No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - the old barn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Birmingham Road,Coleshill , birmingham, B46 1DP
The Old Barn maintains much of its original charm whilst providing the business of pleasure traveller with all of the modern conveniences of home. The Old Barn Guest House has 12 en-suite rooms with all the amenities, plus a self catering chalet which is suitable for families. *Please note check in is from 3pm - 22:00pm - if you require earlier ot later check in please contact us in advance* The car park is private and free to all guests of the Barn. We are approx 3 miles from the NEC/LG ARENA, Birmingham I'ntl Airport and Railway station plus close links to M6 and M42 We are a member of the RAC and have been awarded the RAC 3 Diamond Guest Accommodation rating. We currently hold a good food hygiene catering award issued by the North Warwickshire Borough Council.

Picture of the old barn, birmingham at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service
very friendly staff breakfast was excellent and clean could be updates more but clean towels and comfortable beds alittle cob web or 2 but super area

Reviewed by
Linda Lucey

From Tillicoultry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay at the old barn
The old barn guesthouse was very difficult to find, it didn't help that the directions on the booking site advise it is on the right hand side of the road - it is on the left, next to a wood/tile shop - not the derelict barn on the right! There are 2 entrances but neither is clearly signed.
Staff very friendly & breakfast was good. However, accommodation is 'tired' & in need of a revamp. If visiting NEC, it's very easy to just get a taxi which cost £7.

Reviewed by
Diana B

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice surrounding , have to be careful about the busy road. Good for barn type accommodation.

Reviewed by
s chatterjee

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a shame...
The hotel itself is awkward to spot, even with a sat nav on a sunny afternoon. But once you find it, you see that the property has real charm. Our welcome was warm, and help was readily offered to find local pubs and restaurants to eat at. Sadly, this is where the charm ran out...
Once we got to our room we were saddened to find it was in a state of disrepair; the toilet was leaking and there was rot around the plasterwork. We decided that for one night, we would put up with this. We headed out for dinner, and it wasn't until we returned that we noticed that the hot water didn't work. We notified the hotel of the problem, and an hour later we were taken to another room.
This too had issues. It was dirty, the lights flickered, the blind was broken, and while in the shower the shower door fell on my wife! By this point we decided to cut our losses and bed down for the night. Thankfully, morning brought us a tasty breakfast!
My wife and I both agree that the property has a lot of potential and that with a little more TLC, and possibly some updates, the hotel could be a really nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
R Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Day stay
Partly my own fault for booking so late, but with my choices limited, I was a little annoyed with the results. The people are lovely, but it's noisy (in between two motorways), a very long walk/short drive from anywhere to eat/drink and the wifi didn't really work - aside from an hour on my last day. As I couldn't do any work, I was getting increasingly frustrated and with wifi advertised, would normally have watched netflix/4od etc... - but none of this was possible. The TV didn't work correctly either (a number of channels missing/scrambled) and the beds were not comfortable at all. A very rare poor experience from a late rooms booking.

Reviewed by
d potter

From West Byfleet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for the NEC
The Old Barn is conveniently located approx 10 min drive from the NEC. Despite three exhibitions running concurrently, access to the exhibition center is very easy. The B&B is a short walk away from Coleshill which has a good selection of Pubs and Restaurants. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and Wonderful B&B
Full name: The Old Barn Guest House
This great little B&B is perfect for anyone commuting to and/or from the NEC or Birmingham International with taxis costing between just £7-8.
Great location and surprisingly quiet for being right next to a main road. The rooms are good value at £75 a night for 3 people (double + single) incl. bath/shower ensuite, TV, WiFi, Iron and board, and storage. The room was better than some big chain hotels I've stayed in by a long shot.
The lady running the whole hotel is wonderful and such a great personality to be greeted by. She also single handedly runs the delicious complimentary breakfast, offering all the essentials like Full English, Bacon rolls, toast, various styles of egg, juice, tea, cereal, etc.
I would highly recommend this B&B, and will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
Matthew K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Barn (Room 10)
Was working at the NEC and found this on Laterooms. The room was OK in size and the bed was comfortable. The only problem I really had was the size of the ironing board which was provided in the room. As I am a big man, this ironing board would only take one arm of my shirt and had little legs to mount on the floor (so I was ironing from 15cm from the floor). I am not the most flexible person, so this became quite a struggle. One staff member did allow me to use a stainless steel table in the kitchen (with towel on it) to allow me to iron my clothes at a reasonable height. Apart from that, everything was fine and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was freshly cooked and hit the spot. I would recommennd this hotel, but beware if you have anything to iron - lol :)

Reviewed by
Justin S

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very difficult to find as the sign is back from the road and mainly hidden by tree branches. If arriving in the darn, it would be almost impossible to spot. Room quite shabby but bed linen and towels clean and reasonable value for money. I can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't get any! We were visiting the NEC and had to be there at a specific time. We came down for breakfast before 7 a.m. and were first in. But we didn't get served first, which is not right. Our table was the last to be served, and we then waited until 7.45 before we had to get up and leave without having eaten. We didn't even bother the following day as it was a Saturday and they served breakfasts later. Apart from the above, it's very convenient for the NEC and not bad value for the money.

Reviewed by
K Westell

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over
Good value, spacious clean rooms,. very good breakfast. Just stayed overnight with daughters for clothes show. Very handy for NEC. Train station free car parking and cost £5 30 return to Birmingham by train.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next