No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Edinburgh

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Abbey Road , Barrow in Furness, LA14 5QR
From it's launch in 1871 the Duke of Edinburgh Hotel attracted luminaries from across the globe. Visiting dignitaries to the shipyards, celebrities, politicians, writers and aristocracy flocked to the Duke. Visitors including Charlie Chaplin, DH Lawrence and Cary Grant enjoyed the Duke's now legendary hospitality. In the late 19th Century/early 20th Century the hotel offered two bars, a dining area, ballroom function suite, forty guest bedrooms and a chambermaid quarter that accommodated over twenty staff.
Picture of The Duke of Edinburgh, Barrow in Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thanks again 'Duke'
My wife and I visit Barrow occasionally and will stay only at The Duke of Edinburgh. Rooms are clean and warm. The hotel is centrally located with dedicated parking. Food and service is fabulous.
On this occasion we had one problem which was sorted out immediately by the night porter Kevin. Another resident woke us at 0315 in the morning trying to get into his room.
I called reception and spoke to Kevin who resolved this almost instantly.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
D Higgins

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great comfortable stay!
I'd highly recommend this hotel. Easy to locate, quick check in and check out and made to feel very welcome. Clean rooms, no noise and a great breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
Sarah T

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Offered a free upgrade on arrival. Staff were polite and helpful. Very clean moder hotel. Will be staying again in the new year.

Reviewed by
A Pressley

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable quality hotel
Pleased I chose this hotel on my recent visit to Barrow. Comfortable accommodation and bar/restaurant had friendly atmosphere and served good food.

Reviewed by
Dianne O

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic staff, clean and modern room with comfy bed. Was booked through Laterooms so got a great deal, however had an evening meal in the hotel and it was great value for money and lovely food. Would definitely recommend to people.

Reviewed by
michelle j

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
I've stayed at the Duke many times, with consistently good levels of service, cleanliness and quality.
Most of all I look forward to the really good breakfast!

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
The hotel was clean and welcoming. The room and bathroom used were both very comfortable and made for a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
julie D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice independant Hotel feel. Weloming staff, nice rooms and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Steve D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend to your friends
I booked this hotel with 2 days to spare and was pleasantly surprised with quality of the accommodation.
Newly refurbished hotel.
Good lively bar in the evening with live music downstairs.
Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Higgins

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival we were told we had an up grade, which was excellent. all the staff were most helpful and very pleasant.

Reviewed by
L Nichols

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next