Reviews - The Salisbury Hotel


30-32 Clifton Gardens, Folkestone, CT20 2EF

Price From 53.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (43)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Carroll

  • August 2015

Old world charm, service and price !

Everything is relative; thus, for the price the hotel was great value.

My room was wonderfully quiet, and like many well run establishments, the fellow guests exhibited respect despite it being an inexpensive and tired place. I was pleasantly surprised, and the staff from reception to breakfast wait staff couldn't be nicer. Thank you.

  • Christina S

  • August 2015

Last Minute Booking pre morning ferry

Realising we would have to leave at 4.00am to check in for our ferry, we booked this hotel on the spur of the moment so we would be close to the terminal in Dover.

We were looking for the cheapest possible deal and there was little choice, however as it turned out this hotel was exactly what we wanted. The location was great and having arrived at 10.30pm, we woke to wonderful sea views. The lady on reception was lovely and as we arrived so late still really accommodating. We had a quiet sit down in the bar and a very restful nights sleep. The Hotel is as described and it was the sort of place that we felt quite at home and the simple room absolutely met our needs. Although some of the furnishings were tired, bedding and towels were spotless. This is the first place I have stayed in ages, where there was a blanket and bedspread and not duvet. If I was being picky, I'd say the lack of bedside light was a downside as it meant I could not read in bed, and once the main light was out, as the switch was by the door, you had to guess your way back to bed. As it was I didn't want to read anyway.

  • kay h

  • July 2015


dont know where to start

  • Sarah M

  • June 2015

The Salisbury Hotel

Building looked beautiful from outside, its all neglected inside

  • Hudson C

  • April 2015

My Worst Easter Outing

The lady at reception was somehow rude her first response when I told her that we were booked through LateRooms her responds was "There are no rooms here" she would not let me speak to the manager either.

After waiting for a while she told me to wait while she tries to find me a room. To my relief, I was allocated room 209 which is spacious enough to accommodate the four of us. the bed linen was good. When my TV broke down, I had to walk down to reception to report the fault because there is no telephone in the room. I was given a working TV set but ended up with two sets because he left the none working behind as well, wires to the kettle and TV are a health hazard especially when one has children around. The hotel has a strong odour. My children enjoyed the food as much as I did. The hotel is generally strategically positioned to the beach.

  • S Rotherforth

  • March 2015

Comfortable and Clean

Very comfortable and clean but the hotel felt run down and needed some TLC putting back in to it.

On saying that the two nights we stayed were ok. We noticed signs saying NO SMOKING yet when sat in the bar area we could smell strong cigarette smoke and all of us commented on this it was over powering at times. But it was value for money.

  • L pettitt

  • March 2015

Cheap room but overal good experience.

My partner and I were travelling along the south coast and stopped here for our first night, it was very cheap and we only really wanted a cheap room for a quick overnight stay.

This is what we got. Folkestone was a bit rough but the hotel when we found it was good, clean with large rooms and shower, no wifi but it was a cheap room. The hotel was dated, coffee and tea making facilities were dated to not very nice coffee/tea in the room and breakfast cereal was available which seemed a bit bland. However, the English breakfast and coffee made up for the downfalls.

  • Richard S

  • March 2015

Cheap and Cheerful

If your expecting the Ritz then this isn't for you.

In need of some TLC (and cold hard cash spending on it) to bring it up to date. But it is what it is and as a place to stop for a night or two at a very fair rate then it can not be faulted. Travelling for business meant that I only needed somewhere to sleep!!. Spacious rooms and a comfy bed and very helpful/cheerful staff. Would have no problems at all stopping here again when back in the area.

  • Valerie C

  • March 2015

Cheap and cheerful

The hotel has seen better days and could do with some TLC.

The furniture was old but serviceable and my room was clean (and had a sea view). I would have preferred a duvet rather than blanket and the shower was covered in lime scale and black mould, but I slept well and the staff were really nice and helpful, particularly with directions. TV tiny but worked (once Rosemary showed me how to get it going). Good breakfast and there were plentiful supplies on hospitality tray. For what I paid it was good value but now I've seen Folkestone I will be looking for somewhere else to visit.

  • Wayne S

  • January 2015

Overall good budget B&B

Spacious room.

Decent cleanliness. One window failed to shut properly, leaving the room very cold at night, especially when it's windy outside. Facilities was very basic but you get what you paid for. Breakfast was very nice and the hosts were nice and friendly. Overall: Good value for money.