No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 160 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay in Coventry Britannia Hotel.
We were very dissappointed with our recent stay at the Britannia Hotel in Coventry City Centre.
We have used this hotel before and never had the problems we experienced this stay. We arrived on Friday evening at 18:30hrs after an 8 hour drive from our home to be told by a very rude young lady/receptionist that we did not have a booking at the hotel.
I provided the email I had confirming my reservation and eventually a gentlemen came and tried to find our booking on his booking system after 40 mins and a telephone call by him to late rooms he told us our booking was confirmed for the 9th not the 19th but they would provide us with a room for the 2 nights stay. After my telephone call with Late rooms today23rd September the lady I spoke to said no telephone call had been made about our booking on Friday.
The room was adaquate but needed a new bathroom suite the sink was very badly cracked and the bath chipped the curtains did not close properly as a lot of them were of the curtain rail I felt we had been put in a room that was used for emergencies
We were very dissapointed with the overall experience. My family live in Coventry and we as a family find this hotel is ideal for our short stays but after our last experience we will definitely be re thinking where we stay.

Reviewed by
D Laidlaw

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
When arriving at the hotel, loud music was played in the bar and the restaurant was still open for half an hour. They were prepared to provide me with a main course, but the rice, pork casserole and fish on one plate was not what I expected. It looked like a dog had been sick on my plate and when I stated that I couldn't eat it, I was aksed to pay £8.94.
The state of the room was was awful with curtains falling down and no rail in the wardrobe. All in all £108.94 for this experience would explain my poor rating for this 'hotel'. Never again

Reviewed by
Martin B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear
No parking - have to use the public offering about 100 yards down the road.
Reception and bar arent too bad, but in desperate need of refurbishment.
Lifts were very beat up, leaving you feeling unsafe whilst in them.
I was on the seventh floor, which is not especially clean - again in desperate need of refurbishment.
And for the room - dear oh dear.
Its clear nothing has been done to them in several decades.
Carpet was dirty, as was the bed which appeared to have food, mascara and maybe blood(!?)/lipstick on it.
The walls and bed head rest were scuffed to pieces, and there were questionable marks/stains on all the surfaces.
Wires hanging out the back of the TV causing trip hazards - the picture also didnt work with most channels producing white noise.
Shower didnt work, which I did report and they sent a polite young chap up to fix it whilst I went out for the evening.
Upon my return it seemed to be working, but wasnt again when I got up in the morning.
Really not impressed at all, and couldnt even be bothered to complain as it was such a joke.
Hairs on the bathroom

Reviewed by
Ian S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for the most part.
Although the room was fine, on the whole, the facilities could do with updating i.e. TV, access points for plugs and tea making etc. also, on both mornings of my stay I was disturbed by the fire alarm... I believe they were drills, but hadn't been forewarned of this.

Reviewed by
E Clement

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room lacked a toilet brush and a loo roll holder. Our sink did not have a basin plug and was had several chips in it, while our shower dial was falling apart.
The rest of the room wasn't too bad although the curtains were dirty and smelt of damp.
There might have been more wrong with the room but I wouldn't know. I barely spent any time in there because of the Insomnia Festival. For events like this the Britannia is great. It's cheap, smack in the city centre and next to Sainsbury's, Wetherspoons and the bus station/taxi rank.
Have stayed there before, will probably stay again but don't expect too much from your room.

Reviewed by
A King

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again!!!
On checking in was given pass key to my room on arrival I found this
Was already occupied!! Went back to reception no real apology by reception staff allocated another room dirty &dated wwouldn't even describe it!! Dirty & old yuk yuk!!

Reviewed by
sam sansoy

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable city centre value for money hotel
reception customer service was excellent. There was an early hours of the morning fire alarm that amounted to nothing serious but the way the duty manager dealt with customers was calm, informative and well executed. Hotel a bit tired/old fashioned but that was what I expected on booking. Overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A reasonably cheap hotel close to where I needed to be
The hotel is very tatty with only one of the lifts working however it was cheap so would have been happy to stay again. However, following check out I was charged again as a no show. When I called to complain I was told by the hotel that it was my fault even though it subsequently turned out to be the hotel's error. I made a written complaint but I have had no apology so unlikely to be staying in this hotel again as would not be able to trust them not to over charge me again.

Reviewed by
Tim D

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor stay

Reviewed by
Anita J

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Receptionists Rude
Receptionist was rude on check in and check out. Had a booking confirmation sent to my email by Laterooms but didn't reflect on the hotel's computers. Showed the booking to the receptionist and she rudely said that was not her problem and I needed to contact Laterooms to call the hotel. After calling Laterooms the assistant told me the hotel should have rang them not me. Very messed communication between both parties.

Reviewed by
N Y.

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next