King Charles Hotel

3

Brompton Road, Gillingham, ME7 5QT

Price From 119.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (235)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Stuart R

  • May 2015

A convenient budget hotel

The hotel looks rather run down on the outside, but on the inside it is a perfectly acceptable budget hotel.

There is a good sized car park. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and gave a free upgrade to a family room as I had asked for a room in the quietest part of the hotel. The room was a reasonable size, with a double and a single bed. The bathroom looked like it had recently been refurbished. The room was clean and functional with plenty of free tea and coffee. There was a small TV for those that want such things, although it would not suit those that expect a TV to fill a whole wall. The room was quiet as described and the bed was reasonably comfortable. There was free WiFi. I used the residents' bar for an evening meal, and the prices were reasonable and the food fine. The included breakfast was also good. The choice was not huge but quite sufficient.

If you're looking for the shiny finish you get from one of the big chains, then this hotel is not for you.

If you are looking for somewhere convenient to stay at a reasonable price, then I would happily recommend this establishment to you.

  • A Large

  • April 2015

A bit drab

Needs decorating and replacement of fixtures and fittings.

Staff were helpful.

  • K Bowman

  • April 2015

Nice hotel

Was a nice hotel not sure what is around as we was visiting family and attending a funeral so only stayed 2 nights but food was great and fast service.

The rooms were basic hotel rooms but nice enough for the price as we didn't want to spend a fortune as we knew we wouldn't be spending a lot of time in the hotel. Plenty of parking and easy to find would definitely recommend and would stay again when visiting family as its nearby

  • R Farmer

  • April 2015

King Charles Hotel

Like a lobster this hotel did not look much from the outside but we found all the staff we met were helpful and smiling, the room had bags of spare space and was kept clean and my wife and I thought we got excellent value for money.

If we had the desire to stay in Gillingham again we would certainly return.

  • a shaikh

  • April 2015

Good rooms

Good for short breaks.

  • Jane M

  • April 2015

King Charles Hotel

Very reasonably priced and good location for local attractions.

Food was good and also very well priced. Room was relatively clean and of a good size. It fell down slightly on staff, sometimes there weren't enough, it seemed. There also seemed to be no way to turn off the heating in the bedroom (not normally an issue in the UK due to our lack of sun) but we found it overwarm. All in all, I would stay again if I was after a cheap overnight stay near the Chatham Dockyards.

  • Chris J

  • April 2015

Overnight business stop

Didn't expect a lot & didn't get a lot...

that said it was functional & good value for money.

  • F Wu

  • April 2015

Excellent

The hotel is very good, I like it !

  • D Ladd

  • April 2015

Hotel ok, but I had take away rolls for breakfast as I was starting work early and they were made the night before and very soggy in the morning not edible.

No refund was offer offered for breakfasts.

  • Andy M

  • April 2015

Average Hotel reflected in the price paid

The hotel was easy enough to find with the help of a Sat Nav.

The hotel had plenty of car parking and a fairly quiet location. Check in was quick but then was told that the Resturant would not be open that evening and only food from the Bar Menu would be available.. Being that my partner and myself were celebrating our anniversary we were very disappointed with this. The room on our first entry seemed ok but after a while an aroma was apparent in the room that seemed to be like blocked drains and the only way to get rid of this was to have the bathroom window open. Also the room was very hot during the night suggesting the thermostat in the room needed looking at. The water pressure in the shower was not very good however the water pressure in the water basin was the opposite. The bar area was ok and the bar food and drinks reasonably priced. The breakfast was of a good quality.