Reviews - Barbon Inn Hotel


Barbon, Kirkby Lonsdale , LA6 2LJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Allie M

  • February 2015

En-suite is along the landing!

The 'superior single' room bore no resemblance to the photo or description.

Access to the en-suite is actually out of the room and along the shared landing, and is a shabby bath and toilet with no wash basin (that is in the room). With only a small heater the room was cold. When I queried why the description wasn't accurate I was informed that there isn't enough space on the website to write "this room is not en-suite". Really.... Very poor value for money.

  • Gary C

  • January 2015

A Gem

Great cosy pub with three real fires.

Well stocked bar and lovely food. Room was nice,bed very comfy and the host's were very hospitable. In great walking country.Would recommend a visit.

  • Rob F

  • January 2015

First class stay at a very reasonable price

I was travelling to Kirkby to meet a friend and found this wonderful accommodation on laterooms.

From the welcome through to the outstanding breakfast I was thoroughly impressed and highly recommend this venue.

  • Deborah Alexander

  • December 2014

Stay was Realy nice,nice friendly place to stay.

Shower needs fixed,in room10,used room 9 bathroom,so wasn't a big problem.

  • Janet Wilson

  • December 2014

Great place to stay

Loved the place, room nice and clean, good breakfast with lovely sausages.

Good menu choice in the evening and meal great - try the gammon steak and the bread and butter pudding . Locals were really friendly with is important when you are on your own. Could not fault my stay and excellent service. Would come back again as handy for both the Dales and the Lakes.

  • C Green

  • December 2014

Same old, same old - FANTASTIC VALUE

OK, so the rooms are a little dated and the plumbing though efficient is a little noisy BUT the friendliness of the welcome, the cleanliness everywhere, the standard of the food and the incredible value for money means this pub is always our first choice when staying in the area.

The rooms are comfortable, WiFi is available in some, there are always sufficient towels and water pressure, the bar and lounge are cozy - you'd go a long way to beat the Barbon.

  • Neil V

  • October 2014

Lovely location and a good place to stay

  • anne r

  • May 2014

Lovely traditional country pub in a beautifully peaceful location

We have visited the area a couple of times to stay and eat at Hipping Hall but on this occasion the accommodation there was not available so found this place instead.

The room options suited us well as we were travelling with my father so having a single en suite room was good value for money. Our room was clean and a good size, comfortably fit the four poster bed and a seating area. The bar was cosy with a fire burning in an old range and hops hanging from the ceiling. Several options were available for breakfast and included various local produce. Parking could have been a bit tricky if we had a larger car.

  • K Brindley

  • March 2014

Wonky old inn full of character

This is a lovely old coaching inn in the middle of nowhere but not too far from the M6.

My single room was nothing special, clean but maybe a bit tired and my private bathroom was not ensuite (I think the other 8 rooms did have en suites but there's obviously a limit as to what can be carved out of such on old building) BUT - it's a lovely old 17th century building in a tiny village, full of atmosphere, the staff were great, the food was good, there were 3 or 4 log fires burning on a cold evening. The other guests were mostly local and on repeat visits and we had a good evening in the bar all chatting to each other, it's that sort of place. I loved it and would go back again, wonky walls are so much nicer than bland corporate.

  • D Alexander

  • January 2014

The Barbon Inn.Near Kirkby Longsdale.Cumbria.LA6 2LJ

We really enjoyed our stay at the Barbon Inn.The staff were very friendly.The bar was loverly and the food really nice.We stayed in the four poster bedroom which was very nice and very clean.we took our two westies who were both made to feel realy welcome.We had a proper chillax weekend just before a busy Christmas .