No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grainger Hotel

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ
Grainger Hotel is located less than a mile from the centre of Newcastle. The night life in the city is legendary, with pubs, clubs and bars liberally scattered among the many restaurants. You may want to enjoy a night of live performances at the Theatre Royal, Tyne Theatre or maybe your favourite band is performing at the City Hall or the Telewest Arena. Graingerville's central location is ideal for all these attractions. If shopping is your bag, then why not experience the Eldon Square shopping centre in the City Centre or the famous MetroCentre, the largest shopping and leisure centre in Europe! The Metro Centre is just 3 miles south west of Newcastle. If you enjoy football, St James' Park is just a short walk away. After a good football match the walk back is perhaps a little longer! If the countryside is your tonic, then use Grainger Hotel as your base. You can be in the beautiful North East Country side within a few minutes and there is plenty to see to, the Angel of the North, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter Fame, and much much more than this web site can do credit to. See the many bridges over the Tyne and most recently the Millennium bridge with it's winking eye! Newcastle also has the remains of a castle, you can see the remains of the walls and the Keep still exists. And don't forget Hadrian's Wall - you can see the remains of Roman forts and the wall itself. Grainger Hotel can be your base while you enjoy the delights of Newcastle City and the beautiful North East countryside. ''''Continental Breakfast is available @ £2/Person/Day''''''' . Car parking is available on site @ £5.00 per night. WiFi Access available @ £2 charge ( Grainger Hotel Does not take any responsibility if your device fail's to connect with wireless or if not able to find signals inside the Rooms ). Better reserve your room! ***IMPORTANT*** There is a fix charge of £120.00 for smoking in the rooms. A 2% Transaction Fee is charged on all Credit/Debit Card payments.
Picture of Grainger Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 147 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had an ok time here was not too bad

Reviewed by
L Douthwaite

From Billingham, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grainger Hotel, A Quick Revue
On arrival we were greeted by the blunt question 'How would you like to pay, cash or card?' rather than 'Hello, how was your journey?'. Any hotel that wants payment upfront sets the alarm bells off immediately but to be honest everything was fine. It's a cheap hotel that is fine for a weekend on a budget. Small room with an en suite, not much room if you have two sizeable suitcases but as long as you don't spend too much time in the room it's not a big problem. Tea/coffee facilities and TV in the room so boxes ticked there. Breakfast is basic, cereal, toast, fruit and Mediera cake-essential for an authentic British breakfast! The reception is manned 24/7 and CCTV monitors every nook and cranny. Clean and tidy however the mattress in our room(111) needs replacing urgently, unless you like the sensation of sleeping on a sinking ship.

Reviewed by
David P

From Sweden
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid
This hotel is more of a hostel than a hotel. The decor was positively Victorian and one of our rooms you couldn't open the door more than a foot as the bed was in the way. It is a VERY noisy hotel and you will hear every car than passes, its on a busy road with emergency vehicles up and down all night. Most of the guests were stag and hen parties and they carry on the party through the night so if its a nights sleep you want avoid at all costs and staff don't seem to care if you do complain.
The breakfast was not continental, stale bread to toast, instant coffee and cereals with sour milk although we did help ourselves to fresh milk we found in a fridge! The fruit looked OK but as it was sitting out on plates uncovered we didn't chance it.
This "hostel" is probably ok if you just want a bed when heading out to party in Newcastle but for a family or couple who actually want to sleep I wouldn't recommend. Although we did park out on the street and the car was still there in the morning rather than pay the £5 for parking. It did have wifi that we didn't have to pay for so that was a bonus.

Reviewed by
Alison S

From Lisburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and clean friendly staff safe car parking close to city centre
we would stay at the grainger hotel if we were staying in Newcastle again clean and not expensive would recommend to friends and family

Reviewed by
anthony h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was so disappointed the room was like a cell no windows the drunken people on both nights it was so noisy we did not get any sleep the room was not clean if you want a boozy weekend in Newcastle go to the Granger hotel the 2 other guest were very disappointed as well i would not recommended it was not worth the the very expensive cost that was incurred

Reviewed by
s walker

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay number 4
I think for what you are getting the price is good. There is no doubt that the hotel is clean and that the continental breakfast is good. It may be nice to have the option of a hot breakfast. However, the hotel is in need of sprucing up. The crout around the sinks is coming away, and in places it looks tired. That said, it met my needs, and I have stayed there several times now so.....

Reviewed by
S Garrish

From Preston, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what we thuoght
we was left waiting in reception 10 min before some one came room was clean and basic for price breakfast ok for price nothing to right home about would we go again NO

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldnt advise to stay
The drawers didnt have a bottom on them. And if they did it was cracked. The bathroom was a mess! Mould around the toilet and the shower had hairs in it.
I work in a hotel myself so may be over critical, but it wasnt up to my standard.
The furniture was old and mostly broken.
The breakfast wasnt fantastic. Very basic. Would have preferred a full english!!

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was a very simple basic establishment, with a greater feel of a youth hostel. As someone who arrived by the train and hence walking, the information about the location being very close to centre attractions was misleading, taking approximately an hour to walk to the hotel from the train station carrying our luggage. The room was very basic but clean. I didn't sleep particularly well with a hard mattress, constant drunken shouting from outside and frequent ambulance sirens from the hospital just up the road. The breakfast was very poor, little choice for a continental breakfast and a dyer quality of food. Wouldn't stay there again, not value for money for the price we paid.

Reviewed by
Janet E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean and respectable. it takes about 5 minutes in a taxi to reach the quayside. we had no noise or problems of any sort. will be sure to stay again.

Reviewed by
m urwin

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next