Reviews - The Duke of Edinburgh


Abbey Road, Barrow in Furness, LA14 5QR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • J Mills

  • October 2014

generally good - poor bed

We were upgraded to a superior room after booking a standard room which was great and the room d├ęcor and size etc...

were good.

The main disappointment was the quality of the mattress. It was very old and had two large depressions either side. Springs easily felt through top of mattress and therefore not possible to have a good night's sleep. So the most important aspect of any hotel room was the point that let it all down in this instance. Room very hot (24 degrees) too and 6 inch opening on single window made it difficult to cool.

  • Sharon W

  • June 2014

Great hotel

Hotel & staff very good but wouldn't stay again because of the car park location ( car was scratched )

  • Nina C

  • May 2014

Fantastic hotel in Barrow in Furness

We stayed here whilst visiting some friends who recommended the Duke of Edinburgh to us.

We arrived early (midday) and I asked at reception what time check in was. I was told 3 o'clock but that he would do his best to have our room ready for 1o'clock. We went out for an hour and when we returned our room was ready and we were able to check in. We were also given an upgrade to an executive room which was amazing. The bed was really comfortable, the temperature of the room was perfect and we had the best nights sleep. Everything was clean even though there were workmen on the lower floors of the hotel. Can't fault this hotel really friendly staff and a nice bar to end your night in. Thanks to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stephen W

  • May 2014

Outstanding, well led & managed staff

From the first contact with reception, the first encounter at the bar, at breakfast and at dinner the staff were all friendly, accommodating and very helpful.

High quality individuals showing all the hallmarks of excellent leadership. We have not experienced better.

  • linda wood

  • April 2014

Very Impressed

The holtel was lovely and the service was fantastic.

The only negative was the breakfast in the morning was cheap beans and sauces, but evrything else was excellent

  • Alan B

  • April 2014

A Good Experience

A good standard comfortable room in a welcoming establishment.

Excellent bar & food options.

  • Stephen B

  • March 2014

Great hotel, excellent service, bar, breakfast and facilities. Will definitely stay again.

I thought everything about our stay (the service, room facilities, bathroom, the bed, hotel bar, breakfast etc etc) was excellent - we have stayed before and knew it would be.

Wife noticed some of the furniture in the room needed dusting and maybe the walls could do with refreshing with a coat of paint. I thought she was being a bit picky but thought I should include it in the review.

  • D Higgins

  • March 2014

Thanks again 'Duke'

My wife and I visit Barrow occasionally and will stay only at The Duke of Edinburgh.

Rooms are clean and warm. The hotel is centrally located with dedicated parking. Food and service is fabulous. On this occasion we had one problem which was sorted out immediately by the night porter Kevin. Another resident woke us at 0315 in the morning trying to get into his room. I called reception and spoke to Kevin who resolved this almost instantly. Thank you.

  • Sarah T

  • January 2014

A great comfortable stay!

I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Easy to locate, quick check in and check out and made to feel very welcome. Clean rooms, no noise and a great breakfast in the morning.

  • A Pressley

  • December 2013

Highly recommended

Offered a free upgrade on arrival.

Staff were polite and helpful. Very clean moder hotel. Will be staying again in the new year.