No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - King Charles Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Brompton Road , Gillingham, ME7 5QT
The King Charles Hotel is a privately-owned, modern, 98 bedroom hotel. It features a cosy, comfortable restaurant and first class conference and banqueting facilities.

The Hotel is set in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent and is just 2 minutes away from Historic Rochester with it's Castle, Cathedral and Dickens Museum. Other sites of interest in Medway include Chatham Historic Dockyard, Fort Amherst, the Royal Engineers Museum and Dicken's World. Central London is just 30 miles away as is the Channel Tunnel and Ferry Ports. Other places of interest include Bluewater Shopping Centre, Leeds Castle and Canterbury. We are ideal as a base for exploring both Kent and London and make an ideal stopover for coaches heading to and from Europe. We offer extremely competitive group rates with reductions for children and Sunday night stays. Our residents bar has been refurbished to a high standard and is now serving lunch and evening meals

All bookings that are to be settled by a company card require a company headed fax or email direct to the hotel to authorise payment. Guests will not be granted access to their rooms until this has been received.
Picture of King Charles Hotel, Gillingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 209 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff.
Food was excellent, especially the steak.
Bit tired and out dated, but nothing really wrong with it.
The only issue I had was that they charged us 5 pounds to borrow a fan for our room, which wasn't refundable, wasn't very happy, but had to pay cause of how hot it was.

Reviewed by
James Pickles

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hfjbv
Bvfubbj

Reviewed by
N Short

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room good for the price. The service was very good. The corridors were very shabby and let down the ambience of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Susan A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it!
We had a very warm welcome and really enjoyed the atmoshpere of the place. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The bar prices were very reasonable compared to some places round about. When we asked about the fruit tree in the beautiful garden area, we were told it was a Japanese plum tree from Malta and were then offered to try them as they had just been picked. They were delicious!

Reviewed by
L McNamee

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
Adequate for an overnight stay. Basic but clean and staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
V Parker

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Customer service from all staff was excellent, very friendly and accommodating, even when we arrived at 1.30am and our children "entertained" the other guests during breakfast! Was clean and perfect for a "pit stop" over night stay on the way to our holiday further south!

Reviewed by
Maxine Dillon

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

JAL hamilton
The hotel met the needs of the business traveler. It may be in need of some upgrade however everything required is supplied. Could not complain about the quality of the food (or the price)
Staff are helpful. would use this hotel again

Reviewed by
James L

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but goof vfm.
Dated but goof vfm.

Reviewed by
colin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would return
Stayed here before as very close to Brompton barracks. Hotel very comfy and clean but needs a refurb and better lighting put in place but staff are friendly and food from the restaurant is nice. Will no doubt be staying here again soon.

Reviewed by
L Pattison

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, shame about the bar staff
Overall I was very satisfied other than one incident which to my mind showed the level of commitment to customer service to be lacking. As the football was on the bar was very busy with only one member of staff serving. When there was a short lull the bar person decided to take a break, perfectly justified. On her was out she asked reception staff to "watch the bar", they didn't bother. This left people (of which I was one) waiting to be served, at an unattended bar for up to ten minutes. On her return, there was no apology, just a comment about her being entitled to a break and a definite attitude that if we had been kept waiting it was tough luck and not her problem. All other staff we had dealings with were polite and helpful, shame this incident spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Jack P

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next