No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grainger Hotel

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ
Grainger Hotel is located less than a mile from the centre of Newcastle. The night life in the city is legendary, with pubs, clubs and bars liberally scattered among the many restaurants. You may want to enjoy a night of live performances at the Theatre Royal, Tyne Theatre or maybe your favourite band is performing at the City Hall or the Telewest Arena. Graingerville's central location is ideal for all these attractions. If shopping is your bag, then why not experience the Eldon Square shopping centre in the City Centre or the famous MetroCentre, the largest shopping and leisure centre in Europe! The Metro Centre is just 3 miles south west of Newcastle. If you enjoy football, St James' Park is just a short walk away. After a good football match the walk back is perhaps a little longer! If the countryside is your tonic, then use Grainger Hotel as your base. You can be in the beautiful North East Country side within a few minutes and there is plenty to see to, the Angel of the North, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter Fame, and much much more than this web site can do credit to. See the many bridges over the Tyne and most recently the Millennium bridge with it's winking eye! Newcastle also has the remains of a castle, you can see the remains of the walls and the Keep still exists. And don't forget Hadrian's Wall - you can see the remains of Roman forts and the wall itself. Grainger Hotel can be your base while you enjoy the delights of Newcastle City and the beautiful North East countryside. ''''Continental Breakfast is available @ £2/Person/Day''''''' . Car parking is available on site @ £5.00 per night. WiFi Access available @ £2 charge ( Grainger Hotel Does not take any responsibility if your device fail's to connect with wireless or if not able to find signals inside the Rooms ). Better reserve your room! ***IMPORTANT*** There is a fix charge of £120.00 for smoking in the rooms. A 2% Transaction Fee is charged on all Credit/Debit Card payments.
Picture of Grainger Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 148 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay number 4
I think for what you are getting the price is good. There is no doubt that the hotel is clean and that the continental breakfast is good. It may be nice to have the option of a hot breakfast. However, the hotel is in need of sprucing up. The crout around the sinks is coming away, and in places it looks tired. That said, it met my needs, and I have stayed there several times now so.....

Reviewed by
S Garrish

From Preston, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what we thuoght
we was left waiting in reception 10 min before some one came room was clean and basic for price breakfast ok for price nothing to right home about would we go again NO

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldnt advise to stay
The drawers didnt have a bottom on them. And if they did it was cracked. The bathroom was a mess! Mould around the toilet and the shower had hairs in it.
I work in a hotel myself so may be over critical, but it wasnt up to my standard.
The furniture was old and mostly broken.
The breakfast wasnt fantastic. Very basic. Would have preferred a full english!!

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was a very simple basic establishment, with a greater feel of a youth hostel. As someone who arrived by the train and hence walking, the information about the location being very close to centre attractions was misleading, taking approximately an hour to walk to the hotel from the train station carrying our luggage. The room was very basic but clean. I didn't sleep particularly well with a hard mattress, constant drunken shouting from outside and frequent ambulance sirens from the hospital just up the road. The breakfast was very poor, little choice for a continental breakfast and a dyer quality of food. Wouldn't stay there again, not value for money for the price we paid.

Reviewed by
Janet E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean and respectable. it takes about 5 minutes in a taxi to reach the quayside. we had no noise or problems of any sort. will be sure to stay again.

Reviewed by
m urwin

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First visit to Newcastle
The accommodation was clean, comfortable and exactly what I required. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The secure car park (available at extra cost) was an excellent idea due to the road being busy 24/7. The extra cost was worth it for peace of mind. The only drawback was the traffic noise if you had a window open in the front rooms, but this was no obstacle to a decent sleep if you were tired enough.

Reviewed by
Roger G

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel for a short stay
A bit out of the centre, but very easy to travel to. The room was nice with a tv and expecially the bathroom was excellent! Only negative point would be the very bad signal of the internet in the room. There was basically no internet in my room, however there was in the common room downstairs. Breakfast was ok, not that much variety, but good enough to have a good start of the day.

Reviewed by
Daan M

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok.
Helpful staff; fairly OK rooms.

Reviewed by
A Sagua

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean basic b n b close to Newcastle centre. Friendly staff offer 24 hour reception which is comforting for a woman alone. Good facilities, clean and buffet breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
N Mulder

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
Cheap, clean, comfortable, single room. Pleasant staff. Exactly what I needed. Cheap ethnic food just a short walk away. Decor a little dated but you're not coming here to hang around the hotel. Its a value for money place to sleep.

Reviewed by
Patrick G

From Nairobi, Kenya
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next