No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 156 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for the money that you pay but....
Even though I asked for a non-smoking room, I got a smoking one, which smelled pretty bad all together. In addition, I didn't feel really safe there. The personnel was very nice and well behaved but some other guests are rather shady and drunk from the first hour of the day.

Reviewed by
Cristina G

From Romania
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont stay here!!!
On entering the room, the net curtain was dirty and had a large hole tear in it, the toilet had poo left in it either from the last guest or cleaners. The whole room was old fashioned and cold. I will not be using this hotel again. Next time will use travel lodge.

Reviewed by
D Cardwell

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not great
One word: dirty. Dirty bathroom floor, under the sink, dirty table, dirty carpet (not hoovered by the walls for a long time).
Bath tub covered in white residue from chemicals used to clean it. Toilet ok. Only 2 plugs in the room, one for tv and only one for other use. Walls paper thin so could hear my neighbours very well.
Would only stay if the price was much lower then in other hotels and only if I intended to be out most of the time.

Reviewed by
Estera P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent budget room
A decent budget room. No wifi in room, and it was a little noisy, despite my request for a quiet room. Room generally okay for the money, though the toilet flush sprayed water everywhere.
Receptionist very polite, lady serving at bar less so; also got roughly bumped into while in bar by a customer, which didn't give a great impression of the clientele.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years stopover
Good little place. Once again I hope someone in Britannia puts more than one uk wall socket in the rooms. Found some Xmas wrapping at the back of sofa. Couldn't use it for 2015 (damn). Room was warm and quiet. T.V had hardly any tuned channels, but a small gripe in otherwise a pleasurable stay.

Reviewed by
J Howard

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the britannia experience
very friendly and helpful staff, room was pleasant , bathroom sink had cracks in it.
the breakfast was not of a good standard, probably 75% edible.

Reviewed by
helen d

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
Excellent location in the centre of the city - taxi rank opposite and a ten minute walk to the station are the real plus points. Is cheap and fine for a bed. If you are out to impress then stay somewhere else but as said before you get what you pay for. Come up twice a year to see old uni friends and for the ease and price wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cov.

Reviewed by
Luke O

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Internet
Only one major flaw - the WiFi is almost non existent, in my 'Internet-only room' I had to put my laptop/phone on the floor to occasionally get a very slow connection. I've stayed there several times and usually it was even worse. Otherwise the hotel has excellent location and relatively good rooms.

Reviewed by
Tomasz Z

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just unimpressed.
Our stay was moved to their sister hotel, a 15-minute drive away. We paid more to be at the one in town, this messed up all our plans and put us 50£ out of pocket for taxis. Yes the rooms are nice, hotel is pretty good, has jacuzzi baths (this is at the royal court hotel), but the showers are awful. The rooms on the central britannia are not that great. From my last stay, the only reason I rebooked was because of some convincing. The hotel is awful. The staff do not care, and they really need to put a bell at the reception. We had to wait 10 minutes before anyone realised we were waiting. I am a regular traveller, this is my 2nd stay at britannia with in a month. It is very unlikely I will stay again.

Reviewed by
Nehal C

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
From the door key not working to fire alarms going off at 9 in the morning. It was an abysmal stay. Would not recommend.

Reviewed by
B Doughty

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next