Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3

Fairfax Street, Coventry, CV1 5RP

Price From 141.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (118)

47% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ian S

  • September 2014

Oh dear

No parking - have to use the public offering about 100 yards down the road.

Reception and bar arent too bad, but in desperate need of refurbishment. Lifts were very beat up, leaving you feeling unsafe whilst in them. I was on the seventh floor, which is not especially clean - again in desperate need of refurbishment. And for the room - dear oh dear. Its clear nothing has been done to them in several decades. Carpet was dirty, as was the bed which appeared to have food, mascara and maybe blood(!?)/lipstick on it. The walls and bed head rest were scuffed to pieces, and there were questionable marks/stains on all the surfaces. Wires hanging out the back of the TV causing trip hazards - the picture also didnt work with most channels producing white noise. Shower didnt work, which I did report and they sent a polite young chap up to fix it whilst I went out for the evening. Upon my return it seemed to be working, but wasnt again when I got up in the morning. Really not impressed at all, and couldnt even be bothered to complain as it was such a joke. Hairs on the bathroom

  • E Clement

  • August 2014

Fine for the most part.

Although the room was fine, on the whole, the facilities could do with updating i.e.

TV, access points for plugs and tea making etc. also, on both mornings of my stay I was disturbed by the fire alarm... I believe they were drills, but hadn't been forewarned of this.

  • Nigel M

  • August 2014

Central and Clean

Stayed overnight for a concert, suited my purposes, central, clean

  • A King

  • August 2014

My room lacked a toilet brush and a loo roll holder.

Our sink did not have a basin plug and was had several chips in it, while our shower dial was falling apart. The rest of the room wasn't too bad although the curtains were dirty and smelt of damp. There might have been more wrong with the room but I wouldn't know. I barely spent any time in there because of the Insomnia Festival. For events like this the Britannia is great. It's cheap, smack in the city centre and next to Sainsbury's, Wetherspoons and the bus station/taxi rank. Have stayed there before, will probably stay again but don't expect too much from your room.

  • sam sansoy

  • August 2014

never again!!!

On checking in was given pass key to my room on arrival I found this Was already occupied!.

Went back to reception no real apology by reception staff allocated another room dirty &dated wwouldn't even describe it!. Dirty & old yuk yuk!!

  • Colin R

  • August 2014

Comfortable city centre value for money hotel

reception customer service was excellent.

There was an early hours of the morning fire alarm that amounted to nothing serious but the way the duty manager dealt with customers was calm, informative and well executed. Hotel a bit tired/old fashioned but that was what I expected on booking. Overall good value for money.

  • Anita J

  • July 2014

Very poor stay

  • N Y.

  • July 2014

Receptionists Rude

Receptionist was rude on check in and check out.

Had a booking confirmation sent to my email by Laterooms but didn't reflect on the hotel's computers. Showed the booking to the receptionist and she rudely said that was not her problem and I needed to contact Laterooms to call the hotel. After calling Laterooms the assistant told me the hotel should have rang them not me. Very messed communication between both parties.

  • Amanda B

  • July 2014

Outdated and in desperate need of overhaul

On arrival the hotel looked old and grey..

The lobby was ok but the public spaces were very worn. There was yellow and black warning tape holding down carpet edges in the bar and it had a smell of greasy hair about it. I shuddered.. The room although we were upgraded to an executive was very old worn and depressing.

  • ANNIE W

  • July 2014

Nice location near coach station

I send booking that like room near lift ...

but they gave me a room, I was at the back.. Cleanning is good but not perfect .. had a problem with the toilet flushing ... bad regulate water in the shower ... Very nice hotel, good price, but maybe it needed more heed to the functionality and cleanlinesse a room, I was at the back