No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grainger Hotel

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
1-3 Graingerville North,Westgate Road , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 6UJ
Grainger Hotel is located less than a mile from the centre of Newcastle. The night life in the city is legendary, with pubs, clubs and bars liberally scattered among the many restaurants. You may want to enjoy a night of live performances at the Theatre Royal, Tyne Theatre or maybe your favourite band is performing at the City Hall or the Telewest Arena. Graingerville's central location is ideal for all these attractions. If shopping is your bag, then why not experience the Eldon Square shopping centre in the City Centre or the famous MetroCentre, the largest shopping and leisure centre in Europe! The Metro Centre is just 3 miles south west of Newcastle. If you enjoy football, St James' Park is just a short walk away. After a good football match the walk back is perhaps a little longer! If the countryside is your tonic, then use Grainger Hotel as your base. You can be in the beautiful North East Country side within a few minutes and there is plenty to see to, the Angel of the North, Alnwick Castle of Harry Potter Fame, and much much more than this web site can do credit to. See the many bridges over the Tyne and most recently the Millennium bridge with it's winking eye! Newcastle also has the remains of a castle, you can see the remains of the walls and the Keep still exists. And don't forget Hadrian's Wall - you can see the remains of Roman forts and the wall itself. Grainger Hotel can be your base while you enjoy the delights of Newcastle City and the beautiful North East countryside. ''''Continental Breakfast is available @ £2/Person/Day''''''' . Car parking is available on site @ £5.00 per night. WiFi Access available @ £2 charge ( Grainger Hotel Does not take any responsibility if your device fail's to connect with wireless or if not able to find signals inside the Rooms ). Better reserve your room! ***IMPORTANT*** There is a fix charge of £120.00 for smoking in the rooms. A 2% Transaction Fee is charged on all Credit/Debit Card payments.
Picture of Grainger Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 148 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!
I got a very cheap last minute deal on this place £22, can't complain about that but as my title says, you get what you pay for. It was nothing fancy and a bit on the dated side. A few things I wasn't happy about but nothing serious I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic get away but if you are looking for somewhere to crash after a heavy stag night, then why not, it's cheap and its a roof over your head!

Reviewed by
Ralph D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was okay wont use it again though
the room was very clean ...best bit ...it was so cold in the room ..had to ask to have the heating put on in this horrid weather was real cold eventually was put on but hardly at all .Found the staff very abrupt and we werent as much shown to our room so can safely say wont be going back there ...glad it was only one night because wouldnt have wanted to be there moment longer .

Reviewed by
G Grieveson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay here other that the fire alarm going off @ 4 in the morning! Other than that the rooms were clean, the staff were ok and the breakfast was what we expected.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Great
OK for a base but not the most welcoming

Reviewed by
James R

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bugdet hotel
Stayed at this hotel was clean and good for price paid nice friendly staff was close to where we were going room was a bit on the cold side but was ok though the night when heating was put on breakfast was continental which was ok for us would use this hotel again

Reviewed by
J Wright

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised!!
After i booked i read the reviews,, i was dreading it, even to the point of not even going , but we dubiously pulled up to the hotel , it just looked like any other guest house,, parked no problem in a gated carpark,, (£5) . Room was nice and clean , bit small but we werent there to sit in a room, lovely new white bedding on both beds, also signs of renovation goin on,,, but i suppose if you want luxury then pay 70-80 or 90 pound somewhere else,, one thing tho, its quite a way to walk to the town, esp in high heels,, so taxi journeys are a must at 4-5 pound a go ,, so if like us you come back to get changed then go back out it adds 20 pound on , which you needent pay if your central
but we found it spot on for the price

Reviewed by
n horton

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and nasty
Beds hard rooms tiny. Vending machine only place to buy a drink and it took money without giving drink but staff wouldn't give us money machine took to try a different selection. Breakfast was just cereal and toast and fruit bruised.

Reviewed by
James K

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Actually not that bad
Booked this place as I needed somewhere cheap just to lay my head down after a night out. Considering it was only £40 for a Saturday Night (Single accomodation) it was pretty good value for money. The Room was pretty small but it looks like they had recently refurbished the small bathroom (basically a toilet and Shower) and it had a TV . The bed was a big single (almost double). The area is not the most glamorous but it's quite close to town and has a bus stop nearby. Service was good.For what I needed it for, for what it cost, and for what it was, overall it was actually not that bad.

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Clean, warm, secure and comfortable: very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Lee C

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic no problems
Nice clean room, was a little sceptical about going reading all the bad reviews. Rooms basic but pleasently suprised, ok sized rooms tea and coffee and free view tv not to bad. Little onsuite was cute and modern so no problems there. Only bad this was no sheets on duvet which was slightly discomforting as it all old and had many bobbles and rips on. Then a very strange stain which I hope was tea or coffee. Noisy next door neighbours however not really an issue as was resolved quickly enough. But overall ok stay myself and fiance enjoyed it. Would stay again but not for full price.

Reviewed by
L Robertson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next