No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Carlton Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU
The Channel Tunnel is approximately 3 miles away from this ideally situated Folkestone Hotel. The hotel is situated by the Leas Cliff hall overlooking the English Channel where Dover is approximately 6 miles away. The hotel offers superb Channel views, and on clear days France is visible. Many attractions are within easy walking and driving distance.

The famous conference and concert Leas Cliff Hall is a 2 minute walk away as is The Leas Bandstand. The hotel is open all year round and features elegant and comfortable en suite rooms, an excellent restaurant for guests, an inviting bar and plenty of places to sit outside on pleasant days.
Picture of The Carlton Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed the 1 night , overall accommodation was good for our needs, close to shops and tunnel crossing

Reviewed by
steve newell

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The car park wasn't a solid surface, mud and hardcore, needs improvement..
Shower in the room took sometime to fiddle about with to get to the right temperature.
Table clothes could do with being changed if food been dropped on them..
For a reasonably cheap stay its ok.

Reviewed by
m aris

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton Hotel Stopover
Budget b&b does what it says on the tin! Excellent value. V good Full English Breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mahesh J

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Carlton Hotel
Super hotel, excellent staff, friendly atmosphere, clean inviting room.
enjoyed our stay, had a good nights sleep and will be returning in jan. 2015

Reviewed by
w reeson

From sauze vaussais, France
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but excellent
Quality of the hotel is basic, she's looking tired, fresh paint etc would help, but this is countered by the friendly staff, £25 for the night i wasn't expecting luxury but the room was comfortable and clean.
I will use this hotel again on returning from mainland Europe to the UK & happily recommend.

Reviewed by
Dom H

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming staff
We were late arriving but we're still greeted warmly. Thank you. Very good value for money and we would definitely come again.

Reviewed by
M Vardy

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

there was lots of reasons it was so cheap none good
We booked two double rooms the only good thing I can say is the bed was very comfy, one room the toilet didn't flush and the shower was not attached to the wall so you had to hold the shower head to have a shower, the second room was not much better one of the windows didn't shut so with freezing temperatures outside it was not a very warm night. Both rooms had mould and smelt of damp. We also had breakfast which was a full English definately would not eat it again the eggs were not cooked properly and the cooked breakfast was cold, there was plenty of cereal though. I booked the hotel for me and another couple I was left feeling embarrassed at what I had booked. The hotel was also very dated.

Reviewed by
graeme S

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, cheap, cheerful and a seaview.....
For £30 for a double with breakfast and next to the Leas Cliff Hall this was a bargain. At this price we didn't expect the Ritz and it wasn't. What we got was an ensuite with a tv, tea and coffee, hot shower and a sea view. Cheaper than a taxi home and overall we enjoyed it.

Reviewed by
J Linnane

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money.
Delighted. Delighted & delighted.

Reviewed by
David Heads

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab Fab Fab
What a fabulous hotel for the small amount of money we paid very clean and comfortable room wonderful sea view and on departure we met the owners nephew who was extremly freindly what a very pleasant man we will definatly be going back

Reviewed by
marrietta Mathewson

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next