No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Carlton Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU
The Channel Tunnel is approximately 3 miles away from this ideally situated Folkestone Hotel. The hotel is situated by the Leas Cliff hall overlooking the English Channel where Dover is approximately 6 miles away. The hotel offers superb Channel views, and on clear days France is visible. Many attractions are within easy walking and driving distance.

The famous conference and concert Leas Cliff Hall is a 2 minute walk away as is The Leas Bandstand. The hotel is open all year round and features elegant and comfortable en suite rooms, an excellent restaurant for guests, an inviting bar and plenty of places to sit outside on pleasant days.
Picture of The Carlton Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, cheap, cheerful and a seaview.....
For £30 for a double with breakfast and next to the Leas Cliff Hall this was a bargain. At this price we didn't expect the Ritz and it wasn't. What we got was an ensuite with a tv, tea and coffee, hot shower and a sea view. Cheaper than a taxi home and overall we enjoyed it.

Reviewed by
J Linnane

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money.
Delighted. Delighted & delighted.

Reviewed by
David Heads

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab Fab Fab
What a fabulous hotel for the small amount of money we paid very clean and comfortable room wonderful sea view and on departure we met the owners nephew who was extremly freindly what a very pleasant man we will definatly be going back

Reviewed by
marrietta Mathewson

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would not stay at this hotel it definitely needs refurbishing completely the room was too small
When we got to the Carlton it was 9pm in the evening and all we wanted to do after our long journey from Cornwall was sleep, but we were told there had been a leak in the bedroom, and that we would have to have 2 singles we said no, and 10 minutes later the family room appeared. This is not acceptable at all.

Reviewed by
P NEVILL

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money would stay again, the only thing l would comment on
Is the bathroom needs a little attention.

Reviewed by
lyn rathbone

From Rowley Regis, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good budget stay
Easy to find, fairly central.
20mins. Sunday am ) from the Dover Ferry Port made it a good stop over
Car park available, although in the wet it was muddy
Clean and tidy although certainly rather tired - difficult to stay on top of such places
Excellent value for money.
Breakfast freshly cooked.

Reviewed by
Francis A

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For price paid very reasonable
It would have been better to have no television provided rather than a TV with the incorrect electric plug, which was overcome by me,but it was impossible to tune it in as it was an analogue set rather than digital.

Reviewed by
andrew k

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip and stay
For what we paid for a nights stay, it was good value for money.

Reviewed by
R BURNS

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Please review this property following comments below there are better hotels for the same price
This hotel was more of a building site. A poor standard even though it was at a discount the bedroom window would not close and when reported was told it was on the top floor so what was the problem. When asked for a maintenance man to come and repair was told he was busy and would be along later says it all would not stay at this hotel again after hassle managed a refund had to find a hotel which just managed for the same price and better quality and service

Reviewed by
P Mc Cann

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel has had an external makeover, but the interior needs attention. The room was adequate and everything worked, but the bathroom floor needed renewal; towels and bed linen good; ancient plumbing but it delivered hot water. Excellent value for money on what was obviously a busy weekend. On arrival there was an issue that there was no record of our LateRooms booking and we were fortunate to have the last available room, which may explain its condition.

Reviewed by
J Hiley

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next