No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - King Charles Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brompton Road , Gillingham, ME7 5QT
The King Charles Hotel is a privately-owned, modern, 98 bedroom hotel. Rooms provide en suite bathrooms, satellite TV, and hairdryers. Free Wi-Fi is available in all public areas.

The King Charles’s restaurant provides traditional French and English cuisine, with à la carte and table d’hôte menus on offer. Guests can also enjoy drinks or light lunches with a large-screen TV at the hotel bar.

The Hotel is set in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent and is just 2 minutes away from Historic Rochester with it's Castle, Cathedral and Dickens Museum. Other sites of interest in Medway include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Fort Amherst, the Royal Engineers Museum and Dicken's World. Central London is just 30 miles away as is the Channel Tunnel and Ferry Ports. Other places of interest include Bluewater Shopping Centre, Leeds Castle and Canterbury. We are ideal as a base for exploring both Kent and London and make an ideal stopover for coaches heading to and from Europe.

Our residents bar has been refurbished to a high standard and is now serving lunch and evening meals

All bookings that are to be settled by a company card require a company headed fax or email direct to the hotel to authorise payment. Guests will not be granted access to their rooms until this has been received.
Picture of King Charles Hotel, Gillingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 229 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CLEAN AND TIDY ACCOMMODATION AT A VERY GOOD PRICE
Clean, comfortable room. Good breakfast. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
CAROLE R

From Peterhead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy and clean, if a bit over priced.
My double room was £60 for the night, which felt a little expensive to me.
It was a double room, the double bed was comfortable and the pillows were a good quality, oddly there was also a bunk bed in the room which made it feel a bit small.
Over all, it was clean and comfortable in the room, the furniture was pine but seemed good quality.
The room was pretty quiet, some noise from next doors tv but nothing too noticeable.
The sockets in the room were a bit oddly placed, it was a bit of a stretch to plug my phone, but
it wasn't a huge issue.
Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
alice g

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable hotel easy access to Rochester
Got an excellent deal for a Sunday night during the Rochester Dickensian Christmas weekend. The hotel was very nice and decorated well for Christmas. It maybe a little bit tired in places but they were in the middle of sprucing up the bedrooms and corridors. It was clean, quiet, comfortable and warm but with adjustable radiators and windows that open. We were overlooking the inner courtyard which looked as though it would be a good place to eat during the summer months. The restaurant was closed but the bar menu had plenty of meal options and was very reasonable and good quality. The staff were friendly and helpful and able to give advice on the area.
It's a short walk along to Gillingham and it's not far to the docks for the Dickens Experience, shopping outlets, cinema and restaurants, where we took advantage of the free park and ride into Rochester on the Sunday. I would be very happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Found the hotel staff most helpful, although the room was set up for a family (besides double the room had bunk beds ) it was clean and appeared to have been recently decorated. As it was a Sunday we had to use the bar area to eat, but we found the bar menu varied and the food was above average. The morning's breakfast was again varied and plentiful.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
Staffs very helpful and friendly. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
E LYNCH

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will deffinately stay again!
We stayed for 3 nights in a double, no smoking room (breakfast inc). When checking in, the staff at reception were really friendly and accomodating. Only thing they didn't do was tell us where the restaurant was, but my husband spotted the way. Once entering our room, it was very cosy and homely - bed was very comfy, was great for myself who is 6 months pregnant. Room was at a nice temperature too. There are no baths in any of the rooms, just showers but not the end of the world. Restaurant staff were very helpful, we ate at the restaurant the first night and would deffinately eat there again. Food was fantastic and great portion size too - my husband struggled to finish his pasta. Breakfast was good too. Overall a great stay.

Reviewed by
natasha w

From Kelso, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place for a couple of nights, clean and comfortable
great place for a couple of nights, clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean rooms with a great breakfast
The room was clean and although dated was just as I expected. The bar had a large selection of food at a reasonable prices. The breakfast was great both the service and the food.

Reviewed by
Maria L

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unexpected
Very pleased with hotel
rooms clean and tidy
staff very friendly and service excellent

Reviewed by
P Hazel

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd Visit to King Charles
Friendly and warm atmosphere good value for money.

Reviewed by
L Hook

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next