No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grainger Hotel

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ
Grainger Hotel is located less than a mile from the centre of Newcastle. The night life in the city is legendary, with pubs, clubs and bars liberally scattered among the many restaurants. You may want to enjoy a night of live performances at the Theatre Royal, Tyne Theatre or maybe your favourite band is performing at the City Hall or the Telewest Arena. Graingerville's central location is ideal for all these attractions. If shopping is your bag, then why not experience the Eldon Square shopping centre in the City Centre or the famous MetroCentre, the largest shopping and leisure centre in Europe! The Metro Centre is just 3 miles south west of Newcastle. If you enjoy football, St James' Park is just a short walk away. After a good football match the walk back is perhaps a little longer! If the countryside is your tonic, then use Grainger Hotel as your base. You can be in the beautiful North East Country side within a few minutes and there is plenty to see to, the Angel of the North, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter Fame, and much much more than this web site can do credit to. See the many bridges over the Tyne and most recently the Millennium bridge with it's winking eye! Newcastle also has the remains of a castle, you can see the remains of the walls and the Keep still exists. And don't forget Hadrian's Wall - you can see the remains of Roman forts and the wall itself. Grainger Hotel can be your base while you enjoy the delights of Newcastle City and the beautiful North East countryside. ''''Continental Breakfast is available @ £2/Person/Day''''''' . Car parking is available on site @ £5.00 per night. WiFi Access available @ £2 charge ( Grainger Hotel Does not take any responsibility if your device fail's to connect with wireless or if not able to find signals inside the Rooms ). Better reserve your room! ***IMPORTANT*** There is a fix charge of £120.00 for smoking in the rooms. A 2% Transaction Fee is charged on all Credit/Debit Card payments.
Picture of Grainger Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 148 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
Cheap, clean, comfortable, single room. Pleasant staff. Exactly what I needed. Cheap ethnic food just a short walk away. Decor a little dated but you're not coming here to hang around the hotel. Its a value for money place to sleep.

Reviewed by
Patrick G

From Nairobi, Kenya
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last resort
Needs upgrading and cleaning

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and cheap
seen a few bad reviews.but went anyway.close to centre.i found the hotel good for the price.my room was very clean.i cant complain about anythin to be honest.room small,but its only to sleep in.good value for money and it was clean.

Reviewed by
n hodgson

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying for the night.
Myself and a friend stayed over for the night just to go out for a night over at Newcastle, I must say this Hotel is ideal as it is just located just outside the City Centre (20-30min walk at least without public transport)
The staff were really kind and pleasant and did what they could to make us enjoy our stay more.
Quality of the room was brilliant and basic as required and unexecptedly had our own prviate shower in the room as I believed my room order was supposed to be 'Shared' which was a surpisising thumbs up and a good choice of breakfast items to have also.
I would be happy to pay a visit for the hotel again and its worth good money - just got to look out for the discounts! :)

Reviewed by
James John D

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap comfortable but avoid the food
I was happy with everything apart from the "continental" breakfast. Best its best fruit was all that was available to me, but i am a fussy eater. I don't eat bread or milk there was no yogurt and the fruit left out was dry and bruised.

Reviewed by
L Carson

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small room
We frequently stayed here 2 or 3 years ago & was always satisfied with the room provided.
Alas, this time was different. Our "double" room was small. Indeed I had to breathe in to squeeze between the wall & bed to get in the bed! There was just one small window & it would only partially open due to scaffolding outside. The room was stifling in the heat, therefore I had very little sleep,

Reviewed by
W Lawson

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very small but very clean. The towels were soft and there there was a tea/coffee service in the room that had good quality cups and tea kettle. The parking lot is secure which was nice. You can walk to the downtown area easily. I would recommend this hotel for people who need a place to stay and aren't going to be spending much time in their room. Very clean.

Reviewed by
JILL C

From USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay

Reviewed by
richard edwards

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best hotel we've stayed at
We stayed at the Grainger Hotel for one night on our way down to York for our honeymoon. The room was cramped with curtains that didn't fit so there was a large gap where someone could see in from the outside. It was clean but only had two hand towels (luckily we had towels in our overnight bag) The continental breakfast was a bit sparse with only tea coffee and fruit juice with toast and cereal. The only main reason we chose the Grainger Hotel was the the price and the secure car parking at £5.00 extra. All in all not the best hotel we have stayed in and thankfully it was only one night.

Reviewed by
J Syme

From Leven, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK For a night on the town
Room was small but was clean enough, staff were helpful when TV didn't work and was an easy fix.
Perfect place for our night out and while I would not look out the hotel again if it was a good deal we would use again but would have to be cheap

Reviewed by
m foster

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next