No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grainger Hotel

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ
Grainger Hotel is located less than a mile from the centre of Newcastle. The night life in the city is legendary, with pubs, clubs and bars liberally scattered among the many restaurants. You may want to enjoy a night of live performances at the Theatre Royal, Tyne Theatre or maybe your favourite band is performing at the City Hall or the Telewest Arena. Graingerville's central location is ideal for all these attractions. If shopping is your bag, then why not experience the Eldon Square shopping centre in the City Centre or the famous MetroCentre, the largest shopping and leisure centre in Europe! The Metro Centre is just 3 miles south west of Newcastle. If you enjoy football, St James' Park is just a short walk away. After a good football match the walk back is perhaps a little longer! If the countryside is your tonic, then use Grainger Hotel as your base. You can be in the beautiful North East Country side within a few minutes and there is plenty to see to, the Angel of the North, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter Fame, and much much more than this web site can do credit to. See the many bridges over the Tyne and most recently the Millennium bridge with it's winking eye! Newcastle also has the remains of a castle, you can see the remains of the walls and the Keep still exists. And don't forget Hadrian's Wall - you can see the remains of Roman forts and the wall itself. Grainger Hotel can be your base while you enjoy the delights of Newcastle City and the beautiful North East countryside. ''''Continental Breakfast is available @ £2/Person/Day''''''' . Car parking is available on site @ £5.00 per night. WiFi Access available @ £2 charge ( Grainger Hotel Does not take any responsibility if your device fail's to connect with wireless or if not able to find signals inside the Rooms ). Better reserve your room! ***IMPORTANT*** There is a fix charge of £120.00 for smoking in the rooms. A 2% Transaction Fee is charged on all Credit/Debit Card payments.
Picture of Grainger Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was small but clean and tidy

Reviewed by
Amy Jo P

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Economical
Value for money, £5 taxi ride into town, clean bed for the night so serves it's purpose.
My wheelchair accessible room was cramped and I could not get to the window/blinds. No space for a bedside table.
Noisy room next to the stairs.

Reviewed by
Bryan S

From Duns, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bed for the night... nothing more
Not impressed... As a solo business traveller, I'm generally happy to pay a few pounds more for a double room which gives you more room to move around and will usually have a desk, wifi etc... in this case what I got was a single attic room with a double bed in it, so less room. My mistake, it won't happen again.

Reviewed by
S Harrow

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Receptionist was not very helpful and was woken up by noise. Only fruit for breakfast and lack of customer assistance.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor
staff did not understand english felt intimadated when out on the street the breakfast was none existing the pictures in the room were filthy the lift felt like it was dying drunks in the corridors at 3 in the morning then a junkie tried to force her way into the room while my wife was showering all together very poor and will not stay there again

Reviewed by
david p

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

terrible
The room was the small twin room ever, the shower cubical door broke and the rooms window didnt open so it was as hot as hell in there. Trust me stay away

Reviewed by
Michael A

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good on a budget
All okay in terms of service and willingness to assist. Room was clean but had to hunt for the towels which were in one of the drawers. When it came to the ironing board, there was a sort of shelf which is not great for ironing. Breakfast was advertised as a "Continental Breakfast". I guess it depends which continent you're talking about. Croissants took the form of long-life bread which you toast yourself. Some over-ripe fruit and some tea and jams. Not very satisfying for a breakfast and had to eat elsewhere afterwards.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good traditional hotel in an unloved location
I really enjoyed staying here. The only downside was that it was in a less trendy area of Newcastle. It is only a short walk from Newcastle Central Train Station. Much better value than a budget chain hotel.

Reviewed by
James J

From Bonnyrigg, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Cheap and cheerful

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grainger Hotel
One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in!!!!!! The room was cold and when we asked for the radiator to be put on we were advised they would have to heat the whole hotel just so our room would be warm, 20 minutes later the room was still cold so they brought us a crappy little heater. the bathroom was more like a broom closet and dont even get me started on breakfast it was that dire I didnt even eat it. Would not advise my enemy to stay here

Reviewed by
S Higgins

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next