No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pier House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Harbour Front, , , Charlestown, PL25 3NJ
The Pier House Hotel overlooks the picturesque Charlestown Harbour of St. Austell, Cornwall. Charlestown is an unspoilt port, constructed under the orders of Mr. Charles Rashleigh, who later gave his name to the village. From Charlestown you are able to take a stroll across the cliff tops to nearby Porthpean Beach or wander to Carlyon Bay. There are two beaches close to The Pier House Hotel, where swimming is safe and at low tide the children can enjoy exploring the many rock pools or play on the sand. The Eden Project is only a few miles away and there are also many other gardens to visit. Our hotel bar is a free house, as is our new Harbour Side Inn and both offer some fine ales and a choice of bar meals. We have a new patio with plenty of seating where you can enjoy our food and drink whilst enjoying the scenery. We offer a wide selection of mouth-watering dishes from our á la carte menu and a choice of Chef’s Specials of the day, including many exciting fish courses made from fresh locally caught fish. You can also enjoy a delicious Cornish cream tea. All of our bedrooms are ensuite and have colour television, direct-dial telephone and tea/coffee making facilities. Many rooms have superb sea or harbour views – or both. We have family rooms which will sleep two adults and up to three children. At the Pier House Hotel we look forward to meeting you and ensuring that you enjoy your stay.
Picture of Pier House Hotel, Charlestown at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and location
Excellent hotel with a fantastic location, very friendly staff

Reviewed by
Matthew H

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, lovely location
The hotel is situated overlooking the harbour area in Charlestown, which gave a great opportunity for a lovely walk along the beach and some beautiful scenery. The room I was given was very spacious and well equipped and allowed for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.
The staff were helpful and friendly and WiFi worked well in all areas.

Reviewed by
Jamie ODell

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best in the area
This was my 5th stay at Pier House Hotel and the reason for this is simple:
In my opinion the hotel offers the best in accommodation and food in the area. The staff are always helpful, courteous and go out of their way to assist in any way they can. The rooms are spacious and well thought out with desk space to work and wi fi available throughout the hotel. The breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice and the grill cannot be bettered.
The hotel sits on the key side so easy access to the coastal footpath and beach.

Reviewed by
M Neal

From Old Stratford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend
Enjoyed a brief stay, couldn't fault the place. Only had breakfast so can't review the food. Staff friendly room well presented clean and tidy with a modern feel bathroom - no signs of age/wear etc.
Being in Charlestown, right on the quay, a very nice environment literally on your doorstep.

Reviewed by
Nick B

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very satisfying experience
An outstanding experience all round. The staff were so professional and friendly. They were all of smart appearance and well spoken. The hotel was in the middle of a refurbishment project and to all intents and purposes it was nearing completion. The standard of our room was outstanding. Plush and comfortable. Very good facilities. Breakfast was a joy. Smart lightly coloured furnished room, top quality fittings. Breakfast service was top quality. Food was delicious. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

Reviewed by
Eric Anderson

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Business's Stat
From when I walked through the door I was continuously surprised by how great everything was. Staff were lovely and friendly on check in. I was in room 28 which was in need of a good modernise but I can only assume this will be done as the hotel is having extensive refurb work being done. That said the bed and pillows were the best I have ever slept in when staying in a hotel! The shower was lovely but the noise of next door rooms coming on in the night was a bit annoying. The walls are quite thin
Too so earplugs would be good for light sleepers. In the morning the breakfast was amazing and very prompt which was great as I needed to get on. All in all a lovely stay and would recommend and stay again 100% :o)

Reviewed by
Katie W

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
Our room was at the back of the hotel although we still had a nice view, i thought the room was a bit dated, i think they were some some updating while we were there, the other parts of the hotel were very nice and the bar is cosy. The breakfast was very good and staff polite. The location was good.

Reviewed by
G Price

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unable to access hotel at 11.15pm due to front door being locked and bell not working.
early alarm call did not happen! good job i am resourceful in both cases.

Reviewed by
vicky lee comyn

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Local Hotel
Nothing was to much trouble during my stay friendly hotel with a local feel

Reviewed by
J Roberton

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely enjoyable stay, and far better than anticipated. I was expecting a bland, corporate hotel and was delighted to be put up in somewhere with real character - the kind of hotel I would choose to stay in for pleasure.
Arrived late, and restaurant was closed but chef very kindly stayed on to get me a meal, and food was excellent. Good breakfast and would recommend the local smoked haddock. Room fine, and good wifi signal, which made up for the lack of mobile signals in the St Austell area.

Reviewed by
Jane S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next