No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bear Inn 53 High Street, Somerset, BA16 0EF
The Bear Inn is a traditional pub in the small town of Street in Somerset. The inn boasts a spacious interior filled with cosy corners and a large garden and terrace to enjoy in the summer months. Food is served all day and our traditional menu and daily food offers mean you can be assured of great quality and value at every visit.

Street was a small farming community until the mid 19th century when Cyrus Clark set up his shoe factory and built housing and leisure facilities to provide for his workers. Now, the manufacturing arm has moved abroad and the old workshops have been turned into a retail village offering designer and high street clothes at outlet prices. The town is located in a rural area, less than 2 miles from Glastonbury and only 10 minutes from the M5.

Our accommodation consists of 24 comfortable and spacious rooms situated either above the pub or in our neighbouring cottages. We are located a minute’s walk from the retail village at the edge of the town.

Picture of The Bear Inn by Marstons Inns, Somerset at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

7 go cycling in Somerset
A nice hotel, with good food and clean accommodation. Friendly staff, and good value.

Reviewed by
John Green

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location excellent for Clarks Shopping Village
A fairly clean room although the bed underneath the window would benefit from being pulled out and the radiator and that corner of the room given a thorough clean.

Reviewed by
Ann W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room!
The room was nice and spacious but needs more light. It tended to be a little dim.

Reviewed by
A Cole

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rooms and great food, thank you

Reviewed by
J Sandford

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
We went on a shopping trip and stayed at this hotel. The only negative comment about our stay was the sausages at breakfast could of been a better quality. But the hotel in general was excellent the room was very comfortable and the towels were clean and fresh. The food was excellent and the staff in this hotel were very good on all things from checking in to waiting and the bar services. Just a very good hotel and we would definitely recommend it and return ourselves.

Reviewed by
CHERIE PIKE

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy cottage in the high street of Street.
Warm room. Tv good. Bed comfortable. Nice shower. Friendly staff. Nice food. Coffee could be better. Great location. Good for car parking. Stayed over road from pub. Waiter was excellent. Beer was good. Boon Dingle. Choice of food was ok. All seems to be boil in bag tho. highly recommend for value.

Reviewed by
K Kaal

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK require update
Accommodation was fine for the money we spent. The rooms require updating, tired decor.
Pub style food as you would expect, nothing bad, but nothing to special.

Reviewed by
Brian L

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best breakfast ever
The Bear is a lovely Inn in a nice area. All the staff we came into contact with were great always helpful and pleasant with it.The room was very clean and the bed was very comfy.
I had the best hotel breakfast I have ever had and would have gladly paid an extra £10.00 for it , alll you could eat and quality produce. We had one evening meal which was nice.
Just one criticism which was the bar shut at 10.00pm on a Sunday night , something to do with the old owners the Quakers I think .
All in all a great stay.

Reviewed by
tim h

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Very good value for what you get.

Reviewed by
m gaffney

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Iovely relaxful weekend in Somerset,very accomodating staff ,will certainly return to this hotel!
First Class Service!

Reviewed by
D Doyle

From Weymouth, England
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next