Reviews - the old barn


Birmingham Road,Coleshill, birmingham, B46 1DP

Price From 118.42 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (22)

45% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John F

  • July 2015

the old barn


  • C Wright

  • February 2015

Was an ok stay

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, It was fairly easy to find despite all the reviews saying it's hard to find.

the room was clean but the bed had been broken and repaired, dipped in the middle so ruined the stay a little bit but otherwise good.


  • February 2015

My Recent Stay At The Old. Barn

Disappointed due to the fact that our room was not cleaned, bed not made and towels not changed.

The toilet didn't always flush, the girl on Reception was very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was okay. I realise that it was not expensive but I have never stayed anywhere where they didn't clean the room. Unfortunately cannot say I will stay there again because I won't very disappointed as it looked very nice from outside.

  • Tomas H

  • January 2015

The Old Barn - It Started Well

I'd booked my room at The Old Barn for a wedding I was attending the day before news years eve.

It was a fairly last minute booking so I was chuffed to get somewhere so close to the wedding venue in Shustoke. On my arrival to the hotel it seemed okish from the outside. Perhaps a little 'understated' but I was hoping for better inside. The lady on reception was lovely, very approachable and attentive, helped with my check very smooth and even offered to iron my shirt for the wedding. Things had started so well. Unfortunately, this good start did not continue once in my room. The room was utterly miserable, it looked like it hadn't been decorated for at least 25 years. I was greeted by a tiny bed shoved up the corner of the room and looking like it had been made in seconds, my feet stuck over the end for most of the night and I'm only 6 foot. I turned the tv on for some background noise, only to be met with a loud unbearable humming noise, I turned it straight back off. I hung up my suit in the wardrobe and discovered what looked like bloody fingerprints on the built in draws. God only knows how they got there but it was quite unerving and suggested that the room really hadn't been cleaned that day or possibly for longer. The next morning I found dried blood in the sick too. As most people would, I felt pretty repulsed by this and my mind began to wonder what exactly had been going on in the room prior to my arrival or why this hasn't been cleaned away. I was actually relieved that I hadn't made breakfast, if this was the attention they gave to the rooms. I must add that breakfast is only served between 7-8.30 on a weekday, which I consider somewhat ridiculous. Overall, I was unsatisfied with my stay at The Old Barn. I can't even say it was what I expected for the price. £20 a night would have been steep for what I encountered but this cost me £55. Thy couldn't even provide soap in the room for that. Everyone that has seen the picturee of my room had gasped at just how poor quality it was, I'm no hotel snob but I have to agree with them. It was awful.

  • P Brooks

  • November 2014


The whole place was in need of refurbishment.

Abandoned car on car park, room door wouldn't lock from outside, mattress springs broken, lamp bulbs missing.............

  • M McKay

  • November 2014

The Old Barn is really past its sell by date and could do with a make over.

was adequate for our short stay. A little dusting at low level would not go a miss.

  • Patrick Haugh

  • November 2014

good breakfast

Rooms were basic.

Towels were stained. Shower was good though. All in all was worth £25 each x 3

  • Stephen K

  • October 2014

A Place in the Country for a Good Night's Sleep.

The Hotel does need bigger signs on the road as it is difficult to find in the dark,but apart from that it offers friendly staff a clean and spacious room and a full English Breakfast served with no waiting.

It has a comfortable lounge with TV. We were visiting the NEC and after a busy day it offered peace and quiet and a good night's sleep with a hearty breakfast to tackle day two of our visit.

  • Belinda J

  • October 2014

Hard to find

Had to phone for directions.

Was like going through a hole in the hedge. Poor signage. Once inside, was rundown and needed a lot of attention. Valence missing from the double bed , no mattress protectors, carpet in bathroom and mould around the bath ,leaking loo cistern. Hole in window and large crack. On the plus side. Very helpful and pleasant receptionist doing her best with what she had to work with. Breakfast room clean and a nice breakfast. Very convenient for the NEC.

  • Rebecca H

  • October 2014

Great place to stay if visiting the NEC

The lady who runs the B&B was lovely and very helpful.

Hotel is in serious need of modernisation, but is clean and comfortable. Breakfast options were not the best, but great if you like a full cooked breakfast!. There is no continental option, but there is cereal.