No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Barbon Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Barbon , Kirkby Lonsdale , LA6 2LJ
The Barbon Inn holds a perfect location, with The Lakes to the West and Dales to the East. Ideal for walking and Golf, the hotel offers good food, fine wine, real ale, log fires and luxury beds for your perfect break.
Located in the delightful village of Barbon, nestled in the Lune valley between the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, 10 minutes from Junction 36 of the M6 lies the Barbon Inn - this 17th former coaching inn is located in the quaint and quiet little village of Barbon in the Lune Valley. Found deep in the countryside between the Yorkshire Dales and the English Lake District (an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty), the hotel is the perfect base for a quiet getaway in beautiful scenic countryside. All ten of the bedrooms are individually furnished for comfort, are en-suite with colour TVs and tea/coffee making facilities. Come morning guests can wake from a great night’s sleep in the pleasant surroundings of their room fully refreshed to a fantastic full English breakfast with tea and coffee ready for the day ahead. The hotel's restaurant is in a smart, candle lit room and boasts an A la Carte menu, table d'hote menu and for guests not wishing to dine in the restaurant meals can be ordered from the bar menu and taken in the bar or the beer garden. PLEASE NOTE: Guests need to check in before 15:00 or after 18:00 as reception closed between these times, unless organised by prior arrangement.
Picture of Barbon Inn Hotel, Kirkby Lonsdale  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Same old, same old - FANTASTIC VALUE
OK, so the rooms are a little dated and the plumbing though efficient is a little noisy BUT the friendliness of the welcome, the cleanliness everywhere, the standard of the food and the incredible value for money means this pub is always our first choice when staying in the area. The rooms are comfortable, WiFi is available in some, there are always sufficient towels and water pressure, the bar and lounge are cozy - you'd go a long way to beat the Barbon.

Reviewed by
C Green

From Sandwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location and a good place to stay

Reviewed by
Neil V

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely traditional country pub in a beautifully peaceful location
We have visited the area a couple of times to stay and eat at Hipping Hall but on this occasion the accommodation there was not available so found this place instead. The room options suited us well as we were travelling with my father so having a single en suite room was good value for money. Our room was clean and a good size, comfortably fit the four poster bed and a seating area. The bar was cosy with a fire burning in an old range and hops hanging from the ceiling. Several options were available for breakfast and included various local produce. Parking could have been a bit tricky if we had a larger car.

Reviewed by
anne r

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonky old inn full of character
This is a lovely old coaching inn in the middle of nowhere but not too far from the M6. My single room was nothing special, clean but maybe a bit tired and my private bathroom was not ensuite (I think the other 8 rooms did have en suites but there's obviously a limit as to what can be carved out of such on old building) BUT - it's a lovely old 17th century building in a tiny village, full of atmosphere, the staff were great, the food was good, there were 3 or 4 log fires burning on a cold evening. The other guests were mostly local and on repeat visits and we had a good evening in the bar all chatting to each other, it's that sort of place. I loved it and would go back again, wonky walls are so much nicer than bland corporate.

Reviewed by
K Brindley

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Barbon Inn.Near Kirkby Longsdale.Cumbria.LA6 2LJ
We really enjoyed our stay at the Barbon Inn.The staff were very friendly.The bar was loverly and the food really nice.We stayed in the four poster bedroom which was very nice and very clean.we took our two westies who were both made to feel realy welcome.We had a proper chillax weekend just before a busy Christmas .

Reviewed by
D Alexander

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very clean comfortable hotel with a very warm welcome. quality period furnishings log fires in the public areas. The ambiance is excellent and because of the size of the hotel it retains a very intimate and comfortable feel.

Reviewed by
martin maynard

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
We booked a room for ourselves and one for my mother in law. Hers was beautifully done out, ours was nice and big but in need of a little updating and will I'm sure be lovely once it has also been modernised. Other than pervasive smells from the kitchen and our room being a little pricey given the dated decor, everything was just as it should be.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, nice room, good food, what more can you ask for!

Reviewed by
r johnson

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.