Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3

Fairfax Street, Coventry, CV1 5RP

Price From 123.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (146)

44% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • joel k

  • June 2014

Poor stay.

I stayed at the hotel for one night before an interview in Coventry the next day.

The staff at the reception were quite unwelcoming and unhelpful. I did not sleep well due to the room being extremely warm due to little ventilation. The room could have done with a lick of paint but was clean all the same. The lift was dirty and had not been cleaned for a while though I did arrive at 9pm at night (but still). At breakfast I had to find my own table and no one welcomed me to the table. I will be obviously not recommend stay to anyone.

  • J M Burgess

  • June 2014

outdated

i find the room outdated i have stayed at other places which is a lot cheaper and the rooms are first class and modern would stay here again but not £40 a night

  • R Hutchinson

  • June 2014

Truly appalling..And not interested in replying to complaints

I stay in a lot of hotels.

My recent stay at the Brittania in Coventry was truly terrible:-

Workmen working in barriered of pit inside front door, other front door can only 'slam' shut

Given a twin despite booking a double. Decoration awful, Tv from prehistory. Only 2 out of 3 lifts working (Particularly annoying, when having preopaid for 2 nights keycard cancelled after 1 so had to make return trip from 6th floor to reception!) When they 'serviced' my room they just replaced the towels and little shower gels, didn't touch the beds or remove dirty glass from night before (Why bother at all. ) despite my having left room by 7.45am and not returned til after 9.00pm. Breakfast - dried up bacon and eggs and cheap bread sausages (Ate in a popular bakery the next morning..Seriously better1!)Why didn't I complain. Because there was nobody on reception!!. Truly an apalling experience. This is an exact copy of the complaint I sent to Brittania Hotels' customer services. I didn't even receive an acknowledgement that they had received the complaint. Very poor!

  • Satty M

  • June 2014

Excellent

  • S Evans

  • May 2014

Adequate for a night away

My stay was probably a one off, I had two homeless people in the room next door, they were arguing when I arrived (6.30) and they were still arguing at 1am..

I rang reception a few times but no answer, to make matters worse the couple started fighting in the corridor and set off the fire alarm.. Screaming sirens for 15 minutes until the staff turned it off and finally threw the couple out of the hotel.

  • anthony hague

  • May 2014

Paid for room twice a had trouble booking online whem booking did go through was wrong day.couldnt canclel so paid twice.went to enter room and somebody already in it.

  • K Shaw

  • May 2014

Worst hotel iv ever stayed in

This hotel should be ashamed to charge what they do for a room.

Needed shutting down about 25 years ago by the look of the place, if I had of known that there was a premier inn round the corner I'd of stayed there. Nothing worked, the cleanliness of the place was disgusting. Wouldn't recommend it atall!!!!. Stay somewhere else.

  • LYNSEY STEER

  • May 2014

Poor accommodation

Would never stay here

Noisy and very dirty

  • Barry Turner

  • May 2014

A reasonable place to stay

The hotel is situated well for the city centre and serves as a good base for anyone with business in Coventry.

The rooms were large and comfortable but the whole hotel is in need of a make over and has a worn feel to it. The bar closed at 11.00 which is rather early for a hotel of this size. Nevertherless the staff were friendly and helpful and a reasonably priced breakfast available if booked online.

  • Alex Panter

  • May 2014

Perfect as always

There's no point in pretending this is the nicest hotel in the world, but if you are looking for cheap, friendly accommodation in the city centre then I wouldn't look any further.

The food is average, the staff are great and the rooms have everything you need. It is as close as you can get to the centre and a whole host of attractions. We always stay here and probably always will.