No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Salisbury Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
30-32 Clifton Gardens, Folkestone, CT20 2EF
This elegant hotel is ideally situated on the Folkestone Leas overlooking the English Channel. The hotel offers superb Channel views from majority of all bedrooms and on clear days France is visible. Many attractions are within easy walking and driving distance. For those attending conferences the conference venue is a two-minute walk.

The hotel is open all year round and features elegant and comfortable en-suite rooms, an excellent restaurant for guests, an inviting bar, and plenty of places to sit outside on pleasant days, with live entertainment most nights in season.
Picture of The Salisbury Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Salisbury in its day would have been a grand hotel. High ceilings, huge windows, great location by the sea. It is in need of some love to update the decor. Our included breakfast was adequate and the room was a great size, we had a family room. We were looking for affordable with a decent location and the Salisbury fits that label.

Reviewed by
Trevor H

From Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we will be back to stay soon
lovely traditional feel to this hotel,also has a really friendly atmosphere the staff could not be any more friendly or helpful,breakfast is a really pleasant experience good food an lovely welcoming staff been here 3 times an will most certainly be back soon :)

Reviewed by
t hatcher

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

do not book
this hotel needs a complete clean

Reviewed by
N Hook

From Hayling Island, Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly and helpful, hotel requires a good redecoration,breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
paul w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be nice with some TLC .Is very run down old and grubby
This hotel needs a complete refurbish has not been maintained . Even just basic things like seat pads
on bar stools had filling coming through. Have never stayed anywhere where no sink in bathroom
it was in bedroom so no privacy.Furniture & furnishings all just bits & pieces.Had a tiny tv that didnt work due to seafret? only 1 ariel on roof we were told.Only receptionist on hand .on a plus the bed was comfy & breakfast was ok although we were not told there was a choice.Ok stay for workmen
passing through .Glad only stayed 1 night.Wont be going back.I heard the receptionist say to a couple that checked in then came down and said not gonna stay as too dirty the response was
we are only a 2star.Not a good reply.

Reviewed by
K Wells

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed and poorly maintained
I booked this hotel on location and had driven past and thought it looked okay.
Room 104 was a front sea front bay window with plenty of room but on first night we were unable to shower due to no hot water. This was rectified the next day fault of thermostat.
The shower was a pipe connected to the bath taps and splashed water everywhere. The lid to the bin fell off.
We have stayed in all levels of hotel but had not seen this type of furniture since the 60's - stained wood, headboard with attached side tables and the small black box of a TV where we could get only 1 channel.
Curtains did not fit any of the windows.kettle - we had to hold down the top to make the connection - very dangerous and pointed out to get put right.
The bed had a blanket under the bottom sheet - awful and unhygenic - how much does a mattress cover cost ?
On returning at night we found a cigarette dropped on the bathroom floor.
Overall appearance - not maintained to an acceptable standard.
In fact we would like a refund !
Overall appearance

Reviewed by
R Buxton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night only
The bed was rather uncomfortable, the water pressure was very poor so unable to have a shower.
Room reasonable for the price.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
H HAGGART

From WHETSTONE, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

does what it says on the tin
whilst the hotel looks tired the staff do all they can to make sure you are comfortable and well catered for

Reviewed by
s parker

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most dirtiest hotel we have ever stayed in windows jamed open toilet bathroom ,I would not wash my dog in, carpet you stuck to, and we would not risk our health by eating the breakast.

Reviewed by
e baldwinson

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charity Function
Considering the hotel is doing a lot of refurbishment, my husband and I were quite satisfied. It will need quite a bit of cash spent on it to bring above3star.

Reviewed by
A Stone

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next