No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grainger Hotel

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ
Grainger Hotel is located less than a mile from the centre of Newcastle. The night life in the city is legendary, with pubs, clubs and bars liberally scattered among the many restaurants. You may want to enjoy a night of live performances at the Theatre Royal, Tyne Theatre or maybe your favourite band is performing at the City Hall or the Telewest Arena. Graingerville's central location is ideal for all these attractions. If shopping is your bag, then why not experience the Eldon Square shopping centre in the City Centre or the famous MetroCentre, the largest shopping and leisure centre in Europe! The Metro Centre is just 3 miles south west of Newcastle. If you enjoy football, St James' Park is just a short walk away. After a good football match the walk back is perhaps a little longer! If the countryside is your tonic, then use Grainger Hotel as your base. You can be in the beautiful North East Country side within a few minutes and there is plenty to see to, the Angel of the North, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter Fame, and much much more than this web site can do credit to. See the many bridges over the Tyne and most recently the Millennium bridge with it's winking eye! Newcastle also has the remains of a castle, you can see the remains of the walls and the Keep still exists. And don't forget Hadrian's Wall - you can see the remains of Roman forts and the wall itself. Grainger Hotel can be your base while you enjoy the delights of Newcastle City and the beautiful North East countryside. ''''Continental Breakfast is available @ £2/Person/Day''''''' . Car parking is available on site @ £5.00 per night. WiFi Access available @ £2 charge ( Grainger Hotel Does not take any responsibility if your device fail's to connect with wireless or if not able to find signals inside the Rooms ). Better reserve your room! ***IMPORTANT*** There is a fix charge of £120.00 for smoking in the rooms. A 2% Transaction Fee is charged on all Credit/Debit Card payments.
Picture of Grainger Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 148 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay.

Reviewed by
nick jones

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extraordinary!
Extraordinary stay! Booked a single basic room . Nice comfy room with plasma tv , a complimentary tray of tea, coffee in room. comfy beds wifi in the room was free aswell , hotel offer a lot free bees which good . Breakfast was good as well considering it was only £2 . Would definitely stay again !

Reviewed by
D Alan

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

work travel
it was cheap so i booked a double room even though i was travelling alone for work . I was a little nervous about the hotel as it was cheaper than the others but upon arrival i found it to be cheerful as well. Its comfortable and clean . Had a nice sleep , woke up fresh , had a bowl of cereal and i was good to go.. will be back in two weeks time ..

Reviewed by
SAM L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prefer cooked breakfast
Worth the money for a room to just sleep in. Would of preferred the option of a cooked breakfast

Reviewed by
A Wallace

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean nice place, did the job. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Dave Healey

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very average
Very average hotel, room very basic, window never worked so couldn't open for fresh air, sitting room at reception wasn't clean tables left with food still sitting on it, beds in room were very un comfterble was just what I expected for price payed

Reviewed by
m smith

From MILLTIMBER, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit rough
Very rough actually, would pay a bit extra for something more safe

Reviewed by
Matthew R

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't Complain
Went there with low expectations due to the price and a few reviews but on the whole there was nothing seriously wrong with the hotel. Upon arrival I thought the receptionist was a bit rude and the customer service was a bit non existent. But the room was fine and the beds were comfortable. We went for a weekend on the toon and the accommodation was just what we were after. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Kurtis S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

DONT STAY HERE
when we arrived to check in it felt like the reception staff were just there to give you the key and collect it off you when you leave. the room was awful very small when we sat on the bed the mattress just sank to the bottom i then laid on it to find it belonged in a skip you could feel the cross member of the bed base on your back, we couldn't get to sleep it was so uncomfortable, you could also hear people coming and going all night on the stairs, and hear doors opening and closing as people came back in the early hours, when my wife opened the curtains in the morning they came off the rail. the top cover on the bed was like a piece of cord carpet, we pulled it off in the night when we looked in the morning it had like curry or food stains on the underside of it indicating it had never been washed.

Reviewed by
john s

From Gretna, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle trip
Accommodation o.k. hot water tap not working apart from that hotels serves its purpose. not hotels fault but extremely noisy early hours after pubs closed across road

Reviewed by
JOHN MAGIERA

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next