No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pilgrims Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
18 The Friars , Canterbury, CT1 2AS
The Pilgrims Hotel is ideal for your stay in Canterbury City Centre. Situated within the Roman city walls, this lovely family run hotel offers a warm welcome to all our guests.

The Pilgrims hotel offers comfort, style and outstanding levels of service you would expect from a family run business. It is a traditional hotel in every sense and traditional values such as personal service and warm hospitality will ensure your visit is memorable, for business or for pleasure and has recently been totally refurbished in 2006.

Picture of Pilgrims Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, great location especially for the theatre parking is close by all in all good experience.

Reviewed by
Simon Downes

From Stourport on Severn, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pilgrim Hotel Review
Hotel location is perfect for viewing Canterbury. Rooms are clean but dated, bathrooms are modern, clean and have recently been refurbished.

Reviewed by
Stanley S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel right in the heart of Canterbury
This hotel is perfect for a short break, myself and my friend go away every year for two nights. We were very impressed with the location of Pilgrims Hotel. Our room was right at the front of the hotel (number 1) and you do get a lot of noise on a Friday and Sat night from people leaving the bars, pubs ect. It did not help that it was really hot so we needed to have our window wide open but this really did not bother us, but if this would bother you i would ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Mind you im sure if our window was shut we would not have heard much. The full english breakfast is lovely, no complaints there at all. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definatly stay at the pilgrims again if coming back to Camterbury.

Reviewed by
P Brown

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small room and alittle worn
very disappointed with size of room and very shabby.

Reviewed by
sue m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value comfortable accomadation
Hotel well positioned. very noisy in the bathroom and cooking smells from the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Gillian G

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday break
We really like the Pilgrims hotel, the room was clean, i really like the bed it was exactly as I like it. The breakfast was very nice and we love the prunes. Staff were polite and helpful.
Unfortunately our stay was short but if we have to go again in Canterbury we will definitively go again to Pilgrims hotel. We was feeling at home. We will recommand with no regret this hotel.

Reviewed by
HONORINE L

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly quiet and comfortable
Despite being opposite the Marlowe Theatre and having a front-facing room, there was surprisingly little noise during the weekend I stayed. The other guests likewise were quiet and considerate (unlike other city centre hotels I have been to). The facilities were comfortable and clean. Service and food at breakfast were also very good. I like the city centre location - easy walking distance to both the station and the various attractions in the town.

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Canterbury
The Pilgrim is a charming pub/hotel in the heart of Canterbury. The single room was perfectly adequate for my stay,it was warm and clean and the bathroom was absolutely fine,clean and modern.
The staff were charming and although I didn't eat in the restaurant the breakfast was good. I did have a couple of drinks in the bar which was very welcoming. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen Eade

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay. Friendly staff rooms fantastic

Reviewed by
ben hagger

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Nice Valentines Stay..
I stayed here for 3 nights in the Marlow room with my Girlfriend for a valentines break and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was cozy and 4 poster bed was comfy. Nice bathroom with shower and a bath. Room was smaller then i was expecting but once we settled in and unpacked it was nice and cozy.
we had evening dinner in the hotel restaurant the 1st evening and enjoyed it. The food was nice and service good and pleasant.
Service all round was good and friendly, anything we needed like extra towels, milk for the room etc was provided. If there was anything to grumble about, id say offering room service would be good, as we wanted to have a cozy night in one night and have a snack whilst watching a movie, but they didnt offer Room service when i rang down, so i had to go down to the bar myself and order the food.
Would definitely stay here again, it is in a perfect location for the cant west station and town centre.

Reviewed by
D Young

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next