No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 161 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for the most part.
Although the room was fine, on the whole, the facilities could do with updating i.e. TV, access points for plugs and tea making etc. also, on both mornings of my stay I was disturbed by the fire alarm... I believe they were drills, but hadn't been forewarned of this.

Reviewed by
E Clement

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room lacked a toilet brush and a loo roll holder. Our sink did not have a basin plug and was had several chips in it, while our shower dial was falling apart.
The rest of the room wasn't too bad although the curtains were dirty and smelt of damp.
There might have been more wrong with the room but I wouldn't know. I barely spent any time in there because of the Insomnia Festival. For events like this the Britannia is great. It's cheap, smack in the city centre and next to Sainsbury's, Wetherspoons and the bus station/taxi rank.
Have stayed there before, will probably stay again but don't expect too much from your room.

Reviewed by
A King

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again!!!
On checking in was given pass key to my room on arrival I found this
Was already occupied!! Went back to reception no real apology by reception staff allocated another room dirty &dated wwouldn't even describe it!! Dirty & old yuk yuk!!

Reviewed by
sam sansoy

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable city centre value for money hotel
reception customer service was excellent. There was an early hours of the morning fire alarm that amounted to nothing serious but the way the duty manager dealt with customers was calm, informative and well executed. Hotel a bit tired/old fashioned but that was what I expected on booking. Overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor stay

Reviewed by
Anita J

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Receptionists Rude
Receptionist was rude on check in and check out. Had a booking confirmation sent to my email by Laterooms but didn't reflect on the hotel's computers. Showed the booking to the receptionist and she rudely said that was not her problem and I needed to contact Laterooms to call the hotel. After calling Laterooms the assistant told me the hotel should have rang them not me. Very messed communication between both parties.

Reviewed by
N Y.

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outdated and in desperate need of overhaul
On arrival the hotel looked old and grey.. The lobby was ok but the public spaces were very worn. There was yellow and black warning tape holding down carpet edges in the bar and it had a smell of greasy hair about it! I shuddered.. The room although we were upgraded to an executive was very old worn and depressing.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central and Clean
Stayed overnight for a concert, suited my purposes, central, clean

Reviewed by
Nigel M

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice lobby with very shabby rooms
I booked this room for less than £50, at a discounted price and would have felt ripped off if I had paid the full price for this room. My initial impression of the hotel from the lobby was good, but once I got to my room, my impression changed. The twin room that I stayed in was in a bad state with holes in the walls and stains all over the place. I couldn't hear any noise from the next rooms but the noise from people in the corridor was quite disturbing - the doors need to be better soundproofed. Breakfast was decent enough and the service was OK. I wouldn't go back though because of the state of the room. It is a shame because the hotel has the potential to be really good - I feel it needs to smarten up the bedrooms and extend the wi-fi from just the public areas to the bedrooms.

Reviewed by
Helen F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of an update, window cleaning and noisy from traffic and a gospel chuch service in the hotel
The brochure says 211 ensuite rooms, tastfully decorated. ..Yes probably in 1980 when they were done, but the peeling wallpaper, damaged doors, walls and furniture, the mouldy carpets, poor repairs and much more would attest to a hotel that is surviving rather than thriving.
It is central, so handy for those coach trip tourists who were leaving on mass every day and obviously has a high turnover of short stay guests attracted by the £35 per night city price tag. The road is noisy from quite early and filthy dirty windows need to be open as there was no air con.
There is a gospel church meeting on Wed evenings in the hotel that is very very loud for a couple of hours. So take some ear plugs if you are planning to relax in your room and don't want to hear praising the lord at high volume. Don't get me wrong I like gospel music, but when I choose to listen to it, not when it's forced on me. Not so much into the prayers over the loudspeakers though.
That said, it is very central for the cathedral, town and handy for the bus station and the cleaning staff were very helpful finding me comfy pillows. The room was clean and the housekeeping obviously worked hard.

Reviewed by
Pamela C

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next