No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Burton Villa Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
24 Haxby Road , York, YO31 8JX
We were "VisitBritain" 3 star certified. A family run non smoking guest house 8 mins walk from city centre. ALL rooms are ENSUITE with DIGITAL LCD COLOUR TVS INC FREEVIEW & DVD PLAYERS & hot drinks tray. FREE 24 HR WIFI. FREE parking included together with a QUALITY English breakfast including a large choice of extra items eg grapefruit, Alpen muesli, Fresh fruit, fruit juices and muller yoghurts.

EXPECT a comfortable bed a quality breakfast and good service. We are close to Nestle/Rowntrees, York hospital and York St John university. Rooms are on 1st and 2nd floors with the front overlooking a scenic park. We live on site and expect guests to be quiet when coming in late at night so please look elsewhere if this is a problem. Limited off-street parking is available for small/medium sizes cars. The house is over 130 years old with lots of original features/charm including sash windows and some original fireplaces. We like to give advice on GOOD/BAD local restaurants and have FREE maps and advice on all our local attractions.

A basic laptop is available free, so guests can access their Emails. Breakfast is served from 08.30-10.00am.(0800 if working) It may be possible to serve a slightly earlier BASIC TYPE breakfast (cereals ,Juice , toast scrambled eggs on toast etc) by request when booking from 07.30. Hairdryers are available in each bedroom together with complimentary shower gel and conditioning shampoo bottles. Personal soaps and bath and hand towels are also included. An iron and ironing board are available 24/7 for guests to help themselves to. Our guests enjoy FREE loan of dvds from our library. PLEASE NOTE - We are not "The Ritz" but we do try hard to please.
Picture of Burton Villa Guest House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean and good value - Breakfast Heaven
The area is OK and owner made sure we had convenient free parking. Room was clean well appointed and pleasant. Breakfast was superb and real set us up for the day with wide choice, great quality and substantial English!
The owner was supportive without being intrusive and provide great advice plus discount for a close place for an excellent dinner.
Within easy walking distance of York centre and would stay again at the special weekend rate.

Reviewed by
G Cook

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Barton Villa was a find! Excellent service provided by owners. They went the extra mile to ensure our comfort & needs. Appreciated a quiet place to stay. Description of room was as per stated. No surprises. Was clean & comfortable. Breakfast was hearty and tasty. Close proximity (approx. a 10min easy walk) to York Minster. Left luggage or parking available with notice. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ken P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what was needed
B&B approx 10min walk to the Minster. Accommodation basic but perfect for what was needed (a base to sleep, shower). Breakfast was lovely, sets you up for a good few hours! Owners are lovely. Very friendly & nothing is too much trouble.

Reviewed by
L Brown

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Nice, friendly people. Fresh rooms. Nice food.

Reviewed by
Jeanette Carr

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, very friendly host.
A great guest house located just close enough to the city centre. Host was very helpful and friendly and free car parking was a great bonus. Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was plentiful and very tasty.

Reviewed by
Kevin H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City of York Gem
Very clean and welcoming guest house. The quality and convenience of this central location would leave many chain hotels far behind. Perfect for our overnight stay in a very spacious and comfortable room. The breakfast was first class!

Reviewed by
Keith Roper

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a birthday weekend treat.
The accommodation was ideally situated. We didn't have to use our car for the whole stay. The hotel was clean, and absolutely fabulous. The owner Michael was attententive giving lots of advice and information about the city. The breakfast was excellent a variety was offered. I have difficulty eating certain foods, so was a little worried about a full English breakfast being on offer, but need'nt have worried as there was a great selection of cereals, fruit and tinned grapefruit, prunes and yoghurt which I thoroughly enjoyed. My husband took full advantage of the cooked breakfast. We were on the top floor, lots of stairs, but enjoyed the exercise. The room was small but cosy, had everything we needed for our stay, soap, shampoo and tea/coffee/milk / biscuits and bottles of water were replenished daily. A lovely added touch to a great hotel. We were given free off road parking. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will certainly be returning either later in the year or this time next year. Thank you Michael for making our stay in York for my birthday so wonderful.

Reviewed by
Sue Clarke

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in York
We were very satisfied with the service given to us by Hosts especially the banter at breakfast and good knowledge of local eateries. We enjoyed a meal at a South Indian Restaurant recommended to us.Each day was started off with an ample breakfast which lasted us until our early evening meal

Reviewed by
Geoff Doye

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Viking adventure
I am a teacher travelling to York in order go research the Vikings for my next history topic. The hotel was located centrally in close walking distance to the centre, shops and places to eat. Our guest house was comfortable and welcoming with friendly hosts. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. A fantastic stay in a fantastic city!

Reviewed by
L Hall

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent

Reviewed by
G Spong

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next