No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - the old barn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Birmingham Road,Coleshill , birmingham, B46 1DP
The Old Barn maintains much of its original charm whilst providing the business of pleasure traveller with all of the modern conveniences of home. The Old Barn Guest House has 12 en-suite rooms with all the amenities, plus a self catering chalet which is suitable for families. *Please note check in is from 3pm - 22:00pm - if you require earlier ot later check in please contact us in advance* The car park is private and free to all guests of the Barn. We are approx 3 miles from the NEC/LG ARENA, Birmingham I'ntl Airport and Railway station plus close links to M6 and M42 We are a member of the RAC and have been awarded the RAC 3 Diamond Guest Accommodation rating. We currently hold a good food hygiene catering award issued by the North Warwickshire Borough Council.

Picture of the old barn, birmingham at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated
The whole place was in need of refurbishment. Abandoned car on car park, room door wouldn't lock from outside, mattress springs broken, lamp bulbs missing.............

Reviewed by
P Brooks

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Barn is really past its sell by date and could do with a make over. was adequate for our short stay. A little dusting at low level would not go a miss.

Reviewed by
M McKay

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good breakfast
Rooms were basic. Towels were stained. Shower was good though. All in all was worth £25 each x 3

Reviewed by
Patrick Haugh

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Place in the Country for a Good Night's Sleep.
The Hotel does need bigger signs on the road as it is difficult to find in the dark,but apart from that it offers friendly staff a clean and spacious room and a full English Breakfast served with no waiting.
It has a comfortable lounge with TV. We were visiting the NEC and after a busy day it offered peace and quiet and a good night's sleep with a hearty breakfast to tackle day two of our visit.

Reviewed by
Stephen K

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to find
Had to phone for directions. Was like going through a hole in the hedge! Poor signage. Once inside, was rundown and needed a lot of attention. Valence missing from the double bed , no mattress protectors, carpet in bathroom and mould around the bath ,leaking loo cistern. Hole in window and large crack. On the plus side. Very helpful and pleasant receptionist doing her best with what she had to work with. Breakfast room clean and a nice breakfast. Very convenient for the NEC.

Reviewed by
Belinda J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay if visiting the NEC
The lady who runs the B&B was lovely and very helpful.
Hotel is in serious need of modernisation, but is clean and comfortable. Breakfast options were not the best, but great if you like a full cooked breakfast!! There is no continental option, but there is cereal.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From Cardigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly as described in the Name!
Sadly when we arrived the Old barn was hidden from the road and took acouple of turns to find it! It looked run down from the out side. We had to ring the bell and wait on the manager to let us in and after a few hundred miles of travel it was not a warm welcome. When we got to our room it was very basic! The bed was very cheap and also the matrress ! Every thing creaked all night long! There was a huge leak on the bathroom floor which looked like it was new sink and toilet. The shower was black mould around the unit! I couldnt use the toilet so waited till we went out for dinner. There was no one to contact about this so we mopped it up with a large towel when we got back in. The food was standard . The hotel did smell of damp but the room did not! so small mercies ! We left after breakfast with no interaction from the staff!

Reviewed by
S Barclay

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable breakfast with quick service
Room decor a bit tatty but reasonably clean, bed hard but didn't give me back ache! Reasonable breakfast with fast service, full english was served in a minute or two.

Reviewed by
T Stephens

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service
very friendly staff breakfast was excellent and clean could be updates more but clean towels and comfortable beds alittle cob web or 2 but super area

Reviewed by
Linda Lucey

From Tillicoultry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay at the old barn
The old barn guesthouse was very difficult to find, it didn't help that the directions on the booking site advise it is on the right hand side of the road - it is on the left, next to a wood/tile shop - not the derelict barn on the right! There are 2 entrances but neither is clearly signed.
Staff very friendly & breakfast was good. However, accommodation is 'tired' & in need of a revamp. If visiting NEC, it's very easy to just get a taxi which cost £7.

Reviewed by
Diana B

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next