No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grainger Hotel

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ
Wi- Fi is FREE FOR ALL !!
Grainger Hotel is located less than a mile from the centre of Newcastle. The night life in the city is legendary, with pubs, clubs and bars liberally scattered among the many restaurants. You may want to enjoy a night of live performances at the Theatre Royal, Tyne Theatre or maybe your favourite band is performing at the City Hall or the Telewest Arena. Graingerville's central location is ideal for all these attractions. If shopping is your bag, then why not experience the Eldon Square shopping centre in the City Centre or the famous MetroCentre, the largest shopping and leisure centre in Europe! The Metro Centre is just 3 miles south west of Newcastle. If you enjoy football, St James' Park is just a short walk away. After a good football match the walk back is perhaps a little longer! If the countryside is your tonic, then use Grainger Hotel as your base. You can be in the beautiful North East Country side within a few minutes and there is plenty to see to, the Angel of the North, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter Fame, and much much more than this web site can do credit to. See the many bridges over the Tyne and most recently the Millennium bridge with it's winking eye! Newcastle also has the remains of a castle, you can see the remains of the walls and the Keep still exists. And don't forget Hadrian's Wall - you can see the remains of Roman forts and the wall itself. Grainger Hotel can be your base while you enjoy the delights of Newcastle City and the beautiful North East countryside. ''''Continental Breakfast is available @ £2/Person/Day''''''' . Car parking is available on site @ £5.00 per night. Free WiFi Access available ( Grainger Hotel Does not take any responsibility if your device fail's to connect with wireless or if not able to find signals inside the Rooms ). Better reserve your room! ***IMPORTANT*** There is a fix charge of £120.00 for smoking in the rooms. A 2% Transaction Fee is charged on all Credit/Debit Card payments.
Picture of Grainger Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay at the Grainger
All very good value. Firm bed and soft quilt, good pillows. Clean and tidy room. Very pleased with the whole experience. Can't understand the complaints I read about this hotel. I found it first class and amazing value for money. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Jenny L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No where near what I expected or was hoping for at the price given
1 room we had was freezing, all Rooms had no locks on bathroom/toilet doors or doors didn't even shut, 1 room leaked from ceiling guessing was when room above was in shower, rooms had very little space especially the double bed ones, car park very small, people running about corridors early morning, banging on doors and people using rude and disgusting language

Reviewed by
Anthony P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grainger Hotel
Excellent service

Reviewed by
Atanaska Atanasova

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value friendly and clean
This is a well located hotel. The value for a twin room was superb. Room was clean and well appointed with a new sleek bethroom. Will be using again.

Reviewed by
R Hughes

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I did not feel safe in the hotel, could not find out where to go in case of fire.
We looked for a place less than 500 meters from the centre, and according to the webside this was, but it seemed to be a fair walk. Paid the bill, got no receipt and they did not mention an amount (felt like i could have paid anything)

Reviewed by
C Rattray

From Bergen op Zoom, Netherlands
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well, The grainger! As I checked in, I soon realised the grainger was a unique hotel.
I booked the grainger for a stag do, it certainly left a mark on everyone and me. I was the one getting ripped for booking it. We mentioned it to the taxi drivers they couldn't stop laughing! Despite reading other reviews, we were still upbeat about the trip. As we were basing our potential stay on the reviews, it was suprisingly decent. The rooms were clean and we had a bathroom in each room we booked. Nothing massively wrong, it served a purpose.

Reviewed by
sean stafford

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grainger Hotel Room 2
The room was tidy
the Mattress was awful, as it was just a cheap one that the springs dig into you.
I was abit shocked at the fact we was given the disabled ground floor room, but I didnt really want to make a fuss about it.
there was no cupboard to put my things, so I had to put them in a pile on the floor which I think is terrible.

Reviewed by
f ridley

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable hotel
Hotel room was slightly on the small side but was fine for one night. Clean and everything worked. I had to leave early for a flight so did not get breakfast

Reviewed by
R Smith

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but tacky
The hotel had a lot of wet paint around, which you could smell the fumes everywhere.
The stairs were very loud going up and down them.
The rooms were ridiculous. You couldn't move around them at all.
The shower was filthy, aswell as the sink and toilet.
Also there was no way to get the heating on, the windows didn't keep out the wind very well.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not a good hotel for the money
Over priced. Room not like pictures on website . Mattress on bed old and uncomfortable.parking in secure car park very difficult indeed. Overpriced hotel

Reviewed by
thomas m

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next