You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Carlton Hotel

2

16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (124)

54% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Smith

  • August 2016

A little neglected and dated.

The hotel is a beautiful old building on the sea front, but It desperately needed some TLC.

Just a lick of paint would go a long way, as it looked very tired and neglected. The room had a great view but the décor was uninviting with mis-matched curtains and bedding. A better selection of drinks in the room would have been nice and there was only enough supplied for a couple of drinks each. I'm sorry to say that the toilet brush had seen better days and really should have been discarded a long time ago. The breakfast was good and you were given a choice of what you wanted. Toast and juice was available to help yourself and the staff were friendly and helpful. As an overnight stay on our way to Dover, it served it's purpose, but I wouldn't want to stay there for a holiday. Such a shame as with a bit of thought and time spent on it, the hotel could be so much more inviting.

  • Peter M

  • August 2016

A hotel that gives you your basic comforts

At the price that is charged.

It is a hotel that supplies you the basic requirements that you would expect . The hotel is clean and is decorated to a standard.

  • eddie james

  • August 2016

Two night stay was more than long enough

On entering the reception area found it decorated in dark grey paper and paintwork.

Very dismal looking start unfortunately. All areas do look unclean possibly due to age of building and colour scheme. Poky little bedroom which had the look of a bordello, due to purple duvet, black headboard with crystal plastic studs and finally red curtains. BUT the sheets were clean. Shower was tiny and didn't want to be either hot or cold.

  • S Brown

  • July 2016

Worst Hotel

Can truly say this is the worst hotel my family and I have ever stayed in.

Whilst may be a budget hotel the place was a joke, flies in the bathroom, dirty stained carpets, engrained food stains on windowsill, Windows which fully opened no child guards next to kids beds and the breakfast don't go there totally disgusting!

  • Brian H

  • July 2016

Good value

This hotel is in a great position with nice views and location close to many places to eat and drink.

A pretty promenade with views of the sea - and lovely floral gardens outside the front door. The hotel exterior is well kept. The interior is OK - a bit depressing with very dark wallpaper, but the welcome on arrival was sincere and helpful. My room (at the back) was OK - faded and seen better times but quite adequate for a short stay (I would not want to spend a long stay there though). Many stairs to get around so definitely not wheelchair friendly. As I was only staying for one night, and do not need a wheelchair my conclusion was that for the very reasonable charge, it was excellent value for money. The price also included breakfast (which I did not have as I had to leave very early) which makes the charge even more reasonable. Bottom line - great value for money, good for anyone on a budget but do not expect luxury. I was very satisfied.

  • Daniel O

  • July 2016

Okay 'cos it's been cheap

We stayed for just one nigh which made the shortcomings tolerable.

The hotel is quite old which made it kinda charming though.

The room itself was quite outworn. Luckily we had a sea view that was pretty. The staff that prepared and served the breakfast was lacking manpower and therefore simply unable to cope with the crowd.

  • David F

  • July 2016

Reasonable value I suppose ????

The room was quite small with dated and shabby decor and furniture but was clean.

The staff could have been a bit more friendly and helpful.

  • G Cole

  • July 2016

The Carlton Hotel

Value for money, okay for overnight stop, car park needs attention especially if your on a motorcycle.

  • k thomas

  • July 2016

Cheap is not always a good thing!!

Rooms are falling apart bits hanging from ceiling decor to be desired my room smelt of sewage and had to move at 1am with a 5 month old baby.

asked if I could leave bags in old room collect in morning as it was late to be told no as they might rent the room out!!it was vile!!

  • D Fisher

  • June 2016

The Carlton Hotel

The reception is very dark and not welcoming.

We were put on the 3rd floor which is actually the attic. The first problem is the lift only goes to the second floor so you have to carry your cases up a flight of stairs, however the second problem is the lift is so small it would only hold me and 1 piece of luggage. It said max 4 people. (perhaps it was made in lillyput). Just getting ourselves and our luggage to the room took more than several journeys and was very tiring. I forgot to mention the carpark which is situated round the back of the hotel and there is no rear entrance. It's not a massive walk but just a bit frustrating especially when you realize you have the above to navigate. The room it's self was small but tidy. However it was in desperate need of redecoration. Very dated Woodchip walls with a paper border that was hanging off in several places, the velux window wouldn't close which wasn't a problem weather-wise as it was very warm, but there was a seagull perched just above the window which decided to scream, Mine. Mine. Mine. (finding nemo style) intermittently through the night. I'm not blaming this on the hotel management but maybe they should fix the window. Another problem was there was an old plastic shower cubical actually in the room. Old pipe work coming out of the ceiling down into the shower. Difficult to describe but shoddy workmanship indeed. The only reasonable experience was the breakfast. Nothing special but the lady taking our order was friendly helpful and smiled. When we left we didn't see any staff, so there was no, thank you, hope you enjoyed your stay, safe journey or how's your father. Just dropped the key to the room in a box and left.