Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
68% would recommend it to a friend
A lovely country house in need of a bit of tlc
Set in beautiful countryside with a first class pub up the road this proved good value for money for us as we were going to a wedding near-by.
We would recommend it.
Lovely location, great customer service
Decor is a little tired, tv is older but has all channels.
I found it good for the couple of nights I required and the customer service was spot on!
manageress shocking attitude, drunk men spilling drinks, banging on doors
i stayed her as i had a harrowing case to work on the next day and needed rest, what i faced was horrible.
sat at the bar drinking my wine, expecting to wind down..instead two drunk men spilling drinks, going in and out of bar, so i left and went to bed. at 12.30 the said drunk man was outside my room kicking my door (laying down!) having urinated himself..how the bar staff carried on serving him is beyond me. later on that night he carried on running up and down the corridor making noise. no staff sorted him out. the manageress attitude was shocking, she didn't apologize, or offer me a refund. she was very narky and disbelieving. horrible attitude. felt really vulnerable at this hotel, do not go if your alone.
Response from hotel
Following our direct contact in which I outlined our upmost regret for the disturbance during your night here, our apologies again if this contact was considered unapologetic. It most certainly is not disbelief, and we offered our apologies prior to investigating any of the matter, it is our upmost importance that guests leave satisfied. As discussed, the disturbance was of 2 individuals who had visited a football game nearby, and returned at approx 10pm, which we established through CCTV and staff shift patterns. We did regretabely have an issue with them, spilling drink (not urinating as suggested), and they were not served further drinks at the Hotel. As one of 7 rooms on this corridor and the only room affected, it is most unfortunate of the timeframe and occurances to have been situated there. Our recollection is that the entire occurance took approx 10-20mins to unfold and resolve, and we felt our staff acted as quickly as was possible to defuse the matter. Our team assisted in escorting them directly to their rooms as soon as we were aware of the matter. Once there, we see they do not move until late morning so the disturbance, although regretable, was at the point of their return and we have no note or coverage that it was continuous. Of course had it been continuous throughout the night in this manner you state, we would urge you made contact with the staff to resolve. Our Night Porter monitored this following the initial return and we regret that the efforts of our staff were not satisfactory for you on this occasion.
I do hope you can appreciate this rare occurance and use us again when working in the area.
Staff made the weekend a real pleasure.
I stayed in 205, the room needed an update.
There was a broken pane of glass in the window, which I needed to open as the room was very warm. I struggled quite a bit with the window, as it was a sash window and there was no counterbalance on it. The bathroom was very dark and was an extension of the wardrobe units, very weird and very dated. The TV had a free view box and 2 remotes, the TV one was a universal remote, no instructions, after 10 minutes I gave up. I phoned reception 3 times, no answer and eventually had to go done to the bar to ask for help. The food and service was great and I did have a good night's sleep though. It was good value for money.
I booked the room well in advance and we were allowed to check in early.
The room and stay were both very nice, although there was no jacuzzi bath. The day before our stay I received a call saying that there would be no restaurant available for dinner due to company parties going on. I was given the option to cancel but at such late notice I couldn't find anywhere else so couldn't cancel as the stay was for my husbands birthday. Due to this fact we had to get taxis in and out of Norwich and ear out.
Business trip to Norwich
Booked the hotel as the rate was very reasonable, especially compared to other properties within the city centre.
Excellent customer service at the reception desk and very friendly and chatty staff in the bar and restaurant. Room was large and well presented if a little dated in places, but was perfect for a night or 2 on business. Good shower and decent TV. Only real gripe - no biscuits on the tea tray.
It's a shame such amazing architecture is the best about this hotel
Nice looking room, comfortable bed but being a zip together it is uncomfortable over the join & meant I might as well have been in a single.
The most limited Coffee & tea tray I have ever had. No internal phone & despite requesting one the staff member attending said she could if I really wanted to make phone calls. Really wish I had insisted as multiple incidents that night from inconsiderate guests could have been dealt with by the night porter but I was unable to contact him. Breakfast is similar to the coffe tray - very basic. 4 tables occupied for dinner on Saturday night one starter, one main meal & vanilla ice cream not available from a small menu. Customer service is an alien concept with what seemed like 3 youngsters being the only visible staff and no one in seniority. Overall a lovely building and beautiful setting which is a shame as it isn't enough to make a stay enjoyable or memorable for the right reasons.
Caistor Hall Hotel
I have stayed here on business over the years and it used to be a very good find to service Norwich and the surrounds for business.
This was my first time back for 2 years and my dinner was exceptionally good, but sadly my breakfast charged @ £9.00 was a complete waste of money and quite frankly was a rip off, to a point it has now marred my judgement on the whole experience. I am writing this from another Hotel in Shrewsbury, booked via LateRooms.com and they charge £6.00 for breakfast. Nuff said............
Very disappointed in our stay.
The bedroom curtain had come off the end of the rail (assume no 'stopper' at end of rail).
Although a double room the tea/coffee making facility only provided one cup and one teabag. No bath soap or shower products provided until asked for. The four poster bed was the very worst bed we have ever slept in - it was incredibly unbelieveably squeaky so turning in bed or in fact any ,movement at all was disturbing to say the least.
The hotel decor looks very tired in all honesty. Management needs to urgently liaise with the hotel maintenance and cleaning staff about the various issues.
On check out we mentioned the above to the young receptionist who was also trying to serve breakfast..and no offer of a discount was offered 0 we do believe that if she had the authority to offer such she should have - or found someone who could authorize this. As a result we would not recommend this hotel to anyone and are very disappointed.