Reviews - The Carlton Hotel


16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU

Price From 52.53 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (99)

49% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jimmy C

  • November 2015


Sound hotel, very central and parking available, little rough around the edges, only one channel on telly, free view would not change channel, overall does me as a single traveler.


  • November 2015

Good value for money

Value for money wise, it was acceptable.

The room was very basic & all the main essentials were clean, but the room was very outdated & curtains, bedding etc tatty & old fashion. The saving grace was that the breakfast was excellent value for money with full english (freshly cooked) plus cereals, fruit juices, as much toast as you wanted.

  • peter mckee

  • November 2015

Superb value for money

  • L May

  • October 2015

Should have been paid to stay here

The room was aweful, mould on the walls, blankets old and dirty, no mattress protector and extremely stained mattress, most uncomfortable bed, like sleeping on bricks.

No hot water in the morning and extremely loud with the sound of other guests moving about. The tv remote did not work so could not change chanel.

When asking to have my bedding replaced I was assured it would be done by the time I return, this was not the case and the receptionist then argued that it had been changed.

They ask for room payment before you have seen the state if it.

  • Rosemary D

  • October 2015

Great location

Good location on the Leas overlooking the sea.

Hotel staff all very pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortably furnished and nicely decorated, with a spacious bathroom. Although not modern, the furnishings were adequate and comfortable and the decoration quite distinctive. The TV worked fine once we had figured out how to get it going. Breakfast was very good.

  • Eileen Seddon

  • October 2015

Cleaner should check the drawers as we found six empty beer bottles in one of them

Went last year and the hotel has improved

  • Rosemary S

  • September 2015

Very pleasant hosts and staff also polite

Not such a big hotel as I'd anticipated but everything there that I needed for my stay which was basically to look around the local areas.

I like my space so would have preferred a larger room also it would have been a bonus if the shower wasn't tempermental!

  • jocelyn r

  • September 2015

cheap and cheerful

A slightly 'tired' old lady of a hotel, which is trying to make a come back.

Some lovely features and could be wonderful with TLC. Staff friendly, helpful and kind. Very convenient for port of Dover.

  • S Everett

  • September 2015

Not to be repeated


Where do I start.

My cousin & I went to Folkestone for a family event. I found this hotel and thought it would be fine for 1 night. How wrong I was. After having an argument with the owner about a sea view which was requested on booking, we were given a twin at the back. On the narrow 2nd floor, with exposed floor boards due to redecoration, our room was of adequate size. The only positive was that it was clean. 1 Dbl bed & 1 single. One side of the dbl bed didn't have any springs and the whole bed dipped and slopped downward. I had to sleep only side with the springs, nearest the wall. This wall was as thin as paper and every movement down the corridor was felt and heard. The en-suite was clean but the shower was pitiful, I was unsure I would be able to wash out the shampoo.

The hotel was impoverished, despite attempts at decoration - although this was badly done.

The cooked breakfast was only best bit. Freshly cooked and hot.

The hotel is in a stunning location on the Leas, overlooking the sea. It really was such a shame - it could be so much better. I wasn't looking for luxury, but I wanted comfort.

We couldn't wait to leave.

  • cheryl c

  • September 2015

The Carlton Hotel

Hotel was in middle of being decorated, staff friendly &helpful nice breakfast well worth the £25 a night stay for two of us