No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 148 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit dated but not bad. Smoking rooms with balconies * thumbs up*
Gentleman at night shift reception was excellent. The woman I spoke to over the phone during the day was rude, unhelpful and made me almost stay somewhere else!

Reviewed by
S ndlovu

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cold room and burnt breakfasts....
The room was very cold even with heating on, all that could be offered was an extra duvet. The breakfast was appalling, went down at 9am and it must of been laid out at 7am and not been refreshed everything was over cooked and hard where it had been left on hot plates.

Reviewed by
N Milton

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor rooms
My room was very dark, with only 1(which was very dull) out of 2 main lights working, and the light bulbs taken out of the bedside lamps.
There was a fire alarm which briefly went off in the middle of the night, although the noise didn't last long, the flashing red light did, which disrupted my sleep.
Staff were however very friendly.

Reviewed by
Alice A

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally good
Although it took them 30 minutes to check us in (there were only 2 people in the queue when we got to the hotel) the rest of our experience was generally good. Despite the member of staff who checked us in being incompetent, slow and rude, the other members of staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself has a very 80s/90s feel to it but is well kept, clean and very (surprisingly) spacious. Very impressed for the price we paid.

Reviewed by
Hannah B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!
Having read many of the reviews of this hotel I was very worried as I was booking 4 rooms for other people. Sure the hotel is tired and could do with updating but it was clean; the staff were very friendly and it was cheap (£35.00). I have stayed in many hotels ranging from £25.00 to £250.00 per night and pound for pound this represented the best VFM of them all. Don't be a snob, don't expect the Ritz and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Reviewed by
Steve Bowers

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs a makeover
Although our room was clean our toilet handle was falling off and would not always flush ! Also TV would only work on bbc 1 !!!!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Andrean

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasing
I booked my room late as it was a spontaneous trip. When I arrived, I was well greeted by the man on reception. I booked a single room, but he informed me they had none left. Instead, he gave me a double executive room worth a lot more than my original room. Very nice and comfy room.

Reviewed by
Z Benjafield

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable in Coventry
Booked on line - best way to get the best price, paid for single room the Hotel staff apologised and said no more single rooms left so please accept a double instead - "Happy days". Make sure you bring confirmation details with you as the reception can get a little busy and this will keep queing to a minimum. Wi-Fi in reception easy to access, food menu in restaurant changes frequently, you can pay for 1, 2 or 3 courses. Service in restaurant very efficient like a well oiled machine. I stay here a couple of times a month or at one of the other group hotels.

Reviewed by
Tony D

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central but Very Tired!

Reviewed by
S Aldridge

From romney marsh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and not nice
We were very disappointed where the hotel was situated, no car park, it was very noisy and in a horrible location our room was located next to a busy ring road and literally ABOVE a very busy road and next to main bus station, the hotel looked quite nice on the web page, half the hotel is not shown and it didn't show the true setting. We feel we've been deceived! Left after one very bad nights sleep with no refund for remainder two nights.

Reviewed by
D FARNWORTH

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next