Reviews - The Carlton Hotel


16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU

Price From 64.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (94)

49% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Rosemary S

  • September 2015

Very pleasant hosts and staff also polite

Not such a big hotel as I'd anticipated but everything there that I needed for my stay which was basically to look around the local areas.

I like my space so would have preferred a larger room also it would have been a bonus if the shower wasn't tempermental!

  • jocelyn r

  • September 2015

cheap and cheerful

A slightly 'tired' old lady of a hotel, which is trying to make a come back.

Some lovely features and could be wonderful with TLC. Staff friendly, helpful and kind. Very convenient for port of Dover.

  • S Everett

  • September 2015

Not to be repeated


Where do I start.

My cousin & I went to Folkestone for a family event. I found this hotel and thought it would be fine for 1 night. How wrong I was. After having an argument with the owner about a sea view which was requested on booking, we were given a twin at the back. On the narrow 2nd floor, with exposed floor boards due to redecoration, our room was of adequate size. The only positive was that it was clean. 1 Dbl bed & 1 single. One side of the dbl bed didn't have any springs and the whole bed dipped and slopped downward. I had to sleep only side with the springs, nearest the wall. This wall was as thin as paper and every movement down the corridor was felt and heard. The en-suite was clean but the shower was pitiful, I was unsure I would be able to wash out the shampoo.

The hotel was impoverished, despite attempts at decoration - although this was badly done.

The cooked breakfast was only best bit. Freshly cooked and hot.

The hotel is in a stunning location on the Leas, overlooking the sea. It really was such a shame - it could be so much better. I wasn't looking for luxury, but I wanted comfort.

We couldn't wait to leave.

  • cheryl c

  • September 2015

The Carlton Hotel

Hotel was in middle of being decorated, staff friendly &helpful nice breakfast well worth the £25 a night stay for two of us

  • Amanda M

  • September 2015

pleasant surprise

After reading some reviews I was a little worried but, the public areas reception and breakfast room were very nice.

The young man on reception was very pleasant and helpful his welcome got the stay off to a good start, they were busy decorating and therefore improving the hotel. The room was basic but good, we had a new bed and generally a very comfortable room. The breakfast staff were polite and the cook breakfast very nice. If we return to folkstone I would have no hesitation in booking here again. My only observation would be to for the owner, the partition walls need to be thicker as you could here the people in the next room, and the gloss needed to be prepared before repainting to get a better longer lasting finish. This did not affect our stay but would keep the new decoration looking newer for longer after all the hard work.

  • zena w

  • September 2015

After 6 flights of stairs we were to knackered to appreciate the sea view

Although we had a sea view room, we could not appreciate it due to the amount of stairs we had to climb to reach room.

The stairs seemed to lean & the bedroom floor had a hole in it & a slight tilt . breakfast, for which we were told we needed a voucher(which we weren't given on check in) was Luke warm. Car park ward nothing more than builders rubble.& a nightmare to exit as people had parked either side of exit.

  • Paul N

  • August 2015

Don't be fooled by the entrance

Upon entering the hotel it appeared freshly decorated and well presented, as was the bar and the lounge.

However, once we obtained our keys we then went off to a different part of the building which was shoddy and appeared to comprise of rooms that had been subdivided (so quite small). The walls felt like cardboard and overnight I endured water leaking from the roof above me. The breakfast was pretty shoddy with a couple of cereals and OJ on offer and a cooked breakfast that comprised of a sausage that was the size of chipolata plus some other cheap looking items. We almost didn't find the breakfast room due to a complete lack of signs.

  • M McGorrin

  • August 2015

The Carlton Hotel

The toilet handle fell off when I closed the door.

The tv or radio didn't work.

  • david p

  • August 2015


Friendly staff is the best you can say.

Run down corridor smelt of stale cigarettes mattress faulty springs so had big did No good at all

  • Katharina D

  • August 2015

The Carlton Hotel