The Salisbury Hotel

2

30-32 Clifton Gardens, Folkestone, CT20 2EF

Price From 67.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (63)

44% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Hudson C

  • April 2015

My Worst Easter Outing

The lady at reception was somehow rude her first response when I told her that we were booked through LateRooms her responds was "There are no rooms here" she would not let me speak to the manager either.

After waiting for a while she told me to wait while she tries to find me a room. To my relief, I was allocated room 209 which is spacious enough to accommodate the four of us. the bed linen was good. When my TV broke down, I had to walk down to reception to report the fault because there is no telephone in the room. I was given a working TV set but ended up with two sets because he left the none working behind as well, wires to the kettle and TV are a health hazard especially when one has children around. The hotel has a strong odour. My children enjoyed the food as much as I did. The hotel is generally strategically positioned to the beach.

  • S Rotherforth

  • March 2015

Comfortable and Clean

Very comfortable and clean but the hotel felt run down and needed some TLC putting back in to it.

On saying that the two nights we stayed were ok. We noticed signs saying NO SMOKING yet when sat in the bar area we could smell strong cigarette smoke and all of us commented on this it was over powering at times. But it was value for money.

  • L pettitt

  • March 2015

Cheap room but overal good experience.

My partner and I were travelling along the south coast and stopped here for our first night, it was very cheap and we only really wanted a cheap room for a quick overnight stay.

This is what we got. Folkestone was a bit rough but the hotel when we found it was good, clean with large rooms and shower, no wifi but it was a cheap room. The hotel was dated, coffee and tea making facilities were dated to not very nice coffee/tea in the room and breakfast cereal was available which seemed a bit bland. However, the English breakfast and coffee made up for the downfalls.

  • Richard S

  • March 2015

Cheap and Cheerful

If your expecting the Ritz then this isn't for you.

In need of some TLC (and cold hard cash spending on it) to bring it up to date. But it is what it is and as a place to stop for a night or two at a very fair rate then it can not be faulted. Travelling for business meant that I only needed somewhere to sleep!!. Spacious rooms and a comfy bed and very helpful/cheerful staff. Would have no problems at all stopping here again when back in the area.

  • Valerie C

  • March 2015

Cheap and cheerful

The hotel has seen better days and could do with some TLC.

The furniture was old but serviceable and my room was clean (and had a sea view). I would have preferred a duvet rather than blanket and the shower was covered in lime scale and black mould, but I slept well and the staff were really nice and helpful, particularly with directions. TV tiny but worked (once Rosemary showed me how to get it going). Good breakfast and there were plentiful supplies on hospitality tray. For what I paid it was good value but now I've seen Folkestone I will be looking for somewhere else to visit.

  • Wayne S

  • January 2015

Overall good budget B&B

Spacious room.

Decent cleanliness. One window failed to shut properly, leaving the room very cold at night, especially when it's windy outside. Facilities was very basic but you get what you paid for. Breakfast was very nice and the hosts were nice and friendly. Overall: Good value for money.

  • Daniel L

  • January 2015

ok for a night

Needs a lot of work.

But for a night or two as a base its fine. The staff where very nice, parking is easy and town is a short walk away.

  • Sarah D

  • September 2014

Tired old hotel with alot of charm. Needs upgrading but we loved it

Fantastic views from the bay window overlooking the sea.

Tired old victorian/edwardian hotel in need of some tlc but we liked it. Bathroom was ensuite but the door was sliding so not too private, shower was attached to taps. Ceilings are very high and in need of decoration but the place was clean, airy and well presented. Fantastic prices for 2 and we'd come again. Staff very friendly and breakfast was great.

  • Trevor H

  • September 2014

The Salisbury in its day would have been a grand hotel.

High ceilings, huge windows, great location by the sea. It is in need of some love to update the decor. Our included breakfast was adequate and the room was a great size, we had a family room. We were looking for affordable with a decent location and the Salisbury fits that label.

  • t hatcher

  • August 2014

we will be back to stay soon

lovely traditional feel to this hotel,also has a really friendly atmosphere the staff could not be any more friendly or helpful,breakfast is a really pleasant experience good food an lovely welcoming staff been here 3 times an will most certainly be back soon :)