No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
Abbey Road , Barrow in Furness, LA14 5QR
A landmark, 19th century venue that's been at the premium end of Barrow's
hotels for over 140 years. Including an award winning cask ale bar &
restaurant, subterranean live music venue (free entry to hotel guests) and
a large function suite; the hotel attracts discerning visitors from across
South Cumbria and the UK. The hotel has a rich heritage with visiting
dignitaries over the years including Charlie Chaplin, DH Lawrence and Cary
Grant, all enjoying the Duke's legendary hospitality.

Re-invented in the 21st Century, this 4 star hotel boasts thirty four,
luxury en-suite bedrooms. All feature designer bathrooms, flat screen
televisions, over-sized ultra comfortable beds, desks and free wi-fi
internet connection. Our glass lift serves all three floors and room
service is available 24 hours per day. We offer free parking in our
designated car park situated 25 yards from the hotel.

The hotel is superbly situated on the edge of Barrow's town centre, only
100 yards from the central train station and in easy walking distance to a
host of Barrow pubs & restaurants. We are also ideally located for visitors
to South Lakes Wild Animal Park, Furness Abbey, Barrow's Dock Museum, a
host of golf clubs and the nearby Lake District.
Picture of The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, Barrow in Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Hotel & staff very good but wouldn't stay again because of the car park location ( car was scratched )

Reviewed by
Sharon W

From Chester le street, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel in Barrow in Furness
We stayed here whilst visiting some friends who recommended the Duke of Edinburgh to us. We arrived early (midday) and I asked at reception what time check in was. I was told 3 o'clock but that he would do his best to have our room ready for 1o'clock. We went out for an hour and when we returned our room was ready and we were able to check in. We were also given an upgrade to an executive room which was amazing. The bed was really comfortable, the temperature of the room was perfect and we had the best nights sleep! Everything was clean even though there were workmen on the lower floors of the hotel. Can't fault this hotel really friendly staff and a nice bar to end your night in. Thanks to everyone at the hotel.

Reviewed by
Nina C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding, well led & managed staff
From the first contact with reception, the first encounter at the bar, at breakfast and at dinner the staff were all friendly, accommodating and very helpful. High quality individuals showing all the hallmarks of excellent leadership. We have not experienced better.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Impressed
The holtel was lovely and the service was fantastic. The only negative was the breakfast in the morning was cheap beans and sauces, but evrything else was excellent

Reviewed by
linda wood

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Experience
A good standard comfortable room in a welcoming establishment. Excellent bar & food options.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, excellent service, bar, breakfast and facilities. Will definitely stay again.
I thought everything about our stay (the service, room facilities, bathroom, the bed, hotel bar, breakfast etc etc) was excellent - we have stayed before and knew it would be. Wife noticed some of the furniture in the room needed dusting and maybe the walls could do with refreshing with a coat of paint. I thought she was being a bit picky but thought I should include it in the review.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks again 'Duke'
My wife and I visit Barrow occasionally and will stay only at The Duke of Edinburgh. Rooms are clean and warm. The hotel is centrally located with dedicated parking. Food and service is fabulous.
On this occasion we had one problem which was sorted out immediately by the night porter Kevin. Another resident woke us at 0315 in the morning trying to get into his room.
I called reception and spoke to Kevin who resolved this almost instantly.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
D Higgins

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great comfortable stay!
I'd highly recommend this hotel. Easy to locate, quick check in and check out and made to feel very welcome. Clean rooms, no noise and a great breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Offered a free upgrade on arrival. Staff were polite and helpful. Very clean moder hotel. Will be staying again in the new year.

Reviewed by
A Pressley

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable quality hotel
Pleased I chose this hotel on my recent visit to Barrow. Comfortable accommodation and bar/restaurant had friendly atmosphere and served good food.

Reviewed by
Dianne O

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next