No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ascot House Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
7 Tor Church Road, Torquay, TQ2 5UR
Set in an impressive early Victorian villa, AscotHouse Hotel was acquired in 2007 by Bernard Lien-Lambert, a Frenchexpatriate. Run by Bernard and his American partner Terri, the hotel has just been refurbished for a second time since acquisition, resulting in 5 spacious Suites which are much more reflective of the original design and glory of the building. The two room suites (Junior & Gothic) consist each of a standard size bedroom with built-in en-suite facilities and a lounge while the other three suites have a large bathroom in addition to the bedroom and lounge. Updated pictures will be posted very soon! Whether you're a couple, travelling solo on business or with the family, our Suites offer great space and a sense of home away from home.

Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes walking distance of the town centre, sea front, marina, train station, Princess Theatre and the Riviera Conference Centre. We pride ourselves on ensuring a warm, welcoming atmosphere, comfortable accommodation, top class food, attention to detail and your personal needs as well as offering great value for money.
Picture of Ascot House Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay. Would recommend to anybody. Short walk into town and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic.

Reviewed by
Emma Jeffery

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place
Really enjoyed staying here.
The hotel is closer to the main area than the others I saw. Not a hard walk at all.
The hosts were really super nice and were able to take care of us incredibly well. When I stay somewhere, I like feeling that we are all on the same page of flexibility and enjoyment.
I thought it was much better than I expected. Great Job!!

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From Hammersmith, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at ascot
Thank you for a great stay, highly recommend and will use again :-)

Reviewed by
J Francis

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place to stay
I stayed here with my girlfriend for a few days over a surprisingly sunny bank holiday. Terri and Bernard were fantastic hosts, making us both feel welcome despite being very busy and giving us tips on what to see in Torquay. The hotel is very nicely decorated with a real warm, homely feel and it's ideally situated for a nice stroll into town or to the train station to visit the many surrounding villiages. The room was very nice with a very comfortable bed and tea and coffee facilities (with fresh milk brought for us every day). The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of options. I really can't recommend this place enough!

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay, couldn't have asked for better.

Reviewed by
P Hodge

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night at Ascot House Hotel
I would definately use this hotel again. The room was clean, nicely furnished and warm. The decor of the hotel in general was very tasteful. The owners were charming with great customer service. Breakfast was of a high standard and I was able to eat as late as 10am. Checkout time was also very relaxed. I could of checked out at 1pm and it wouldn't of been a problem. The only fault or disappointment was the shower. The water pressure was very weak. There was a lovely sized shower and I was looking forward to a power shower but it wasn't to be. It wouldn't deter me from visiting again though. I highly recommend the hotel!!!!

Reviewed by
Debbie L

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Calm and romantic
It was a great B&B. The room was very clean, well equipped and stylish. I'd recommend it to anyone staying in Torquay as a couple. Oh, and the fruit in the mornings was a great touch. Thanks for the stay Bernard!

Reviewed by
A Moore

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent family friendly hotel
This is a lovely hotel which has been decorated beautifully. The rooms were very spacious, well equipped and very clean. The hotel is in a nice quiet area of torquay and our top floor suite had lovely sea views. The breakfast each morning was delicious and very well presented with plenty of choice. The cooked breakfast was very tasty and my little girl particularly enjoyed the sausages! The hotel owner is very freindly and helpfull . The hotel is very good value for money and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere nice to stay.

Reviewed by
Joanne E

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place to stay in Torquay!
A warm welcome on our arrival, a delightful room with the most comfy bed I think we've ever slept in & a fantastic breakfast! We will definitely stay here again when we next go to the theatre in Torquay & will be recommending it to our friends & family.

Reviewed by
S Leach

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful nights stay, no negatives at all

Reviewed by
Joanne I

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next