Price From 114.89 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (39)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • paul walker

  • September 2015

home from home

Excellent accommodation, location and hosts

  • William Fowler

  • September 2015

Like staying with old friends

From the moment we arrived we felt like old friends being welcomed home and what a lovely home it is.

The room was comfy and spacious with everything we could ask for. Breakfast was served in a lovely conservatory looking out over beautiful mature gardens and woodland that were full of wildlife. Nothing was too much for Kim and Mike to provide. They were a warm and welcoming couple who were pleased to share their home with us.

  • david p

  • September 2015

Lovely weekend break - Real bargain!

Had a lovely weekend break.

In a quiet village near to Beamish and between Durham and Newcastle. Ideal for exploring the area. Owners recommended some restaurants nearby for evening meal. Settled on Deano's in Lanchester which was a busy Italian Trattoria and very reasonable. Can understand why Oak Cottage has received 4th in UK 2015 awards 'Simply the Guest' with a class room and beautiful gardens and very obliging hosts. A tip for directions leave A1M follow signs for Chester le Street through town past market on left and Tesco, under railway bridge take next left up hill to roundabout.

Turn right then 2 miles to T junction in Holmside. Turn left Oak Cottage on left. If you get lost everyone knows Kim and Mike. Have your own parking space at front. Very private and safe.

  • David Usher

  • August 2015

A tranquil retreat

Oak Cottage was a great find.

The owners were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. The room was spacious and we'll designed. Having only one room meant that you receive very individual service. The breakfast in the conservatory was of good quality and were entertained by the wide array of birds that visited the feeding station in the garden. The house is very central for many of the attractions in the area. The only slight problem was when we were trying to find the property, the sat nav takes you further up the road.

  • Carolyn R

  • August 2015

Nice room spoilt by very rude owner

We couldn't find Oak Cottage so phoned them and we were so appalled by how the male owner spoke to us that we would have gone elsewhere if we hadn't been committed.

He became sarcastic and patronising calling me " darling" and asking if I was from Ireland by which he meant to infer I was stupid ( yes, really!) and then blamed our sat nav telling us to demand our money back, all this instead of simply helping us with clear directions and landmarks. We were shocked and my other half wanted to run a mile from these people. But we pressed on and when we got there the owner ganked open the car door, stuck his ugly face in mine and started again with " are you from Ireland, are you stupid?". Obviously we could not get over this so it spoilt our stay. On other matters, the room has no curtains just thin blinds so is light at 3 am, the braekfast is ok and the view from the lounge is lovely.

  • G Mills

  • June 2015


Oak Cottage is lovely.

Comfortable and clean. Kim and Mike are so welcoming. Really lovely people and very helpful and accommodating. I can very easily recommend this to everybody I know without hesitation.

  • Tony Tapping

  • April 2015

Oak Cottage is a lovely place to stay

Excellent accommodation, food and hospitality.

Lovely views from the conservatory whilst having breakfast and lovely people who own the property. Good value for money and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • M Jones

  • April 2015

Wonderful break

Had a wonderful welcome.

Kim and Mike are the perfect hosts and will recommend thingas to see and do as well as giving you good instructions how to get there

Room very comfortable ,breakfast in conservatory was delicious and enhanced by watching the fine array of birds

  • Lee Straw

  • March 2015

Oak Cottage.

A lovely place to stay with excellent friendly hosts who made us very welcome.

Everything was clean, comfortable and tasteful. Breakfast was memorable contemplating the wonderful garden views. We would definitely recommend it.

  • G Mckenna

  • February 2015

Very pleasant and relaxing, lovely views from the conservatory- watching the birdlife was particularly pleasant- many thanks to Kim and Mike for a pleasant stay