No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 159 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britiania
WAs good and cheap and clean exactly what i needed for the price

Reviewed by
J Waring

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No room
Arrived at 20.15 after traveling from Leeds to find they had overbooked. Others at the Hotel were having the same problem. The man behind me in the queue was complaining about his room. The Hotel didn't seem concerned about any of these issues although they did offer another Hotel 6 miles from the City Centre. This was unacceptable so had to find alternative Hotel ourselves. The Hotel reception looked like a youth hostel, so perhaps it was a good thing that we didn't stay there.

Reviewed by
david r

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The price was right

Reviewed by
J Howell

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking
Floors were dirty - intentionally left some noticeable items at strategic points on the carpet to test this observation... met them there on my return.
Bath tub wasn't cleaned on one occassion.
Bed wasn't made for 2 days - duvet was just tossed over. Had to remove all the bedding and toss on the bed to get their attention.
Unfriendly reception staff.
Toilet bin was never emptied.
Had to go down to the reception everyday to ask for toiletries, towels and tea.
Paid for 4 nights and wasn't impressed. Only booked it for its proximity to the CV1 area. Not going there again.

Reviewed by
Ojis A

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

aged but fit for basics
dated and showed it, nothing was wrong but it was overpriced for quite and aged hotel and the service was slow, more expensive and lower quality than the travelodge which was full

Reviewed by
c hewitt

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception area dark and not very inviting. Booking in procedure was slow and inefficient. Although the bed was clean and comfortable the rest of the room could do with a thorough clean.

Reviewed by
M Henderson

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Bizzaire place
The hotel is very dated, walking into the lobby makes you feel that you have walked back in time in to the 1970s.It also looks like a car park from the outside. The lifts are rubbish and most of the time I found it easier to use the stairs to go between the ground floor and the 7th. There is also a sign in the lift warning you that the lift exit does not always align with the floor, which does not exactly fill you with confidence. There was an overwhelming smell of damp when I entered the room, which was not pleasant, When I got to where I was having a meeting and I told them where I was staying I was laughed at! Would not go back again.

Reviewed by
D Forbes

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit old fashioned
Although comfortable enough, the furniture was dated but of good quality, beds good with reasonable en-suite facilities. Nice enough overall, but were having lift problems when we were leaving. As there was no parking at the hotel, we had to park in a public car park and walk, we will go elsewhere when we visit our daughter at Coventry Uni.

Reviewed by
John T

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Andrea Pearson

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Won't be returning
Hotel described as having wifi, however, no wifi access in room or lounge (6th floor). So if you lodge there and you are given any room on the 4th-6th floor, no internet access for you. The first 3 star hotel without a room fridge. Customer service was very poor and kept on transferring blame to 3rd party without taking responsibility for the misgivings. However, breakfast was okay.

Reviewed by
Shola O

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next