No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highway Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
117 High Street , Burford, OX18 4RG
The Highway Inn dating 1480 is full of great Character with modern subtle touches. We are a leading family owned and run cosy Inn, right in the heart of Burford, in-between Oxford and Cheltenham. Rivers, fantastic walking, wildlife and great independent boutiques and shops are all close-by.

We are very proud to have been awarded 4 star Inn status by both the AA and Visit Britain. We are also proud of our Seasonal menus, with a focus on locally sourced ingredients and homemade food wherever possible.

As one of the few Free houses left in the area we pride ourselves on the largest range of local beers which goes hand in hand with our local producers and suppliers for our food, along with an extensive wine list 15 wines by the glass. Recently, we have added a new cosy Cellar Bar and Function room, which is open at weekends and for organised events, we also have a restored medieval courtyard at the rear for those warmer nights.

Picture of The Highway Inn, Burford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

four poster bed ?
paid extra for room with a 4 poster bed, which was just a normal bed with a wooden pole attached on each corner> not what was envisaged.

Reviewed by
stephen h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had an enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
m Smallshaw

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Passing through
Very friendly with good service. Parking a problem. I realise that the inn is under recent new management and they are making changes but the hotel did look tired and the rooms generally dark. Cost top of the scale which we didn't feel was fully reflected in the accomodation on offer.

Reviewed by
Tony N

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to chill out and enjoy a quieter pace of life. Owners and staff lovely people. Great food!!

Reviewed by
Tom McCann

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Relaxing with friendly helpful staff.... great accommodation, great food.. breakfast and evening

Reviewed by
Peter P

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highway Inn
Food and service were very good but the room was a bit lacking (ceiling light was dirty, décor was a bit tired, and cupboard space was very limited).

Reviewed by
Lynn Pritchard

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. After mentioning that we were on honeymoon, we were upgraded to the four poster bed room. Breakfast each morning was very nice (cooked breakfast) and the service was fast. The rooms themselves were en-suite and well looked after. As with old buildings, I had to duck a few times (6' 1"), but this is part of the old country inn experience! The atmosphere was warm, friendly and personal. I was allowed to have a go on the honky-tonk piano in the restaurant while the other guests were out. There was a small amount of complimentary dessert wine in the rooms.

Reviewed by
Jeremy Evans

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend at the Highway Inn
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The highway Inn. The staff were excellent.
Our room was full of charm and the added bonus of a complimentary sherry decanter and two glasses on the dressing table got the evening off to a lovely start. We stayed in for dinner on our first night and were not disappointed, the food was excellent.
Breakfast the following morning was lovely.

Reviewed by
Amanda Howell

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Highway Inn
Loved staying here, olde worlde room great night s sleep. Yummy breakfast , would stay again.

Reviewed by
jane z

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were given a warm welcome and a choice of rooms. There was even a carafe as was the breakfast. of sherry ,compliments of the hosts. The evening meal was nicely cooked using local produce . The bedroom was roomy with beams and a comfy bed, what more do you want for a one night stay.

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next