No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Carlton Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU
The Channel Tunnel is approximately 3 miles away from this ideally situated Folkestone Hotel. The hotel is situated by the Leas Cliff hall overlooking the English Channel where Dover is approximately 6 miles away. The hotel offers superb Channel views, and on clear days France is visible. Many attractions are within easy walking and driving distance.

The famous conference and concert Leas Cliff Hall is a 2 minute walk away as is The Leas Bandstand. The hotel is open all year round and features elegant and comfortable en suite rooms, an excellent restaurant for guests, an inviting bar and plenty of places to sit outside on pleasant days.
Picture of The Carlton Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good budget stay
Easy to find, fairly central.
20mins. Sunday am ) from the Dover Ferry Port made it a good stop over
Car park available, although in the wet it was muddy
Clean and tidy although certainly rather tired - difficult to stay on top of such places
Excellent value for money.
Breakfast freshly cooked.

Reviewed by
Francis A

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For price paid very reasonable
It would have been better to have no television provided rather than a TV with the incorrect electric plug, which was overcome by me,but it was impossible to tune it in as it was an analogue set rather than digital.

Reviewed by
andrew k

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip and stay
For what we paid for a nights stay, it was good value for money.

Reviewed by
R BURNS

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Please review this property following comments below there are better hotels for the same price
This hotel was more of a building site. A poor standard even though it was at a discount the bedroom window would not close and when reported was told it was on the top floor so what was the problem. When asked for a maintenance man to come and repair was told he was busy and would be along later says it all would not stay at this hotel again after hassle managed a refund had to find a hotel which just managed for the same price and better quality and service

Reviewed by
P Mc Cann

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel has had an external makeover, but the interior needs attention. The room was adequate and everything worked, but the bathroom floor needed renewal; towels and bed linen good; ancient plumbing but it delivered hot water. Excellent value for money on what was obviously a busy weekend. On arrival there was an issue that there was no record of our LateRooms booking and we were fortunate to have the last available room, which may explain its condition.

Reviewed by
J Hiley

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
A grand old dame of a seaside hotel, in need of some repair, but comfortable, clean, and a magnificent sea view.. We would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sally G

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our two night stay at the Carlton Hotel
When I booked in the staff were friendly but it seemed that they were confused when I told them that I had a reservation; it seemed that they were not expecting me and took a while to find my details; this may account for the state of the room that we were put in!! If it wasn't bad enough inhaling the odour of Damp all through the corridors the room reeked of it, the bathroom lino floor tiles were lifting and in need of gluing back down and the bath was filthy; it had strands of grubby hair over it that looked like it had fallen out of the clogged up filthy extractor fan above the bath!!! Thank goodness the staff were friendly, especially the young lady serving up the small but very nice cooked breakfast; she was happy and polite, a breath of fresh air. :-) We will not stay at this hotel again due to the tiny and filthy room!!

Reviewed by
Kevin Hudson

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for Familys
This hotel is very old and in desperate need of modernization and refurbishment. The room we had was not suitable for families as the age of the windows made them a hazard for children. The light switches were the old round 'flick' type and the TV did not work. The room we booked was for 3 adults and 1 child but when we arrived and saw the room it was nowhere near big enough to accommodate all of us. The room we had actually booked did not exist at this hotel and never has. We did not stay the night and left at 9 pm with our distressed 4 year old, due to the condition of this hotel.

Reviewed by
G GALLEGO

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for staying the entire day in bed but great as a bed and breakfast place.
The hotel is nice, incredibly close to the sea, quite calm. The interiors are nice. The bed in comfortable and you get tea, coffee and a kettle. The room was warm and cosy. It was quite small though and the bathroom was very small as well. With only 3 channels, it's not a place to spend the entire day in bed watching telly. The breakfast is served between 7:30 and 9 which is both too late and too early finished - that's my main complain.

Reviewed by
Michal P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
We ordered a quiet room, so we had to make a tour through the whole hotel to get to our room in the last corner. The "double bed" was more like a sofa bed with two separate parts. The room was filthy, sticky floor and dirty windows. In the bathroom: flushing the toilet and controlling the heat in the shower was more a matter of luck. In the breakfast room it was not easy to spot the unused tables as all the dishes could be cleaner, we only tried the toast and jam, hoping we wouldn't catch any germs...

Reviewed by
G Schmitt

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next