Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre


Fairfax Street, Coventry, CV1 5RP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (131)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Smith

  • October 2015

Overpriced for an old fashioned room

Standard of the room was fine but in need of a refurb.

It would have been fine if it hadn't been so expensive. £65 seems excessive for such a mediocre room. But it was fit for purpose and if I could get a cheaper rate I would stay again. Breakfast was fine. Overall it's ok just a not amazing.

  • Manjit Dhillon

  • August 2015

not clean rooms

The room was dirty needed cleaning toilets not working.

Asked for a double room 3 weeks in advance got a bad room with no toilet working. Asked to be changed to another double room. Did not get.

  • Jill R

  • June 2015

Tired and shabby

Conveniently located hotel , though first impressions are not good.

Externally it looks dirty and unattractive. The interior matches the exterior - tired, shabby and sense that it's all a bit grubby. Room very hot, with no air conditioning and limited window opening. Parking is in public car park 100 yards away. No discount of cost. Car park haunt of homeless people who politely beg for money - in middle of day. In the evening this is quite intimidating. Hotel says it is about to embark on refurbishing programme- needs to happen sooner rather than later.

  • M Martin

  • June 2015

Quick weekend break

Quick decision to book Coventry found good price at Britannia, we did upgrade too on arrival room was clean bed was a bit dated cold do with a few alterations tha would then make the room really good, we had s balcony that was nice just needed a sweep up as cigarets on floor, bathroom was nice jacuzzi bath looked good but didn't work.

But we had a nice stay all the same.

  • M maguire

  • June 2015

Great location, lovely staff, hotel old but maintained.

Great location, receptionist very helpful.

larger than average room, bath and shower. Stayed here a few times and work is being done on the hotel to clean up some of the more tired rooms. Great value for money.

  • Davide S

  • May 2015



  • s anderson

  • April 2015

tired and embarrasing

We booked into the britannia and were given a room, with holes in the walls, no painted, toilet that was broken and had been used, the bin was cracked, seat was wooden and had been wet that number of times it was like sawdust.

taken to another room, curtains short for windows, bed was clean but bed placed not in correct position so could not sit up in bed as my light was central to bed and another bedside light was meter opp side. unable to watch TV as when in bed too low, furniture looked like bought in second hand shop. took own pillow(feather) and unfortunate left it -rang hotel immediately and told housekeeping to fwd on, then it disappeared and no apology of offer of refund. visitors from abroad was embarrassed to think this is what we accept in UK?. breakfast was sad and waitress's dress looked unclean.

  • k lewis

  • April 2015

Just needs revamping.

However it's quiet, safe & comfortable

  • Jonathan M

  • April 2015


No hotel car park so it's the municipal a couple of hundred yards down the street.

A man was double charged two nights stay with a one night printed check-in card in his hand as I checked in. The hotel lift needs overhauled as do the bar area and the bedroom door handles - old, antiquainted. The room was fine but no hot water in the morning for a shower and YES, the windows do need a clean!

  • Steven B

  • April 2015

Pleasant but dated

Decor dated .

room clean and beds comfy. Ok for money.would stop again.