No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - OAK COTTAGE

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
OAK COTTAGE, HOLMSIDE , DURHAM, DH7 6EX
OAK COTTAGE is the Home of Kim & Mike Foreman located in the unspoilt countryside village of Holmside, 10 mins from Beamish Museum, 5.3 miles from Durham City and ideally located for Newcastle/Gateshead,Metro Centre,Riverside Cricket Ground, A1M (Junction 63)

Spacious Super King Size Double/Twin En-Suite of 4 Star Standard Quality, with Easy Chairs,Colour Flat Screen TV/DVD,Tea & Coffee Making Facilities, Books, Magazines and Tourist Information. Free Wi-Fi

From 7.30am to 9am your English Breakfast with Fresh Farm Eggs and Home-Made Preserves is served in the Conservatory which overlooks our Unique Garden surrounded by Woodland Scenery. We have many Wild Birds and you can watch the Woodpeckers and Goldfinches Feeding.

Good Value Restaurants and Inns are nearby. Parking On Site

If you are seeking somewhere "Homely" to stay, OAK COTTAGE is waiting to give you a Warm Welcome
Picture of OAK  COTTAGE, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A piece of heaven and tranquility
This is a superb place to stay we enjoyed every minute and definitely will be going back.

Reviewed by
michael lindley

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inspired choice
We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and this was constant throughout our stay. The room was extremely comfortable with plenty of room to relax. We enjoyed the views in the conservatory where breakfast was served. The hosts went out of their way to supply us with information on local restaurants and attractions. All in all the personal touch made our stay very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
M Pennie

From Crieff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beamishland
Perfect

Reviewed by
Mike D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oak Cottage review 18 September 2014
Very friendly reception from the hosts. Excellent breakfast in a beautiful setting with the view and the prolific bird-life quite stunning. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Most enjoyable nothing was to much trouble for Kim. Breakfast was excellent room very comfortable and clean. We will have no trouble recommending this accommodation to our friends and family.

Reviewed by
D Lawton

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
Had a really lovely stay, everything in the room was perfect, nice en suite, comfy beds, tv, chairs, tea and coffee etc., everything we needed. Host was also very friendly and informative with good advice on local restaurants, and we particularly appreciated the alternative early breakfast she laid on for us as we had to leave so early.

Reviewed by
james b

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
Words can not do justice to describe the experience of staying at Oak Cottage, this was our 3rd visit and there is nothing at all to fail this place. The hosts are brilliant, so friendly, the welcome was warm, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast is the best we have had in any B&B or hotel we have stayed in, and in such lovely surroundings, the garden just gets better and better and of course the wild birds are a treat to watch.
Throughly recommend Oak Cottage, we will be back!!

Reviewed by
ALBERT PARKER

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect small B&B
Booked a two night stay for myself and my teenage son. There is only the one room available so you get 100% attention from the owners. Room was perfect, very clean, good en-suite facilities, free wi-fi . Everything and more you would expect. Breakfast was cooked to order and was one of the very best I have had anywhere in the world ( and I travel extensively ...). I cannot imagine you could be disappointed with a short stay here - very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Keith H

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First-class B&B
I would highly recommend Oak Cottage to anyone wanting to stay in the countryside near Durham and Beamish. The owners v.polite & friendly - nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Anthony Thomas

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real welcome
Lovely people, lovely home, lovely surroundings and lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
M White

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next