No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stags Head

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Bowness on Windermere, LA23 3DG
Situated in Bowness on Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District the Stags Head Hotel is unique in the area for its atmosphere, the hotel offers a contemporary atmosphere in a traditional setting
Picture of The Stags Head , Bowness on Windermere at LateRooms
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is very "tired" and needs a complete reburb. Our room was damp,bed was lumpy, no bedside lamps, had to get out of bed to turn light off and the bathroom was dirty and extremely small. In a few words "Don't go there"!!! Oh and beware there is a nightclub that is in the basement.

Reviewed by
V O'Brien

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no lamp
the hotel is very central no good for parking the rom was ok apart from the fact you had no bedside lamp so you had to get up and put out the light also there was no hand set for tv bathroom was small but fine

Reviewed by
s grant

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely short break
Enjoyed every minute of our stay there . Friendly staff good breakfast Very clean room wish I had remembered to leave a tip for the cleaner she deserved one ( sorry )
Night club below didn't bother us one bit even though we heard it slightly and the people leaving. The lady door person was very friendly and excellent at moving people on quickly and as quietly as possible . Will definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
Ruth U

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stag
Need to make it clear that noise will travel throughout the hotel from the nightclub downstairs. Fix the shower in The Windermere suite. It Doesn't work ! Looks good though! Expensive for what you get. Better rooms elsewhere and cheaper.

Reviewed by
P Halliwell

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and bad.
The hotel is in a great location, there is a cheap car-park nearby (£7 for 24hrs and local shops/bars attractions however the hotel looks run-down. When we first entered the room we could smell mould and this was clearly evident under the window as the wallpaperwas discolured. We got the same smell from within the bathroom but couldn't see any mould. The room didn't match any of the pictures provided by the hotel website and although i am aware they cannot show all rooms i feel that i was slightly misled. The breakfast in the morning was great though.

Reviewed by
Scott C

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotels bar was open late and noisy, it also had karaoke which ran until midnight, therefore very noisy, which travelled throughout the rooms and disturbed us on both nights so bad that we had to request a room change and a refund. this information was not advertised, if it was i would not have booked this hotel, the manager dealt with my complaint very well.

Reviewed by
Lisa K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
I've stayed in the stags head a few times now and can't fault it! Great rooms, fantastic meals (evening and breakfast)

Reviewed by
d davies

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Less than a minute walk to the lake, shops and bars make this hotel a great location and the B & B was real value for money.

Reviewed by
chris h

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2