Grainger Hotel

0

1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ

Price From 69.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (138)

59% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Douthwaite

  • October 2013

we had an ok time here was not too bad

  • Alison S

  • October 2013

Avoid

This hotel is more of a hostel than a hotel.

The decor was positively Victorian and one of our rooms you couldn't open the door more than a foot as the bed was in the way. It is a VERY noisy hotel and you will hear every car than passes, its on a busy road with emergency vehicles up and down all night. Most of the guests were stag and hen parties and they carry on the party through the night so if its a nights sleep you want avoid at all costs and staff don't seem to care if you do complain. The breakfast was not continental, stale bread to toast, instant coffee and cereals with sour milk although we did help ourselves to fresh milk we found in a fridge. The fruit looked OK but as it was sitting out on plates uncovered we didn't chance it. This "hostel" is probably ok if you just want a bed when heading out to party in Newcastle but for a family or couple who actually want to sleep I wouldn't recommend. Although we did park out on the street and the car was still there in the morning rather than pay the £5 for parking. It did have wifi that we didn't have to pay for so that was a bonus.

  • s walker

  • October 2013

I was so disappointed the room was like a cell no windows the drunken people on both nights it was so noisy we did not get any sleep the room was not clean if you want a boozy weekend in Newcastle go to the Granger hotel the 2 other guest were very disappointed as well i would not recommended it was not worth the the very expensive cost that was incurred

  • Russ Kettle

  • October 2013

Nothing like the write up and not a good location

  • Susan C

  • October 2013

what we thuoght

we was left waiting in reception 10 min before some one came room was clean and basic for price breakfast ok for price nothing to right home about would we go again NO

  • S Garrish

  • October 2013

My stay number 4

I think for what you are getting the price is good.

There is no doubt that the hotel is clean and that the continental breakfast is good. It may be nice to have the option of a hot breakfast. However, the hotel is in need of sprucing up. The crout around the sinks is coming away, and in places it looks tired. That said, it met my needs, and I have stayed there several times now so.....

  • Paul N

  • October 2013

Wouldnt advise to stay

The drawers didnt have a bottom on them.

And if they did it was cracked. The bathroom was a mess. Mould around the toilet and the shower had hairs in it.

I work in a hotel myself so may be over critical, but it wasnt up to my standard.

The furniture was old and mostly broken.

The breakfast wasnt fantastic. Very basic. Would have preferred a full english!!

  • m urwin

  • October 2013

room was clean and respectable.

it takes about 5 minutes in a taxi to reach the quayside. we had no noise or problems of any sort. will be sure to stay again.

  • Janet E

  • October 2013

The hotel was a very simple basic establishment, with a greater feel of a youth hostel.

As someone who arrived by the train and hence walking, the information about the location being very close to centre attractions was misleading, taking approximately an hour to walk to the hotel from the train station carrying our luggage. The room was very basic but clean. I didn't sleep particularly well with a hard mattress, constant drunken shouting from outside and frequent ambulance sirens from the hospital just up the road. The breakfast was very poor, little choice for a continental breakfast and a dyer quality of food. Wouldn't stay there again, not value for money for the price we paid.

  • Roger G

  • September 2013

First visit to Newcastle

The accommodation was clean, comfortable and exactly what I required.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The secure car park (available at extra cost) was an excellent idea due to the road being busy 24/7. The extra cost was worth it for peace of mind. The only drawback was the traffic noise if you had a window open in the front rooms, but this was no obstacle to a decent sleep if you were tired enough.