No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - King Charles Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brompton Road , Gillingham, ME7 5QT
The King Charles Hotel is a privately-owned, modern, 98 bedroom hotel. Rooms provide en suite bathrooms, satellite TV, and hairdryers. Free Wi-Fi is available in all public areas.

The King Charles’s restaurant provides traditional French and English cuisine, with à la carte and table d’hôte menus on offer. Guests can also enjoy drinks or light lunches with a large-screen TV at the hotel bar.

The Hotel is set in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent and is just 2 minutes away from Historic Rochester with it's Castle, Cathedral and Dickens Museum. Other sites of interest in Medway include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Fort Amherst, the Royal Engineers Museum and Dicken's World. Central London is just 30 miles away as is the Channel Tunnel and Ferry Ports. Other places of interest include Bluewater Shopping Centre, Leeds Castle and Canterbury. We are ideal as a base for exploring both Kent and London and make an ideal stopover for coaches heading to and from Europe.

Our residents bar has been refurbished to a high standard and is now serving lunch and evening meals

All bookings that are to be settled by a company card require a company headed fax or email direct to the hotel to authorise payment. Guests will not be granted access to their rooms until this has been received.
Picture of King Charles Hotel, Gillingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 233 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for Money
A little dated, but a good clean room with adequate facilities. No complaints other than it would have been nice to have a lock on the bathroom door instead of a hole where there should have been one. Nevertheless we managed. Our room was very well heated and there was plenty of hot water. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the service was good so all in all a pretty good stay.

Reviewed by
Pam M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very pleased with with my stay at the King Charles which I happened to come across on LateRooms.com. My room was spotless and warm. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar meal menu was varied and food good quality. Being a tropical fish fan I liked the abundance of tanks in the reception and dining room. There is absolutely loads of parking space for cars and vans/trailers etc.....something management may want to point out on their homepage to encourage contractors etc. I saw families, workers and others staying there so attractive to a wide range of people.
Would I recommend to my family and friends? Would I go back?..........definitely.

Reviewed by
D White

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay.
My son and I stayed over for one night, and had I believed all the negative reviews and listened to Familly members I would have cancelled but we didn't and we were glad. The Hotel is very impressive. Steve, on reception, gave us all the information needed, there was plenty of secure parking, well stocked bar, food untill 11pm, comfortable and relaxing lounges. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had tea/coffee facilities. The price included both a cooked English breakfast and continental all with free wifi. Well worth a visit, highly recommended.
Thanks.

Reviewed by
Neal C

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
Good value hotel compared to the big chains. Room dated, but very clean. Food at breakfast was of a good standard, and included in the room price, bagettes provided for lunch, if you didn't opt for the full cooked breakfast as a free extra. Staff very helpful, on the whole great value and very comfy and clean.

Reviewed by
Carolyn W

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room good, food not so
When we booked this hotel we we're very happy with the price, we arrived at the King Charles early and they allowed us to check in at 11:00 instead of 2 which was very nice of them, the rooms we're fine and great for the price, staff very friendly, bar is good and well stocked.
Only downside was the breakfast, it's a buffet/ cooked, the toast, tea, coffee, juice and cereal was good but then they bought out our cooked breakfast.... I've felt more heat in my freezer, it was very cold, so apart from the breakfast it was very good and I would recommend it! 😃😃

Reviewed by
S Harris

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

King Charles Hotel
It's great if you're tired.

Reviewed by
Harrison M

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

King Charles Hotel
A very nice hotel with a friendly atmosphere and a relaxed feel.

Reviewed by
M Dell

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CLEAN AND TIDY ACCOMMODATION AT A VERY GOOD PRICE
Clean, comfortable room. Good breakfast. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
CAROLE R

From Peterhead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy and clean, if a bit over priced.
My double room was £60 for the night, which felt a little expensive to me.
It was a double room, the double bed was comfortable and the pillows were a good quality, oddly there was also a bunk bed in the room which made it feel a bit small.
Over all, it was clean and comfortable in the room, the furniture was pine but seemed good quality.
The room was pretty quiet, some noise from next doors tv but nothing too noticeable.
The sockets in the room were a bit oddly placed, it was a bit of a stretch to plug my phone, but
it wasn't a huge issue.
Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
alice g

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable hotel easy access to Rochester
Got an excellent deal for a Sunday night during the Rochester Dickensian Christmas weekend. The hotel was very nice and decorated well for Christmas. It maybe a little bit tired in places but they were in the middle of sprucing up the bedrooms and corridors. It was clean, quiet, comfortable and warm but with adjustable radiators and windows that open. We were overlooking the inner courtyard which looked as though it would be a good place to eat during the summer months. The restaurant was closed but the bar menu had plenty of meal options and was very reasonable and good quality. The staff were friendly and helpful and able to give advice on the area.
It's a short walk along to Gillingham and it's not far to the docks for the Dickens Experience, shopping outlets, cinema and restaurants, where we took advantage of the free park and ride into Rochester on the Sunday. I would be very happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next