No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alltshellach

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Alltshellach , Onich, PH33 6SA
Alltshellach is a fine Highland residence, situated on the dramatic shores of Loch Leven, close to Glen Coe. With magnificent mountain views, excellent accommodation and a superb indoor pool, it is extremely popular with all outdoor enthusiasts.

During your stay you can relax in our comfortable lounges, enjoy a drink in our Highland Bar, or soak up the inspirational views from our indoor swimming pool. For walkers we have a well equipped boot and drying room, and an excellent selection of maps, guidebooks and walk directions which guests can borrow
Picture of Alltshellach, Onich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly Reasonable
My army-officer son and I were doing a round trip from Edinburgh to exercise my 30-year-old Morgan sports car before laying it up for the winter.
We had two single rooms which were perfectly clean and comfortable with wonderful views. On arrival, mine was cold due to the window being jammed open by trapped curtains: easily remedied---- if a 70-year-old climbing onto a desk is "easy"! Soon warm. The bar was pricey and the draught beer options were unavailable. Breakfast was skimpy. For example, instead of bacon, egg, tomato mushroom, my son requested "poached eggs": he got one! However, there was ample tea/coffee, toast, cereal and fruit. On the whole, comfortable and good value apart from the bar. My son no doubt thought it excellent value because I paid!

Reviewed by
GEORGE SUTHERLAND

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

7 lovely days
A bit thank-you to the Alltshellach-team, for making my holidays to a very special and amazing time

Reviewed by
Daniela M

From 79689 Maulburg, Germany
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel style rooms with most guests on walking holidays
This large old house and guest room extension was formerly a Bishop's palace. There is a swimming pool which is a bonus and the rooms are standard 'hotel style', large and comfortable. It was surprising to arrive mid-afternoon and find no reception but just a key and letter on a table, and it took me a while to work out the ethos of the place, which was that this lodge mainly accommodates members of a holiday club with a particular interest in walking. Unused rooms are sold via LateRooms and similar to casual travellers like myself.
Breakfast was a communal experience with everyone around large tables, with lots of choices for continental and cooked breakfast. However, remember the walking club clientèle! Thus at breakfast when I was asked by a fellow guest where I would be walking today and answered, 'up and down Fort William High Street', this was definitely not the expected answer. As long as you are happy to join the breakfast conversation about the best walks in the area, this bed and breakfast is good value for money, warm and comfortable. The location ,about half a mile off the main bus route, could be tricky without your own transport. An evening meal is provided at an additional cost but I did not take this, since there are many good places to eat within easy driving distance. I especially enjoyed the Kings House Hotel in Glencoe, where the wild deer, including a stag, were grazing in the areas close to the hotel in October. Also the Glencoe visitor centre is worth visiting and there is a fascinating land rover tour 'off the beaten track', for those who might not want to walk the West Highland way, but want to see and hear more about the area from a knowledgeable guide.
This is a great place for a short break or as a base to explore the Highlands and Islands, with boats to the Small Isles from Mallaig, one hours drive north, and to the larger islands from Oban, about one hours drive south.

Reviewed by
Catriona R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay, superb location
Walking Buachaille Etive Mor and Bidean independently, I wanted somewhere close and comfortable. Alltshellach was first class. Room excellent and spotless, staff welcoming and helpful. Pool brilliant after a long drive or tough walk. Communal breakfast seating (main business seems to be activity parties) may not be to everyone's taste, but food and service was terrific.

Reviewed by
J Dixon

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very freindly staff, good rooms nice clean rooms

Reviewed by
A Skippen

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall impression of hotel
Stunning location. Beautiful house with lots of potential. A little shabby in places. Great size rooms but could do with some updating. Fantastic views from back of hotel. Very disappointed with the fact that there was no evening meal option and no bar facilities especially as it was on a Saturday night in the peak season. We were told that there was no staff that weekend (24/8). Good overall value for money. Breakfast was adequate but nothing to write home about. Didn't like the shared table idea. Worth investing in individual and smaller tables for guests who are nervous about sharing tables with strangers.

Reviewed by
J Devlin

From Wishaw, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
This was a lovely hotel with nice clean room and bathroom, the pool and jacuzzi made it more appealing. the huge disappointment was that the staff had been given the weekend off so there were no bar and no evening meals being served, after our hill climb we could not get a table in a local restaurant so had to go to Fort William on both nights which was a major disappointment as we would have booked a hotel in FW should we wanted to stay there. As the staff had the weekend off our room/bathroom wasn't cleaned and no clean towels were exchanged. The breakfast was good but had to share a table with other guests. I had read this in reviews so requested our own table but this was not adhered to. Pity as the hotel is so nice in a beautiful setting but these things really put us off returning.

Reviewed by
Wendy P

From Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I night stay
No meals available for the night we stayed, good information about nearby hotels that served food, breakfast excellent 10 to a table all good company. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
David McGinlay

From Bromley, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Highland bolthole!
Alltshellach is a perfect hideaway looking onto a Scottish Lake tranquility guaranteed

Reviewed by
Patricia C

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont be put off by the outside
The manager was so helpful, the room was modern clean and tidy. I think the hotel is more geared up for walkers and you have to sit on a large table with others which is fine if you have something in common. We stayed again on our way back from John o groats.

Reviewed by
v wallis

From rayleigh, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next