No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Beehive Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
171 Westgate, , , Bradford, BD1 3AA
The Beehive Inn has a unique atmosphere with five separate gas lit bars and is described as " a Gem " in the Camra 'Stay At The Inn' guide. Often noted as being the quintessence of an English town pub, the Beehive is also one of only 150 pubs in the UK to be listed on Camra's National Inventory of Outstanding Character Interiors. The bedrooms (some on the ground floor), all ensuite, are decorated to the highest standard and tastefully furnished in a classic style, keeping with the age and history of the building. 'Welcome Home Sexy' is our monthly jazz night, continuing to receive rave reviews, plus we have a regular schedule of live bands performing, from home-grown Bradford talent to performers from further afield. We also have a range of acts performing in the Beehive bar, our recently refurbished music room. Acts including folk, rock and indie make for a eclectic mix and a good time had by all. New Beehive has a fascinating history which has been well documented. It was built as a grand Edwardian inn in 1901 and has remained largely unchanged through the years, retaining its character. We have a large car park for guests to use and free WiFi internet connection.
Picture of New Beehive Inn, Bradford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenent location
Clean room and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Mary K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inns have rooms
Know this 'inn', i.e. pub with rooms, since hosts regular poetry events I used to come too; since moved South
Old building, roomy room, basic but comfortable.

Reviewed by
David A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation.
Enjoyed my stay, a great recently refurbished very clean large room.

Reviewed by
Clive B

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay
Beer was not as good as I would have lliked for a camra pub

Reviewed by
Rob R

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean room even though it was not the most modern one I have stopped in, it was like stepping back in time but saying that it was very comfortable. We had a lovely welcome and had a very enjoyable evening in the bar.
I would recommend it highly.

Reviewed by
Jeff L

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great beers, great company!
Stayed on 23rd April (Wednesday). On arrival, met by the owner William, who was very welcoming and knowledgeable about the history of the building. The quaint bar rooms and the gas lit public bar was like travelling back in time. During the evening, there were quite a few 'interesting' locals to chat to and have a bit of banter with. The jewel in the crown here was the vast selection of real ales (both hand -pulled and bottled), which appeared beautifully kept, and the ones I tasted (hic) were exceptional. The barman was chatty and knowledgeable about the beers and his recommendations certainly hit the spot.
The single en-suite room I stayed in was clean and the bed comfortable, and as it was at the back, there was little noise or disturbance. Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities were also provided.
I didn't have the cooked breakfast so can't comment on it. There is a large car park to the rear with plenty of spaces. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town centre and there are numerous cafes and restaurants (especially excellent curry houses) in the vicinity.
Overall, the place is full of character (and characters!), and for the price (£27 for the night I stayed), it was excellent value for money.
If you want bland, characterless rooms and food, then stay at any one of numerous hotel chain properties (and pay double the price) - if you want a bit of banter, character, and an experience that would qualify for most peoples' bucket list - then a stay at The New Beehive is a must. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, just pop in for a couple of pints of real ale. It will be worth it. Would I go back and stay there again? In a heartbeat!
Cheers!!

Reviewed by
stewart johnson

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap week end stay
At this price you can not complain. Friendly service and the breakfast was good. The asian restaurant next door is excellent.

Reviewed by
peter j

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation with lots of character
We were welcomed by a friendly member of staff and shown up to in a large room with some very interesting furniture, including a writing desk with lots of little cubby holes. The bed was comfy and the overnight room temperature was just right. On the walls were a number of mirrors printed with images from early 20th century 'Vogue'. The only little niggles were the electric kettle, which needed a bit of wiggling to get it to sit properly on its base, and the shower, which we couldn't get to run very hot. We didn't mention this to the staff as we were only there one night and didn't happen to see anyone as we were leaving in the morning. Overall, a pleasant and interesting place to stay, with lots of character. I would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Karen W

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

decent
PROS
Nice looking room, clean, fairly big, TV and with a view over Bradford
Very central, close to Westgate shopping centre and taxi rank
Parking out back
Nice interior generally if you like it old fashioned
Shower was fine, 2 towels given
Plenty of free tea and coffee which is always a bonus
CONS
Room was a bit cold
Soap but no shampoo
Bar/ breakfast closed weekend mornings

Reviewed by
Alexander S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New beehive
Bargain price , nice old place full of charactor and alot better than expected .Spacious room had a double and a single bed but still spacious. Next door to a wonderful indian restaurant

Reviewed by
David M

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next