No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - King Charles Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brompton Road , Gillingham, ME7 5QT
The King Charles Hotel is a privately-owned, modern, 98 bedroom hotel. It features a cosy, comfortable restaurant and first class conference and banqueting facilities.

The Hotel is set in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent and is just 2 minutes away from Historic Rochester with it's Castle, Cathedral and Dickens Museum. Other sites of interest in Medway include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Fort Amherst, the Royal Engineers Museum and Dicken's World. Central London is just 30 miles away as is the Channel Tunnel and Ferry Ports. Other places of interest include Bluewater Shopping Centre, Leeds Castle and Canterbury. We are ideal as a base for exploring both Kent and London and make an ideal stopover for coaches heading to and from Europe. We offer extremely competitive group rates with reductions for children and Sunday night stays. Our residents bar has been refurbished to a high standard and is now serving lunch and evening meals

All bookings that are to be settled by a company card require a company headed fax or email direct to the hotel to authorise payment. Guests will not be granted access to their rooms until this has been received.
Picture of King Charles Hotel, Gillingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 206 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, comfortable stopover
Comfortable room, friendly staff, very good location for me.
Would have been improved by blackout blinds or curtains - room stayed light all night
Also would be nice to have free wi-fi in rooms rather than only in public areas
Breakfast ok, apart from the hash-brown which tasted like it had been reheated from the day before.

Reviewed by
Anne B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hotel, very clean and the lasagna I ate there was the best I've eaten in a while. Will be using again for sure.

Reviewed by
April B

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Kipper's Paradise?
Cheap, but you get what you pay for. Second time in succession reported people smoking in rooms, relocated to a better room but "nothing we can do about it" was the bland response from the receptionist on check out. Depressing hotel, food cheap but grim. Staff on the whole helpful but up against it.

Reviewed by
R Jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding
Stayed here as part of a wedding party. The rooms are large enough but several of us found empty soap dispensers and rooms not properly cleaned. Breakfast was OK and the staff were friendly. Unfortunately the hotel also messed up the catering for the wedding and we were left without any desserts......the manager did not seem to care either:( will not be recommending the venue.

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel is very clean and excellent food, the staff are very helpful and freindly, i would definatley recommend this to anyone and it is excellent value for money, well worth a stay

Reviewed by
brian b

From Fishguard, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, welcoming hotel
Very helpful and polite staff, lovely clean rooms with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. Couldn't ask for more and at such a good price too. We are very happy!

Reviewed by
B Champion

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Online booking
Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Ray C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay en route to Dover. Late arrival so only used bar, then breakfast room in the morning. All staff very pleasant and helpful. Plenty of choice of cereals etc for breakfast and the cooked items were OK.
Wi-fi not available in the morning but these things happen.
Excellent value for the money paid.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good
Room, staff were all pretty good. Price for the Sunday was very good at £35 a room. The breakfast I guess reflected the price, was very small, maybe I am greedy, but could do with more on the full English and more to choose from in the buffet. In saying this it is all pretty good and I would stay there again and suggest if you are in the area, then there is nothing lose, unless you like massive fry ups...

Reviewed by
Liam T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard Double Room
Very good value for money. We arrived on a Sunday and the main restaurant was closed but there was food available in the bar. Unfortunately the double bed in our room was broken which resulted in the worst night sleep I've ever had. This has been reported so should have been dealt with. Reception and grounds were kept very clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
james b

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next