No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 161 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outdated and in desperate need of overhaul
On arrival the hotel looked old and grey.. The lobby was ok but the public spaces were very worn. There was yellow and black warning tape holding down carpet edges in the bar and it had a smell of greasy hair about it! I shuddered.. The room although we were upgraded to an executive was very old worn and depressing.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice lobby with very shabby rooms
I booked this room for less than £50, at a discounted price and would have felt ripped off if I had paid the full price for this room. My initial impression of the hotel from the lobby was good, but once I got to my room, my impression changed. The twin room that I stayed in was in a bad state with holes in the walls and stains all over the place. I couldn't hear any noise from the next rooms but the noise from people in the corridor was quite disturbing - the doors need to be better soundproofed. Breakfast was decent enough and the service was OK. I wouldn't go back though because of the state of the room. It is a shame because the hotel has the potential to be really good - I feel it needs to smarten up the bedrooms and extend the wi-fi from just the public areas to the bedrooms.

Reviewed by
Helen F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Post War architectural blues.
Hotel Britannia Coventry provides comfortable accommodation and a wholesome breakfast.
The building is showing it's age somewhat, some interior fittings are very near to end of life, however, everything seemed to work OK, but it is possible that the outdated single glazed windows added to the impact of noise from the city bus station.
The staff are friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Ronald Green

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of an update, window cleaning and noisy from traffic and a gospel chuch service in the hotel
The brochure says 211 ensuite rooms, tastfully decorated. ..Yes probably in 1980 when they were done, but the peeling wallpaper, damaged doors, walls and furniture, the mouldy carpets, poor repairs and much more would attest to a hotel that is surviving rather than thriving.
It is central, so handy for those coach trip tourists who were leaving on mass every day and obviously has a high turnover of short stay guests attracted by the £35 per night city price tag. The road is noisy from quite early and filthy dirty windows need to be open as there was no air con.
There is a gospel church meeting on Wed evenings in the hotel that is very very loud for a couple of hours. So take some ear plugs if you are planning to relax in your room and don't want to hear praising the lord at high volume. Don't get me wrong I like gospel music, but when I choose to listen to it, not when it's forced on me. Not so much into the prayers over the loudspeakers though.
That said, it is very central for the cathedral, town and handy for the bus station and the cleaning staff were very helpful finding me comfy pillows. The room was clean and the housekeeping obviously worked hard.

Reviewed by
Pamela C

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget hotel.
We stayed here for 1 night as we were taking part in the West Orchards charity abseil and just needed somewhere to lay our heads after. Arrival was very good, close to bus station and gentlemen on reception was very polite. Our room was on the 6th floor (stairs are a killer, take the lift!!) and so our only real problem was the heat as the weather was so hot, even with the window open it was very muggy and stuffy. Room itself was ok, slightly worn out and old decor but had everything we needed and bed was comfortable. The hotel was quite noisy in the night as you would expect with the city centre on a Saturday night, not helped by the heat so window had to stay open but this is the price you pay for proximity to city centre. Didn't try the food as was pricey compared to wether spoons breakfast round the corner! We were also woken by a lovely but loud evangelical church service outside on the Sunday morning, again because the windows had to be open. Overall a well spent £39 for a basic room to rest our heads.

Reviewed by
Rachael H

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor stay.
I stayed at the hotel for one night before an interview in Coventry the next day. The staff at the reception were quite unwelcoming and unhelpful. I did not sleep well due to the room being extremely warm due to little ventilation. The room could have done with a lick of paint but was clean all the same. The lift was dirty and had not been cleaned for a while though I did arrive at 9pm at night (but still). At breakfast I had to find my own table and no one welcomed me to the table. I will be obviously not recommend stay to anyone.

Reviewed by
joel k

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outdated
i find the room outdated i have stayed at other places which is a lot cheaper and the rooms are first class and modern would stay here again but not £40 a night

Reviewed by
J M Burgess

From Abingdon, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Satty M

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate for a night away
My stay was probably a one off, I had two homeless people in the room next door, they were arguing when I arrived (6.30) and they were still arguing at 1am.. I rang reception a few times but no answer, to make matters worse the couple started fighting in the corridor and set off the fire alarm.. Screaming sirens for 15 minutes until the staff turned it off and finally threw the couple out of the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Evans

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Truly appalling..And not interested in replying to complaints
I stay in a lot of hotels. My recent stay at the Brittania in Coventry was truly terrible:-
Workmen working in barriered of pit inside front door, other front door can only 'slam' shut
Given a twin despite booking a double. Decoration awful, Tv from prehistory. Only 2 out of 3 lifts working (Particularly annoying, when having preopaid for 2 nights keycard cancelled after 1 so had to make return trip from 6th floor to reception!) When they 'serviced' my room they just replaced the towels and little shower gels, didn't touch the beds or remove dirty glass from night before (Why bother at all? ) despite my having left room by 7.45am and not returned til after 9.00pm. Breakfast - dried up bacon and eggs and cheap bread sausages (Ate in a popular bakery the next morning..Seriously better1!)Why didn't I complain? Because there was nobody on reception!!! Truly an apalling experience.
This is an exact copy of the complaint I sent to Brittania Hotels' customer services. I didn't even receive an acknowledgement that they had received the complaint. Very poor!

Reviewed by
R Hutchinson

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next