No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - OAK COTTAGE

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
OAK COTTAGE, HOLMSIDE , DURHAM, DH7 6EX
OAK COTTAGE is the Home of Kim & Mike Foreman located in the unspoilt countryside village of Holmside, 10 mins from Beamish Museum, 5.3 miles from Durham City and ideally located for Newcastle/Gateshead,Metro Centre,Riverside Cricket Ground, A1M (Junction 63)

Spacious Super King Size Double/Twin En-Suite of 4 Star Standard Quality, with Easy Chairs,Colour Flat Screen TV/DVD,Tea & Coffee Making Facilities, Books, Magazines and Tourist Information. Free Wi-Fi

From 7.30am to 9am your English Breakfast with Fresh Farm Eggs and Home-Made Preserves is served in the Conservatory which overlooks our Unique Garden surrounded by Woodland Scenery. We have many Wild Birds and you can watch the Woodpeckers and Goldfinches Feeding.

Good Value Restaurants and Inns are nearby. Parking On Site

If you are seeking somewhere "Homely" to stay, OAK COTTAGE is waiting to give you a Warm Welcome. "SImply The Guest" Laterooms Award 2015 4th in The UK
Picture of OAK  COTTAGE, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and relaxing, lovely views from the conservatory- watching the birdlife was particularly pleasant- many thanks to Kim and Mike for a pleasant stay

Reviewed by
G Mckenna

From Muir of Ord, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place for peace
Peaceful location and lovely, very accommodating people

Reviewed by
Sarah Mckie

From Castle Douglas, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, accommodation, hosts and breakfast!
My husband and I would highly recommend this B&B. The location was perfect and tranquil. The hospitality of our hosts was second to none and enhanced our stay. We will definitely return. Thank you Kim and Mike!

Reviewed by
A Evans

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of a place
One night stay, was made very welcome. Lovely couple. Amazing view while eating a delicious breakfast.

Reviewed by
S Leng

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really spacious and comfortable room with plenty of storage. Very friendly hosts. Bird watchers will love the view from the conservatory where breakfast is served, as the terraced garden slopes steeply away to a stream at the bottom and the numerous bird feeders and bird tables attract many species of birds, including woodpeckers.

Reviewed by
Anthony Pritchard

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A piece of heaven and tranquility
This is a superb place to stay we enjoyed every minute and definitely will be going back.

Reviewed by
michael lindley

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inspired choice
We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and this was constant throughout our stay. The room was extremely comfortable with plenty of room to relax. We enjoyed the views in the conservatory where breakfast was served. The hosts went out of their way to supply us with information on local restaurants and attractions. All in all the personal touch made our stay very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
M Pennie

From Crieff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beamishland
Perfect

Reviewed by
Mike D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oak Cottage review 18 September 2014
Very friendly reception from the hosts. Excellent breakfast in a beautiful setting with the view and the prolific bird-life quite stunning. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Most enjoyable nothing was to much trouble for Kim. Breakfast was excellent room very comfortable and clean. We will have no trouble recommending this accommodation to our friends and family.

Reviewed by
D Lawton

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next