You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - King Charles Hotel


Brompton Road, Gillingham, ME7 5QT

Price From 83.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (94)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Haque

  • September 2016

King Charles Hotel

From the outside it doesn't look that great.

However, inside it's lovely. Lovely staff and the rooms were nice. Fresh towels and hairdryer which is very useful. Bed was comfy. I wish I could say something about the food but I can't. I was far too hungover to eat!!. But what I saw was good. Tea, coffee, fruit juice, cereal, bread and English and continental.

  • Kevin Mortimer

  • September 2016

King Charles Hotel

Very handy hotel for many sites around Chatham

  • S Jones

  • August 2016

King Charles Hotel

Great value for money.

Breakfast included, which is cooked as you order. Not buffet. Bar food was reasonable. Only negative I had was hotel room doesn't look from inside. So if you have a child that can reach the handle they can open it. ( like ours did)

  • Denise Batten

  • August 2016

Honey moon stay

I was very happy with our stay but one thing let it down.

I ordered a bottle of champagne to be at our table when seated. When we got the bottle it hadn't been chilled even when they knew it was pre -booked. The actual meal wasn't great,sauté mushrooms were burnt. They brought out new ones and said we won't charge you for these ones. ( I should think not ). Breakfast was very nice though. Bar staff and reception staff excellent but dining staff need to relax and be more friendly. Very regimental manager of dining room.

  • s pitman

  • August 2016

Perfect for few days with the family

Wow did the kids love the bunk beds.

Staff lovely, bar quite nice. Old barracks converted in the nineties but all good. Recommended.

  • Susan C

  • August 2016

Overnight accommodation

The outside image on arrival was slightly daunting but once inside we received a warm welcome from reception staff who bent over backwards to find us a room as they had us down for the previous night and had already charged us for 'no show'.

We were lucky and took the last available room that night. I do not know whether the mixup was due to the hotel or late rooms . The room was 'compact' compared with other hotels we stayed in but hey it was only one night after attending a wedding and it had everything we needed.

  • Frank Fogarty

  • July 2016

Ideally located

A relaxing Time at The King Charles.

  • Ray Vella

  • July 2016

An enjoyable stay at King Charles Gillingham

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at King Charles Hotel.

Room was comfortable, amenities were as expected, the staff very client friendly and helpful. A laid back atmosphere in a family run hotel, where so nicely even dogs are welcome and could be seen led around. A special personal mention for Danny who came up with a great suggestion for somewhere we could visit. Trains and buses are within walking distance but with a car it would be greater.

  • Susan E

  • July 2016

Welcoming & Clean

First stay here, staff very friendly, very clean & comfortable rooms, only blot was bar meal, presented beautifully but poor quality frozen Iceland type thin fish otherwise breakfast was lovely quality & hot, I should have tried the restaurant.

  • f harrison

  • June 2016

Great place to stay

Always a pleasure to stay at the King Charles Hotel.

Staff so very friendly and helpful, rooms are so clean and tidy and we always get a great nights sleep followed by a wonderful breakfast.