No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bear Inn 53 High Street, Somerset, BA16 0EF
The Bear Inn is a traditional pub in the small town of Street in Somerset. The inn boasts a spacious interior filled with cosy corners and a large garden and terrace to enjoy in the summer months. Food is served all day and our traditional menu and daily food offers mean you can be assured of great quality and value at every visit.

Street was a small farming community until the mid 19th century when Cyrus Clark set up his shoe factory and built housing and leisure facilities to provide for his workers. Now, the manufacturing arm has moved abroad and the old workshops have been turned into a retail village offering designer and high street clothes at outlet prices. The town is located in a rural area, less than 2 miles from Glastonbury and only 10 minutes from the M5.

Our accommodation consists of 24 comfortable and spacious rooms situated either above the pub or in our neighbouring cottages. We are located a minute’s walk from the retail village at the edge of the town.

Picture of The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns, Somerset at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Booked through LateRooms and was not disappointed the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly. my only little complaint is that the room could do with a bit of updating. We stayed in one of the cottages the room was very spacious. The location is also very central for going to Wells and of course Clarks Village. Will certainly stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
c hokan

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good value for money. £35 for a twin room incl. breakfast. Great!
the rooms were always clean & comfy and of a good standard but now the Pub has been refurbished it is a good place to stay. The food is typical for a pub chain; standard fare at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Ian T

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Ideal close to clarks village in walking distance.positioned in street town
Ideal for visiting glastonbury and wells .
Good bus links.
Staff here are very good, food ok,room warm and bed ok,
Used a few times as find central location excellent..

Reviewed by
Dorothy B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Really impressed, great, happy friendly service. Accommodation beyond our expectation, menu is great and very good value for money, well done.

Reviewed by
Lucy Simister

From South Brent, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
great value overnight accommodation, nice room, decent service. Great for Clarkes village

Reviewed by
NICK K

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns
Great value for money would stay again.
Very friendly staff and helpful

Reviewed by
Craig A

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seconds chance saloon
We booked at the last minute and we're pleased to find a room available for two nights, for two adults and a 2 year-old. We didn't realise until our arrival that the room was in a separate building from the pub, 100 yards away and across the road ('Blossom Cottages'). The room was fine, but there were signs of damp on the bedroom ceiling, which was also very dark with only one downright in a corner of the room and a dim bedside lamp. Our son had a sofa-bed in a separate room, which was good, but the duvet was too thick for him. No fault in that, but I was surprised that I couldn't find any blankets in the room.
We returned to reception and asked for another lamp and a blanket. We didn't get either; we were told that they had been asking their hotel chain's head office for new furnishings since April (to which my thought was, 'just go to B&Q and BUY a LAMP'), and in lieu of a blanket we were offered a mattress protector. So, after my son went to sleep we spent a very dim evening.
I was very impressed the next morning: a very good breakfast and, after raising our concerns, the hotel without any fuss at all moved us for our second night to a room in the main building. This was much better, not least because we could use a baby monitor after our sin was asleep and spend the evening in the bar. The room was better but also had a large damp stain in one corner! Finally, the double beds in both rooms were narrow; I would have much preferred a king-size bed. That said, we slept adequately if not superbly, and had another good breakfast in the morning.
Bit of a mixed bag, and of course our situation was slightly idiosyncratic with a small child, but for anyone thinking of staying I'd suggest trying to ensure you get a room in the main pub building. And for the management, I'd suggest investing in some lamps, bigger beds and undertake a spot of decorating.

Reviewed by
David Cameron

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay
Great value for money and happy with our stay. We stayed in a little converted cottage which was about 3 mins walk from the Inn. It was nice and quiet, with a spacious hallway, bathroom and bedroom. The cooked breakfast was good. The only drawback was the mattress which was a bit lumpy and soft. Think they could have done with a new one! Apart from that all good.

Reviewed by
M Price

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Hotel was really close to the shopping village and ideal as a stop over. Room was in an annex and really clean and cosy. Food was very good value and really helpful staff. They even made my wife a hot tipple and not to pay if she did not like it! Thank you for your hospitality.

Reviewed by
M wickett

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay if visiting Clarks Village
Very helpful staff, lovely food and would recommend the pub instead of eating at Clarks Village. Room was good and large, very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Karen M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next