i have stayed at the Carew Arms and a delightful little country inn in the somerset countryside. good food, good real ales and attentive staff. An antidote to the bland corporate experience. Breakfast alone keeps you sated for the whole day !

Reviewed by
Ian Greenwood

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely Fun
We were looked after brilliantly by Jamie and the whole staff.
Amazing food, generous portions and clean , restful bedrooms.
our dog was also made very welcome and in all we had a super stay.
This by no means a faceless corporate hotel, but a homely . comfortable country pub, full of character and warmth. Well worth the stay and great value for money. The chef even sent us on our way with a packed breakfst as we were leaving at 2am ( having offere to stay up and cook for us !!)

Reviewed by
Michael Doble

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Inn full of old world charm and character
Lovely country pub accomodation in a quiet village. The rooms were comfortable and yes the room needed some refurb but a complete refurbishment may lose the "old world" charm, and character, that the Inn has in an abundance.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and the food was reasonably priced and good quality. A great selection of ales and a nice garden to enjoy a pint and gaze across the rich Somerset countryside.

Reviewed by
Nick Harley

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

carpet and room wants updating bed was awful needs a new one bathroom was nice breakfast very greasy and sausage was burnt couldn't cut it

Reviewed by
t evans

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next