No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Edinburgh

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Abbey Road , Barrow in Furness, LA14 5QR
This grand Victorian hotel was launched in 1871 as Barrow's landmark venue.
Attracting dignitaries from across the globe including Charlie Chaplin, DH
Lawrence and Cary Grant, the hotel enjoyed a legendary reputation in
Cumbria.

In 2006 the Duke joined the Lancaster Brewery stable of hotels and over an
eight year period has been refurbished from roof to cellar. It now offers
42 lovely en-suite hotel rooms, a grand cask ale bar and a lovely cellar
dining & cocktail lounge. All this plus free parking in our private car
park, free wifi and free breakfast for all our guests.

Located in the centre of Barrow in Furness, 100 metres from the train
station, just 20 minutes from the Lake District and in very close vicinity
to South Lakes Safari Zoo.
Picture of The Duke of Edinburgh, Barrow in Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Experience
A good standard comfortable room in a welcoming establishment. Excellent bar & food options.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, excellent service, bar, breakfast and facilities. Will definitely stay again.
I thought everything about our stay (the service, room facilities, bathroom, the bed, hotel bar, breakfast etc etc) was excellent - we have stayed before and knew it would be. Wife noticed some of the furniture in the room needed dusting and maybe the walls could do with refreshing with a coat of paint. I thought she was being a bit picky but thought I should include it in the review.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks again 'Duke'
My wife and I visit Barrow occasionally and will stay only at The Duke of Edinburgh. Rooms are clean and warm. The hotel is centrally located with dedicated parking. Food and service is fabulous.
On this occasion we had one problem which was sorted out immediately by the night porter Kevin. Another resident woke us at 0315 in the morning trying to get into his room.
I called reception and spoke to Kevin who resolved this almost instantly.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
D Higgins

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great comfortable stay!
I'd highly recommend this hotel. Easy to locate, quick check in and check out and made to feel very welcome. Clean rooms, no noise and a great breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Offered a free upgrade on arrival. Staff were polite and helpful. Very clean moder hotel. Will be staying again in the new year.

Reviewed by
A Pressley

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable quality hotel
Pleased I chose this hotel on my recent visit to Barrow. Comfortable accommodation and bar/restaurant had friendly atmosphere and served good food.

Reviewed by
Dianne O

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic staff, clean and modern room with comfy bed. Was booked through Laterooms so got a great deal, however had an evening meal in the hotel and it was great value for money and lovely food. Would definitely recommend to people.

Reviewed by
michelle j

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
I've stayed at the Duke many times, with consistently good levels of service, cleanliness and quality.
Most of all I look forward to the really good breakfast!

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
The hotel was clean and welcoming. The room and bathroom used were both very comfortable and made for a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
julie D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice independant Hotel feel. Weloming staff, nice rooms and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Steve D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next