No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashleigh Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
11 College Road, Windermere, LA23 1BU
Ashleigh Guest House is a traditional Lakeland stone Victorian house situated in the centre of the village of Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District National Park. The House has been restored and modernised to create an English homely atmosphere. We are a family run Bed and Breakfast with a friendly outlook that ensures you will have a warm and comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings. Ashleigh is a totally non smoking guest house. Sorry we do not accept children under 7.

The village of Windermere lays between beautiful Lakeland fells and the largest lake in England where there are lots of water sports and lake cruises. The village itself has an excellent public transport system, which covers the entire Lake District. There are also a variety of shops, banks, restaurants, coffee shops and English pubs all within a few minuets walk of Ashleigh Guest House making us the ideal base from which to tour the lake district by car or public transport.

Mountain peaks and rolling hills reflected in peaceful lakes, lush meadows, sheep grazing amid rocks and bracken, ancient dry-stone walls criss-crossing the landscape, these are just some of the features which make the Lake District National Park so inviting. Whether you are attracted to the great outdoors, or enjoy visiting interesting places, you will find plenty to do here.

Outdoor activities range from gentle strolls or lake cruises energetic fell walking, cycling, water sports, and pony trekking. If you are interested in historic buildings, lovely gardens, museums and art galleries, there are plenty of stately homes, castles, abbeys, and varied museums from which to choose. Many famous writers, poets and artists such as Beatrix Potter, Wordsworth and Ruskin have lived in this beautiful part of the world, and their homes are well worth visiting.

Picture of Ashleigh Guest House, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We both really enjoyed out stay. Very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Chris Renault

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a well run quirt guest house

Reviewed by
D Beaumont

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommended
We enjoyed our weekend break very much. The owners were very friendly & helpful. The room was very clean & comfortable. Breakfast had a wide choice of menu. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
H Anne

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A break in the lakes
We stayed here for a new year break in the Lakes.
It was a great base, the owners were very friendly and helpful, they even did us a late breakfast one day as we had missed it due to having to take our car in for repair following a puncture.
The breakfast were lovely and the rooms nice and clean. The only drawback is the tiny and awkward car parking spaces, but that's only a minor drawback.

Reviewed by
David G

From Melton Mowbray, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at Ashleigh house!
We had a lovely stay. Our beds were comfortable, the room was lovely, we were well looked after and the food was delicious.
Three of us stayed in one room with a double and a single bed. The room and breakfast were very inexpensive but we would have paid more as it was worth it.
We have stayed in many B and B's in the lakes but this was definitly one of the best we have stayed in

Reviewed by
Jackie A

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
Warm welcome by Brenda the landlady. The house was toasty warm and really clean. We had the attic room which had a splendid view of mountains in back ground. Room was comfortable and warm too. Very nice breakfast with noticable quality to food! Good stay and would have no hesitation in staying again!!

Reviewed by
C Ironfield

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Brenda was welcoming, friendly and made us feel at home. The food was excellent, on time and with lots of choices. The room and toilet were clean and warm. Above all, looking forward to going back.

Reviewed by
Darlington M

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakes Break
Friendly, relaxed and clean

Reviewed by
Joe T

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal..............
Our room was lovely and cosy, with an en suite almost as large as the bedroom. With plenty to feast on for breakfast.. Thank you Brenda, for accommodation that doesn't rip a hole in your pocket but yet is comfortable, clean and just perfect..

Reviewed by
Jane Mercy

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful, comfortable and friendly
We had a lovely stay, the B&B was perfect, very clean, comfortable and ever so friendly. We felt very welcome during our 3 night stay and made to feel quite at home. We'd thoroughly recommend and would definitely go back again.

Reviewed by
Mary H

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next