No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Carlton Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU
The Channel Tunnel is approximately 3 miles away from this ideally situated Folkestone Hotel. The hotel is situated by the Leas Cliff hall overlooking the English Channel where Dover is approximately 6 miles away. The hotel offers superb Channel views, and on clear days France is visible. Many attractions are within easy walking and driving distance.

The famous conference and concert Leas Cliff Hall is a 2 minute walk away as is The Leas Bandstand. The hotel is open all year round and features elegant and comfortable en suite rooms, an excellent restaurant for guests, an inviting bar and plenty of places to sit outside on pleasant days.
Picture of The Carlton Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
This hotel does need a refurb but we had a sea view room on the first floor and the room was much nicer than we had stayed in before on the ground floor. Very large bathroom and comfy bed. The heater didn't work properly but the reception quickly sorted another heater for us. Good value for money as we were stopping overnight before using the Eurotunnel. Great to have a free car park behind the hotel and just 10 mins walk to the town centre.

Reviewed by
R Davies

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lot better then expected
Paid £25 for double room but it exceeded our expectations. Room was big enough for what we needed. The shower cubicle was bit tight but managable. And full english breakfast was included in the price. Staff nice and polite. Would definitely come back if needed cheap accomodation. There is a greek restaurant just round the corner, worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Lenka H

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Carlton Hotel
Reception was very friendlyl and polite and made you feel welcome. An old hotel which hasn't been modernized but comfortable and clean for the stop over we used it for.

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money, would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
v farrell

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation but you get what you pay for
Typical seaside guest house in need of an urgent makeover, the rooms definitely, old tv, draughty windows, no central heating, woodchip wallpaper, old blankets, old curtains i'm sure you get the picture. however we were only booking for one night and paid 60.00 for four of us so not sure we can really complain, that price included breakfast as well. Hotel ideal for the workers staying there for cheap digs.
we've laughed about it since, would probably go back if we needed a cheap stayover somewhere without expecting or needing any luxury. its no frills accommodation and if you know that you will put up with it. Possibly
breakfast was good, dining room full of people seemingly enjoying themselves

Reviewed by
M HASTINGS

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay for the price, don't listen to bad reviews!
We stayed here for two nights over Valentines (13th-15th Feb 2015) and I have to say I really enjoyed our stay. The room as mentioned may be a little outdated but there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. We were on the third floor, and upon arrival the receptionist was very helpful and gave us great directions. Heater in room was handy, but I didn't feel the cold which was surprising. Although we had booked in for breakfast we didn't actually have breakfast as were too busty going out!
Overall a pleasant stay and great value for money!

Reviewed by
S Ball

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just for one night, just because is really cheap. Pretty bad room, low level Hotel.

Reviewed by
A Tenca

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well!!!!
Room was freezing although knew I was booked , a electric heater in room, had to go out to aRm up , back 3 hrs later and room was warm. Bathroom freezing as no heat at all. Wash basin hot tap not working. Shaving light not working. No spoon, or sugar. Car park at back was rubble and mud be aware.

Reviewed by
nick w

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded expectations
Lovely old building....some issues as a result (draughty windows, negligable heating) but large room with high ceilings and sea views if you're lucky. For this price, don't expect too much. Like most similar hotels, some decoration would be a benefit, and general cleanliness could be better, but the bed was clean and comfortable and the room was quite quiet. For a stopover before an early channel crossing, this is an excellent choice, however. Off road parking behind the hotel, or on street parking (free between 6pm and 8am) is a bonus.

Reviewed by
Martin S

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed the 1 night , overall accommodation was good for our needs, close to shops and tunnel crossing

Reviewed by
steve newell

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next