No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - King Charles Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brompton Road , Gillingham, ME7 5QT
The King Charles Hotel is a privately-owned, modern, 98 bedroom hotel. Rooms provide en suite bathrooms, satellite TV, and hairdryers. Free Wi-Fi is available in all public areas.

The King Charles’s restaurant provides traditional French and English cuisine, with à la carte and table d’hôte menus on offer. Guests can also enjoy drinks or light lunches with a large-screen TV at the hotel bar.

The Hotel is set in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent and is just 2 minutes away from Historic Rochester with it's Castle, Cathedral and Dickens Museum. Other sites of interest in Medway include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Fort Amherst, the Royal Engineers Museum and Dicken's World. Central London is just 30 miles away as is the Channel Tunnel and Ferry Ports. Other places of interest include Bluewater Shopping Centre, Leeds Castle and Canterbury. We are ideal as a base for exploring both Kent and London and make an ideal stopover for coaches heading to and from Europe.

Our residents bar has been refurbished to a high standard and is now serving lunch and evening meals

All bookings that are to be settled by a company card require a company headed fax or email direct to the hotel to authorise payment. Guests will not be granted access to their rooms until this has been received.
Picture of King Charles Hotel, Gillingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 233 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

King Charles hotel
Good value

Reviewed by
A Stockdale

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

£35 a night can't really complain
Ok so I paid £35 for the room, it was practical and clean, don't expect much but if your after cheap it's good. Breakfast - there was a good selection. The phone reception was terrible, but managed to get on the Internet using my 3G, their free WiFi was too slow!

Reviewed by
K Jones

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

King Charles
My stay at this hotel was faultless, the staff are polite and very helpful. The room was excellent very clean and my dog even enjoyed the stay and it is hard to find a pet friendly hotel. The food was excellent and the breakfast included in the price for the room is a plus.

Reviewed by
A Tompsett

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

King Charles Hotel
Fantastic value for money clean staff pleasant

Reviewed by
m terry

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and happy to attend. Hotel beginning to look a bit jaded but good value

Reviewed by
William L

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel with very pleasant staff



Reviewed by
Richard J

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for Money
A little dated, but a good clean room with adequate facilities. No complaints other than it would have been nice to have a lock on the bathroom door instead of a hole where there should have been one. Nevertheless we managed. Our room was very well heated and there was plenty of hot water. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the service was good so all in all a pretty good stay.

Reviewed by
Pam M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very pleased with with my stay at the King Charles which I happened to come across on LateRooms.com. My room was spotless and warm. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar meal menu was varied and food good quality. Being a tropical fish fan I liked the abundance of tanks in the reception and dining room. There is absolutely loads of parking space for cars and vans/trailers etc.....something management may want to point out on their homepage to encourage contractors etc. I saw families, workers and others staying there so attractive to a wide range of people.
Would I recommend to my family and friends? Would I go back?..........definitely.

Reviewed by
D White

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay.
My son and I stayed over for one night, and had I believed all the negative reviews and listened to Familly members I would have cancelled but we didn't and we were glad. The Hotel is very impressive. Steve, on reception, gave us all the information needed, there was plenty of secure parking, well stocked bar, food untill 11pm, comfortable and relaxing lounges. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had tea/coffee facilities. The price included both a cooked English breakfast and continental all with free wifi. Well worth a visit, highly recommended.
Thanks.

Reviewed by
Neal C

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Anniversary Get Together
The hotel receptionist was very helpful and cheerful. The room itself was not that poor, but the desk surface was sticky and many human hairs was stuck to the "Do Not Disturb" label, and the visitors report sheet was damp from having some sticky liquid (possibly a fruit juice or similar) spilt. Evidently the cleaning staff had not checked this. We only had the breakfast which was a bit of a disaster - fried eggs hard and toast like leather - a problem we found was that the fried eggs were delivered to our table before we had hardly started our cereal. The hardness of the eggs was possibly due to the them having been fried much earlier and kept in a 'baine-marie' - our relations, who were also staying at the hotel all left their breakfasts too as theirs were quite unpalatable. However, the cereal was fine as also the tea.
Please note that the room rate was very reasonable so I cannot complain on that matter. If I was to recommend anyone to stay here it would only be because of the room rate - maybe the hotel can improve on the quality of the breakfast.

Reviewed by
A L

From England
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next