No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
Abbey Road , Barrow in Furness, LA14 5QR
A landmark, 19th century venue that's been at the premium end of Barrow's
hotels for over 140 years. Including an award winning cask ale bar &
restaurant, subterranean live music venue (free entry to hotel guests) and
a large function suite; the hotel attracts discerning visitors from across
South Cumbria and the UK. The hotel has a rich heritage with visiting
dignitaries over the years including Charlie Chaplin, DH Lawrence and Cary
Grant, all enjoying the Duke's legendary hospitality.

Re-invented in the 21st Century, this 4 star hotel boasts thirty four,
luxury en-suite bedrooms. All feature designer bathrooms, flat screen
televisions, over-sized ultra comfortable beds, desks and free wi-fi
internet connection. Our glass lift serves all three floors and room
service is available 24 hours per day. We offer free parking in our
designated car park situated 25 yards from the hotel.

The hotel is superbly situated on the edge of Barrow's town centre, only
100 yards from the central train station and in easy walking distance to a
host of Barrow pubs & restaurants. We are also ideally located for visitors
to South Lakes Wild Animal Park, Furness Abbey, Barrow's Dock Museum, a
host of golf clubs and the nearby Lake District.
Picture of The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, Barrow in Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable quality hotel
Pleased I chose this hotel on my recent visit to Barrow. Comfortable accommodation and bar/restaurant had friendly atmosphere and served good food.

Reviewed by
Dianne O

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic staff, clean and modern room with comfy bed. Was booked through Laterooms so got a great deal, however had an evening meal in the hotel and it was great value for money and lovely food. Would definitely recommend to people.

Reviewed by
michelle j

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
I've stayed at the Duke many times, with consistently good levels of service, cleanliness and quality.
Most of all I look forward to the really good breakfast!

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
The hotel was clean and welcoming. The room and bathroom used were both very comfortable and made for a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
julie D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice independant Hotel feel. Weloming staff, nice rooms and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Steve D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend to your friends
I booked this hotel with 2 days to spare and was pleasantly surprised with quality of the accommodation.
Newly refurbished hotel.
Good lively bar in the evening with live music downstairs.
Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Higgins

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival we were told we had an up grade, which was excellent. all the staff were most helpful and very pleasant.

Reviewed by
L Nichols

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, modern, comfortable hotel
Stayed at the Duke Of Edinburgh for one night for as we went to South Lakes Safari park. £65 standard room was reasonable value for money. Room 202 was on the second floor and was modern and clean. Bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The only disappointing thing was my car got vandalised in the hotel car park and had to get a windscreen replacement - not something that is the hotels fault (they were helpful in trying to assist me), but maybe something to be aware of.

Reviewed by
Daniel S

From Annan, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, room & wine
Hotel really near train station which was great, rooms very spacious and the beds were so comfy. The attached bar was a bonus & the wine was lovely.
The only downside was dust in the bedside cabinets & the bath could have done with a better clean, however despite this I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Susan W

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and the stay was excelent value for money.

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Pwllheli, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next