No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Mill - Luxury Windmill

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1 BARWICK LANE , YARM, TS15 9JR
As the name suggests The Old Mill is a converted Windmill circa 1750. The Old Mill was originally converted to a house in 1968, retaining many of the original features. A subsequent revamp was completed, complimenting the original architecture.

The Old Mill bed and breakfast offers a warm welcome and a comfortable and relaxing stay with a high standard of bed and breakfast and apartment accommodation. All the apartments are situated five minutes from The Old Mill grounds.

Picture of Old Mill - Luxury Windmill, YARM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs some work to get to the finished article.
The accommodation I stayed in was a converted old barn. The room itself appeared initally as accepable however this was not the case.
The main entrance door is a double door that is practically full width of the room. There are no opening windows therefore the room is stuffy. There was a fan provided and this was needed.
As the main entrance door is facing the parking yard, people entering and leaving late the car head lights shine through the curtains, at what ever time of the day people are coming or going.
The bed was very poor and possibly the worst I have slept on, in a developed country. There have been some previous reviews on the quality of the bed and this does need to be addressed.
On the face of it, this B&B appears more than adequate however, the practicalities are not taken into account and therefore falls short of being a reasonable stay.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time
I booked relatively late so choice was limited, but I found my stay good value for money. Room was basic but adequate, a couple of minor comments (could do with the lamps fixing, TV updating, etc). Room was on the first floor of the annexe, quiet - no real issues for the single traveller.

Reviewed by
Laurence O

From Llangollen, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
Comfy beds, clean and spacious room. Good cooked breakfast, continental was a little limited. Friendly and helpful staff, access to lovely lounge area and kitchen.

Reviewed by
r humphries

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
It's very homely and welcoming

Reviewed by
D Garbutt

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad nights sleep
We stayed in the granary which on the face of it looked very nice. The bed mattress was very poor. We could feel every spring and which woke up up on occasion. Also the TV Turned itself on at 1:30 and 4:30. We had to turn that off at the wall. The tv is also too small to be placed that high on the wall. The bathroom tap was also very loose and the woodwork in there a little mouldy. Under the bed was also very dirty. Good shower!
Would have informed staff of issues on checkout but there was no one at reception.

Reviewed by
Stacey W

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Lovely place in a nice quiet area

Reviewed by
Rebecca A

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wrongly advertised on website
We felt that this had been wrongly advertised on the website. We had booked a room in a converted windmill bed and breakfast but when we arrived were told we were actually staying in the 'apartments'. So we assumed this was in a building next door. No, it was a 10 minute drive into a large housing estate and was an empty apartment far away from everything. The customer service at the windmill itself was great, and had we been staying there I'm sure we would have had a fantastic time.

Reviewed by
Sarah F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful and very peaceful
It was a lovely place to stay everyone was friendly and the breakfast was delicious

Reviewed by
j winstanley

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
I had seen this on the booking site before, the accommodation was stated as being a mile from Yarm, which I tried to clarify with the b&b via email and advised it was, which was misleading, it may be a mile to the outskirts, but it a 3 or 4 mile taxi ride on a main road to the centre, which is not walkable, with a minimal bus service.If you want to be a bit further out, then this is fine, we did not, There is a nice pub at the end of the road, It was a little dirty and could do with a deep clean. We didn't opt for breakfast and I think it is a little dear for room only, I think the room may have been cheaper booking direct.

Reviewed by
carolyn k

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worth it
I stayes at the old mill off the suggestions of my brother and i was very impressed, lovely room and a very nice b&b would definitly go back again as was worth everyy penny

Reviewed by
sam t

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next