No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 156 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasing
I booked my room late as it was a spontaneous trip. When I arrived, I was well greeted by the man on reception. I booked a single room, but he informed me they had none left. Instead, he gave me a double executive room worth a lot more than my original room. Very nice and comfy room.

Reviewed by
Z Benjafield

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs a makeover
Although our room was clean our toilet handle was falling off and would not always flush ! Also TV would only work on bbc 1 !!!!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Andrean

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable in Coventry
Booked on line - best way to get the best price, paid for single room the Hotel staff apologised and said no more single rooms left so please accept a double instead - "Happy days". Make sure you bring confirmation details with you as the reception can get a little busy and this will keep queing to a minimum. Wi-Fi in reception easy to access, food menu in restaurant changes frequently, you can pay for 1, 2 or 3 courses. Service in restaurant very efficient like a well oiled machine. I stay here a couple of times a month or at one of the other group hotels.

Reviewed by
Tony D

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central but Very Tired!

Reviewed by
S Aldridge

From romney marsh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and not nice
We were very disappointed where the hotel was situated, no car park, it was very noisy and in a horrible location our room was located next to a busy ring road and literally ABOVE a very busy road and next to main bus station, the hotel looked quite nice on the web page, half the hotel is not shown and it didn't show the true setting. We feel we've been deceived! Left after one very bad nights sleep with no refund for remainder two nights.

Reviewed by
D FARNWORTH

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

after reading awful reviews was worried about booking brittania hotel it does look awful from outside
but i found reception staff most welcoming my room was spotless clean warm and comfortable .all the staff in the hotel were very good.only downside i found dinner was same sunday as saturday
apart from that no complaints would stay again

Reviewed by
joan mills

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but very poor
Check in was slow and was not offered the Dinner and Breakfast voucher despite saying that I would eat in the restaurant that night, had to request it, pointing to the poster on the wall. (wish I hadnt bothered but more of that later). The room was cold and when I turned the radiator on it was very noisy. The bed was hard and thank goodness I had booked a double room for myself as there was only 1 pillow on each side of the bed. The bathroom was shabby with, what looked like splatters of blood on the wall, the shower curtain and the ceiling in the bathroom were mouldy. The evening meal in the restaurant was exceptionally poor with only turkey on offer for the carvery even though the menu in the room said there would be a choice of 3 meats. It was served with luke warm frozen veggies (carrots and sprouts) and roast potato slices???. The other items on offer were golden cod however, after seeing someone being served with an over-cooked frozen fish portion that looked like it came out of a Findus packet, I'm glad I didnt choose that. The sweets had a little more of an option with 2 cheap looking gateaux's and a cheesecake. There was also some fruit salad however, this was actually tinned fruit cocktail in syrup and looked cheap and unappealing. I was very disappointed with the restuarant food and would not recommend this to anyone. I appreciate that the room was comparatively cheap however, I would have to say that it is one of the poorest I have stayed in and I will not be going back.

Reviewed by
J Hewitt

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The experience started off poorly, with it taking almost 35 minutes to check in, although there were two staff on, and we happened to be second in the queue, the gentleman before us had issues with his booking and it both members of staff 30 minutes to resolve this, by this time the queue to check in was to the main door. On entering the room I thought I would relax with a coffee, no such lick, there wasn't any coffee sachets and resulted in me having to endure a further 20 minute wait to receive 2 sachets of coffee. I booked in at 5.50pm, I think it would be a good idea to have more members of staff available to check people in and if there is an issue with a booking, it doesn't take all the staff on duty to sort it out!!!

Reviewed by
philip l

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service is not consistent. When I arrived the reception was manned by a helpful and proactive staff. However the next morning myselves and other guests had to wait for a member of staff to attend.

Reviewed by
Ram N

From Thornton Heath, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Makeover badly needed
This hotel badly needs a makeover. Lifts and corridors were dirty, paint peeling off, wall paper torn in room.
Breakfast was unimaginative. No fresh coffee. no muesli, no fruit other than grapefruit which anyone on statins can't have. Sliced bread.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next