You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Carlton Hotel


16-19 The Leas, Folkestone, CT20 2DU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (124)

52% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Eileen Seddon

  • October 2016

The Carlton Hotel

This hotel has made tremendous improvements under the new owners and we would certainly recommend it.

  • S Mills

  • October 2016


Arrived and was forced to upgrade as the room was unacceptable.

It reminded me of a motel room on a American series where you find someone dead in the bath was terrible. I had to pay for the upgrade. was forgotten to give a breakfast token and the worst thing is the only difference in the upgrade was the carpet and wallpaper disgracefull. The manager there Kevin was great, all the help he could give I was forced to make sure no1 stayed under me as the floor boards are so good damn noisy. it was unreal the bed was noisy to couldn't believe it.

  • Tracy A

  • September 2016

Charlton B&B, Folkestone.

Dog hairs on the carpet/ flooring, dressing table very tatty and worn, wallpaper was dark gloomy and defo not good choice for the small room, fire issue as the fire was so close to the bed (about 10" from corner of bottom of bed), if we had of put fire on the room would have gone up in flames, said we had free wifi but couldn't connect to it, and shower hose wouldn't stay in shower holder and water for shower didn't stay hot for long.

Apart from that breakfast was nice in am and nice area of Folkestone being on the Leas. Done its purpose as just needed a room for 1 night but wouldn't have stayed longer than a night.

  • Keith H

  • September 2016

The Carlton Hotel

Smile sometimes.

And say hello to your guests.

  • R Heyhoe

  • September 2016

disgusting hotel

Stayed here on 27th August.

Arrived at 3.30 am after a horrendous drive from france. I had booked a family room with two king size beds. when we checked in the room had 1 double bed and 1 single bed. went to reception to complain, nothing they could do as they were fully booked. The room was absolutely filthy. There was still hair in the shower from previous occupant. My two kids had to top and tail in the bed only had 3 pillows, as room as only for 3 people. The window was cracked. The t.v had a French plug on with no adapter. We did not have the breakfast as if the room was anything to go by I could not trust the standards. the corridors leading to the rooms smelt of damp. do not stay here. would have gone some where else but had already spent 20 hours in car coming back from France.

  • Paula W

  • September 2016

One nights stay

We booked this hotel as we couldn't get in at the premier inn.

It was cheap and all I can say is,you get what you pay for. Its not what we usually go for and we won't be staying there again. Its a shame as the staff were very polite and helpful.

  • p turner

  • September 2016

Value for money

Price superb breakfast, good room bit small, dated but good value for what we paid.

Only sleep there.

  • Andy M

  • September 2016

My opinion of stay in the Carlton Hotel

Hotel is dated but was generally very clean apart from a few cob webs on the ceiling i assume the cleaner must be short!.

However, the hotel is in a superb location and the free car park is a benefit. of course you only get what you pay for and it is good value for money including breakfast even if there was no jam.

  • Georges D

  • September 2016

The Carlton Hotel


  • A Brewer

  • September 2016

A very disappointing experience

From outside hotel looked fine.

Car park was just rough rocks but assumed it was a WIP. My room was nicely decorated and the bedding dated but was fresh and clean with a decent mattress. That's the upside. The downside is-

The carpet needed a good clean

The cold tap had the top missing and only trickled out when turned on full

The hot tap didn't work at all. The shower had no hot after either, even though I ran it for a while and tried every configuration. The room had been one large one divided into two and the partition wall was so thin I heard every single word the couple in the next room said. I had a long drive so hit the sheets around ten, but was kept awake most of the night by their talking and then their snoring. In addition to all that, although it is advertised as having a dining room they told me they didn't do food, so I had to go out and find somewhere. As it was a Sunday there was a Pizza Hut or a very long walk. I've stayed in many hotels in various parts of the world and this just doesn't cut it.