No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Edinburgh

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Abbey Road , Barrow in Furness, LA14 5QR
From it's launch in 1871 the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel attracted luminaries from across the globe. Visiting dignitaries to the shipyards, celebrities, politicians, writers and aristocracy flocked to the Duke. Visitors including Charlie Chaplin, DH Lawrence and Cary Grant enjoyed the Duke's now legendary hospitality. In the late 19th Century/early 20th Century the hotel offered two bars, a dining area, ballroom function suite, forty guest bedrooms and a chambermaid quarter that accommodated over twenty staff.
Picture of The Duke of Edinburgh, Barrow in Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, nice big shower, and a comfy bed
This is a lovely hotel, the car parking is a bit of an issue, as you have to cross a busy road twice, not ideal for elderly or infirm. The staff seemed a bit half hearted with their service, no smile on arrival, had to chase toast for breakfast, only little things but other places are more on the ball with customer service. The bed was lovely and big and comfortable, complimentary toiletries are great. Great hotel, good value, food OK, give the breakfast coffee a miss as its usually been sat there too long.

Reviewed by
D Knock

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice and friendly hotel in a central location. I've stayed here before and have always received good service.

Reviewed by
Carole E

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it
£85 for an executive room is a bargain.ive been to b&b's that cost that price with no luxury.
Bathroom is beautiful and is the only hotel ive ever stayed in.where ive had a bath.we had a walk in shower.
The mattress was perfect. I need one..best sleep ive had in a long time..large screen led tv was a plus.sofa.plenty of cishions and pillows
the building is fantastically restored to tje highest standard.
Staff are polite and helpful
breakfast was hot with ample coffee
i will most certainly book again

Reviewed by
rachael wells

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

generally good - poor bed
We were upgraded to a superior room after booking a standard room which was great and the room décor and size etc... were good.
The main disappointment was the quality of the mattress. It was very old and had two large depressions either side. Springs easily felt through top of mattress and therefore not possible to have a good night's sleep. So the most important aspect of any hotel room was the point that let it all down in this instance. Room very hot (24 degrees) too and 6 inch opening on single window made it difficult to cool.

Reviewed by
J Mills

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Hotel & staff very good but wouldn't stay again because of the car park location ( car was scratched )

Reviewed by
Sharon W

From Chester le street, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel in Barrow in Furness
We stayed here whilst visiting some friends who recommended the Duke of Edinburgh to us. We arrived early (midday) and I asked at reception what time check in was. I was told 3 o'clock but that he would do his best to have our room ready for 1o'clock. We went out for an hour and when we returned our room was ready and we were able to check in. We were also given an upgrade to an executive room which was amazing. The bed was really comfortable, the temperature of the room was perfect and we had the best nights sleep! Everything was clean even though there were workmen on the lower floors of the hotel. Can't fault this hotel really friendly staff and a nice bar to end your night in. Thanks to everyone at the hotel.

Reviewed by
Nina C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding, well led & managed staff
From the first contact with reception, the first encounter at the bar, at breakfast and at dinner the staff were all friendly, accommodating and very helpful. High quality individuals showing all the hallmarks of excellent leadership. We have not experienced better.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Impressed
The holtel was lovely and the service was fantastic. The only negative was the breakfast in the morning was cheap beans and sauces, but evrything else was excellent

Reviewed by
linda wood

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Experience
A good standard comfortable room in a welcoming establishment. Excellent bar & food options.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, excellent service, bar, breakfast and facilities. Will definitely stay again.
I thought everything about our stay (the service, room facilities, bathroom, the bed, hotel bar, breakfast etc etc) was excellent - we have stayed before and knew it would be. Wife noticed some of the furniture in the room needed dusting and maybe the walls could do with refreshing with a coat of paint. I thought she was being a bit picky but thought I should include it in the review.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next