Reviews - Pier House Hotel


Harbour Front, ,, Charlestown, PL25 3NJ

Price From 245.05 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (8)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • John M

  • September 2015

A Little Gem in a Lovely Setting.

I was in room 29 in the annexe.

A single room with no sea views, but step out the front door and you have lovely views over the harbour. Plenty of activity in the evenings watching locals jumping from the harbour walls, the local rowing club out practising and anglers hoping for a catch. The room is clean and has all the usual facilities. Shower has plenty of hot water and a good pressure, though is a little on the narrow side. Maybe it says more about the size of me, rather than the shower cubicle. Towels are replaced every day. Bed is comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The only gripe I have is phone and tv is a bit hit and miss. Even David Cameron, when on holiday in Cornwall complains, but has yet to sort it out. Staff are lovely and friendly as well as being very helpful. Food is very good and very plentiful. Didn't eat in the main restaurant, but in the bar. Breakfast had a good choice and staff were very attentive and efficient. The Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan are not too far away as well, as some National Trust properties which are well worth a visit. I really enjoyed my five night stay here and would definitely return.

  • Anna P

  • June 2015

Pier House Hotel

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, lovely location, immaculately clean bathroom -very impressed!, good shower pressure, only drawback was that the bed and pillows were extremely soft and therefore not suitable if you suffer from backache!

  • Neil B

  • May 2015

Lovely stay! Great location

Room and en suite was excelently finished, spacious and immaculate.

Food was exceptional and staff genuinely helpful, although a short stay we will definitely come back for longer.

  • Debra L

  • September 2014

Don't stay in room5

Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

I stayed in room 5 which was at the back and positioned directly over the vent from the kitchen, there was a sign saying don't open the two very small windows because of the smell. I didn't open the window but the noise kept me awake and started very early in the morning. The room had no safe but did have a multiplicity of drawers. Breakfast was very well cooked, porridge, full English or kippers. Nice fruit salad, slightly chaotic service, took 15 minutes to take my order and bring me some coffee, only two other tables occupied when I arrived. Lovely view of the sea from the table. staff might need a bit more training.

  • Vivienne W

  • August 2014

Great spot for relaxing, people watching and sightseeing.

This hotel is located in an interesting spot, with quayside location and harbour/ sea views from some bedrooms [not mine] and from the dining room.

Hotel bedrooms are being re-furbished, and those completed look lovely. Staff all very nice and friendly. Bathroom towels changed daily. A pleasant sitting room for guests which is useful. Only complaint would be very loud music directly below my bedroom on the Saturday night, which was mentioned when booking, but not how loud it would be - had to turn off bedroom TV as couldn't hear it. However, the music did end before midnight.

  • Matthew H

  • July 2014

Excellent hotel and location

Excellent hotel with a fantastic location, very friendly staff

  • Jamie ODell

  • June 2014

Great hotel, lovely location

The hotel is situated overlooking the harbour area in Charlestown, which gave a great opportunity for a lovely walk along the beach and some beautiful scenery.

The room I was given was very spacious and well equipped and allowed for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. The staff were helpful and friendly and WiFi worked well in all areas.

  • M Neal

  • November 2013

The best in the area

This was my 5th stay at Pier House Hotel and the reason for this is simple: In my opinion the hotel offers the best in accommodation and food in the area.

The staff are always helpful, courteous and go out of their way to assist in any way they can. The rooms are spacious and well thought out with desk space to work and wi fi available throughout the hotel. The breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice and the grill cannot be bettered. The hotel sits on the key side so easy access to the coastal footpath and beach.