Reviews - Grainger Hotel


1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ

Price From 81.34 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (96)

58% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • jOHN D

  • April 2015

Pleasant enough place and would go back and ok value for money

  • S Rutherford

  • March 2015


visit to newcastle was fantastic .

what a city . Hotel was good ...a very courteous receptionist greeted us .. our room was neat n clean .. bed was comfortable .. d├ęcor was good .. we were happy. on the other hand breakfast was continental only . no fry up .. which was a downer really .. but then again we got wat we wanted .. a comfortable stay .. will stay again for sure .. thnx

  • F Ally

  • March 2015

Comfortable Stay Indeed

Extremely happy with the hotel.

Check in was hassle free. My room was upgraded to Ensuite even though I booked a room with Shared facilities which is why I give full marks to customer service. My room was fine. Sheets were clean and crisp. It looked like hotel is going through refurb as far as I was concerned there was no disturbance of any sort. Will recommend this hotel to my colleagues who travel to Newcastle quite often. I did not stay for Breakfast.

  • Paula McHale

  • March 2015

Friendly staff, nice clean room, no complaints.

The hotel location was great for us, a ten minute walk to the 02 academy where we were heading that night.

Nice clean rooms and helpful staff. Thanks.

  • Jenny L

  • February 2015

Excellent Stay at the Grainger

All very good value.

Firm bed and soft quilt, good pillows. Clean and tidy room. Very pleased with the whole experience. Can't understand the complaints I read about this hotel. I found it first class and amazing value for money. Thank you.

  • Anthony P

  • February 2015

No where near what I expected or was hoping for at the price given

1 room we had was freezing, all Rooms had no locks on bathroom/toilet doors or doors didn't even shut, 1 room leaked from ceiling guessing was when room above was in shower, rooms had very little space especially the double bed ones, car park very small, people running about corridors early morning, banging on doors and people using rude and disgusting language

  • Atanaska Atanasova

  • February 2015

Grainger Hotel

Excellent service

  • R Hughes

  • February 2015

Good value friendly and clean

This is a well located hotel.

The value for a twin room was superb. Room was clean and well appointed with a new sleek bethroom. Will be using again.

  • C Rattray

  • February 2015

I did not feel safe in the hotel, could not find out where to go in case of fire.

We looked for a place less than 500 meters from the centre, and according to the webside this was, but it seemed to be a fair walk. Paid the bill, got no receipt and they did not mention an amount (felt like i could have paid anything)

  • sean stafford

  • February 2015

Well, The grainger! As I checked in, I soon realised the grainger was a unique hotel.

I booked the grainger for a stag do, it certainly left a mark on everyone and me.

I was the one getting ripped for booking it. We mentioned it to the taxi drivers they couldn't stop laughing. Despite reading other reviews, we were still upbeat about the trip. As we were basing our potential stay on the reviews, it was suprisingly decent. The rooms were clean and we had a bathroom in each room we booked. Nothing massively wrong, it served a purpose.