No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - King Charles Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brompton Road , Gillingham, ME7 5QT
The King Charles Hotel is a privately-owned, modern, 98 bedroom hotel. Rooms provide en suite bathrooms, satellite TV, and hairdryers. Free Wi-Fi is available in all public areas.

The King Charles’s restaurant provides traditional French and English cuisine, with à la carte and table d’hôte menus on offer. Guests can also enjoy drinks or light lunches with a large-screen TV at the hotel bar.

The Hotel is set in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent and is just 2 minutes away from Historic Rochester with it's Castle, Cathedral and Dickens Museum. Other sites of interest in Medway include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Fort Amherst, the Royal Engineers Museum and Dicken's World. Central London is just 30 miles away as is the Channel Tunnel and Ferry Ports. Other places of interest include Bluewater Shopping Centre, Leeds Castle and Canterbury. We are ideal as a base for exploring both Kent and London and make an ideal stopover for coaches heading to and from Europe.

We offer extremely competitive group rates with reductions for children and Sunday night stays. Our residents bar has been refurbished to a high standard and is now serving lunch and evening meals

All bookings that are to be settled by a company card require a company headed fax or email direct to the hotel to authorise payment. Guests will not be granted access to their rooms until this has been received.
Picture of King Charles Hotel, Gillingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 221 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

suprisingly good
was a bit dubious about staying here after reading some of the reviews but was really happy with our stay. The rooms are nice and spacious, clean and bright. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food in the bar was exceptional so all in all we had a lovely stay here.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a short stay. Staff brilliant, very helpful and cheery. Food very good, quick efficient service. Bar food reasonably priced as was the wine. Rooms need a little tlc and the shower room needs a deep clean. Too many large fish in the tanks, need smaller fish as not enough room for larger ones

Reviewed by
M LONG

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Working Stay
Very spaciuos room with good facilities. There was a good selection of food from the bar area in the evening and was good quality. Breakfast was average size, but again good quality.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend for business and pleasure stays.

Reviewed by
Peter T

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget clean accommodation
Daughter and myself needed a stopover while visiting family in the area. All we needed was clean comfortable room to sleep,
The King Charles didn't seem totally up to date but comfort And cleanliness could not be criticised.
Lovely gardens out back if you wished to sit out or smoke.
We slept great in lovely clean comfy beds,
And the breakfast was delicious.
Definitely 10/10 at a very reasonable price.
I would stay here again and recommend it.

Reviewed by
Julie C

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room nice shower, restaurant, bar meals and bar. good areas to relax in ,outside and inside. very pleasant stay. nice staff. recommended.

Reviewed by
p james

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

X
X

Reviewed by
Harold Jeuring

From Sleen, Netherlands
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay, only a minor problem which may have been my fault
Friendly staff, clean room and bigger than I expected. Only problem was that someone walked into my room in the morning and the doors are supposed to automatically lock when they are shut. Maybe I didn't shut the door properly, but I am pretty sure I did. Customers were a bit noisy in corridoors after 10pm, but that's not really a flaw of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Alexander S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay. Nice hotel & friendly staff

Reviewed by
W Allison

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
Our first visit here, a Sunday night in August. Service was friendly and efficient, room comfortable and clean with all the basics one could need. Breakfast choice was very good and food perfect. Really pleased we chose here and would be very happy to stay again on our next visit to the area.

Reviewed by
Yvonne C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dissapointed
We could hear snoring and the tv from the next door room quite clearly. Quite a few workmen parking vans in car park which made it hard to park near entrance . Lounge very dated . Bed was very comfortable and room was ok. Ideal situation for our visit to relatives. Staff were nice.

Reviewed by
michael p

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next