You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Carlton Hotel

2

16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU

Price From 42.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (126)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paula W

  • September 2016

One nights stay

We booked this hotel as we couldn't get in at the premier inn.

It was cheap and all I can say is,you get what you pay for. Its not what we usually go for and we won't be staying there again. Its a shame as the staff were very polite and helpful.

  • p turner

  • September 2016

Value for money

Price superb breakfast, good room bit small, dated but good value for what we paid.

Only sleep there.

  • Andy M

  • September 2016

My opinion of stay in the Carlton Hotel

Hotel is dated but was generally very clean apart from a few cob webs on the ceiling i assume the cleaner must be short!.

However, the hotel is in a superb location and the free car park is a benefit. of course you only get what you pay for and it is good value for money including breakfast even if there was no jam.

  • Georges D

  • September 2016

The Carlton Hotel

Perfect

  • A Brewer

  • September 2016

A very disappointing experience

From outside hotel looked fine.

Car park was just rough rocks but assumed it was a WIP. My room was nicely decorated and the bedding dated but was fresh and clean with a decent mattress. That's the upside. The downside is-

The carpet needed a good clean

The cold tap had the top missing and only trickled out when turned on full

The hot tap didn't work at all. The shower had no hot after either, even though I ran it for a while and tried every configuration. The room had been one large one divided into two and the partition wall was so thin I heard every single word the couple in the next room said. I had a long drive so hit the sheets around ten, but was kept awake most of the night by their talking and then their snoring. In addition to all that, although it is advertised as having a dining room they told me they didn't do food, so I had to go out and find somewhere. As it was a Sunday there was a Pizza Hut or a very long walk. I've stayed in many hotels in various parts of the world and this just doesn't cut it.

  • A Matthews

  • September 2016

Bad room lovely breakfast

Turned up quite late on a Saturday evening due to extended journey time because of road closures , arrived at reception and informed that car park was full but that we could park in a car park right behind hotel .

Car park free over night but charged from 8 am (I took photo of phone number and paid from the room over the phone in the morning). Reception was very clean & tidy & gave a very good impression of hotel.

Room was on the third floor and was very small , quite smelly, floor had a massive slope which meant our bed was propped up on pieces of wood to make it level , not good !. We were not impressed at all as you can imagine after such a long journey.

Breakfast was served on the bottom floor in the morning a selection of cereal, toast , tea & coffee and waitress to take your order or cooked food, we had a full English breakfast and it was very nice

  • mark dodge

  • September 2016

Not the best

We stayed here for 1 night before going over to France.

Ok we didnt pay a great deal, but we expected better than we got. Surely there must be a basic standard for beds, we had a twin room, and both beds had springs about to poke through, i had a bruise the next morning from them. The tv was on a european 2 pin plug pushed into a 3 pin british adaptor which is surely neither legal or safe. The en suite door didnt shut, there was no latch on it, never mind about a lock.

It was a 1 night stopover that we will not be returning to, if you have a stopover booked here, then dont stop, keep driving.

  • Julian Wilkinson

  • September 2016

Great Bargain

This a budget hotel on The Leas in Folkestone.

Part of the hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard. The budget rooms are getting a little tired but when rooms including breakfast start at £25.00, one can't moan. The hotel is less than 30 minutes to Dover port and makes an excellent start to any holiday abroad. Great customer service and great views of France. We look forward to returning.

  • Tania G

  • August 2016

never again!

we should have taken notice of trip advisor.

this was appalling, we asked to change rooms twice on arrival due to the poor quality, the final room on night 1 was at the back of this so called hotel, the bed springs were coming through the mattress the floor was dirty, damp patches on walls. the following night we were moved to a seaview room, the room had been divided cross the window, the curtain was hanging off, a large hole in the net curtain and a window with no catch, when we arrived in the room the window was wedged open with the curtain!. the floor tilted so much that we slept upside down in the bed. food appalling, juice in plastic cups, dirty table mats, smell of damp no ability to open windows in food room as painted shut. I would advise strongly against staying here. there were a lot of overseas travellers looking bemused, if this is their impression of UK hotels it is shocking. I am amazed this hotel is allowed to continue trading.

  • C Murfin

  • August 2016

old and tired

Room was old.

Drawers difficult to shut. Work surface on top chipped. Room needed updating and repairs.