No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stags Head

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Bowness on Windermere, LA23 3DG
Situated in Bowness on Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District the Stags Head Hotel is unique in the area for its atmosphere, the hotel offers a contemporary atmosphere in a traditional setting
Picture of The Stags Head , Bowness on Windermere at LateRooms
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not ideal for children
We stayed for one night and booked 2 family rooms. The hotel was pretty much what we expected but we were lucky we had rooms on higher floor as there is a nightclub downstairs. Food was good, hotel could do with a facelift but overall you get what you pay for. I wouldn't stay again with children for fear we could get a low floor room which would be very noisy.

Reviewed by
M Blake

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The noise coming from the bar and nightclub was beyond belief until approx 2am. Would never return had a terrible nights sleep and was shattered next day

Reviewed by
elaine h

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location in the hub of boweness. Not suitable for young families but ideal for party bookings and those wanting to experience the nightlife in boweness

Reviewed by
howard w

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely brilliant stay. Family of 4 with 3 children, all catered for. Will come again.
Mum, sons ages 20, and 9 and daughter aged 11. Greeted by a warm welcome, room ready, clean, comfy and really nice. Breakfast and lunch excellent. Very comfy warm and soundproof room...
Just excellent and cant wait to return! Have already recommended to family and friends!

Reviewed by
ALLISON CRAIG

From York, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel. We stayed in the family room. The room was clean and nice. The family room is on about the 3rd floor and there is no lift..which can be a problem if you have a pram

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night ina single room
very small dark room. carpet was stained. the sheet was too small for the bed and only one pillow. no bedside light or shelf. no attempt at decoration. the tv wasn't programed so I was unable to watch anything. Breakfast was late and chaotic. staff oblivous to their customers and continued private conversations in loud voices.

Reviewed by
Marion H

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good and bad
Bedroom was fine but the ensuite was in poor condition mouldy sealant in shower. Very basic sink and toilet that was passed sell by date. Unlike the photos put on late rooms. Very disappointing but the good breakfast ,clean sheets and towels and comfy bed made the stay not so bad. Need to mention not all the rooms are up to the standard on the photos.

Reviewed by
jacqueline m

From milton keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is very "tired" and needs a complete reburb. Our room was damp,bed was lumpy, no bedside lamps, had to get out of bed to turn light off and the bathroom was dirty and extremely small. In a few words "Don't go there"!!! Oh and beware there is a nightclub that is in the basement.

Reviewed by
V O'Brien

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no lamp
the hotel is very central no good for parking the rom was ok apart from the fact you had no bedside lamp so you had to get up and put out the light also there was no hand set for tv bathroom was small but fine

Reviewed by
s grant

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely short break
Enjoyed every minute of our stay there . Friendly staff good breakfast Very clean room wish I had remembered to leave a tip for the cleaner she deserved one ( sorry )
Night club below didn't bother us one bit even though we heard it slightly and the people leaving. The lady door person was very friendly and excellent at moving people on quickly and as quietly as possible . Will definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
Ruth U

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next