No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 157 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Makeover badly needed
This hotel badly needs a makeover. Lifts and corridors were dirty, paint peeling off, wall paper torn in room.
Breakfast was unimaginative. No fresh coffee. no muesli, no fruit other than grapefruit which anyone on statins can't have. Sliced bread.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service is not consistent. When I arrived the reception was manned by a helpful and proactive staff. However the next morning myselves and other guests had to wait for a member of staff to attend.

Reviewed by
Ram N

From Thornton Heath, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visit for friends funeral
[the only problem was that we should have asked for a double bed. Also a small amount of noise briefly - but appeared to come from the students

Reviewed by
d butt

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated room and accessories
The decor was a bit drab and the bathroom could have done with a bit of maintenance

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here!
I was extremely disappointed with my stay at the Britannia in Coventry. The hotel has targets construction contractors so expect to be met by loud, rowdy, drunk construction workers. The customer service was very poor. When I checked in at 9 pm the hotel restaurant was closed and I was told there was no room service being offered that night. The staff did nothing to try and assist me in getting a meal, only after I complained about this did I get offered left overs from the restaurant which i was told i would have to collect myself! The food I had to collect myself was diabolical! The room was less than desirable. The mattress on the bed was very thin and hard. There was mold on the wall, the bathroom was clean but had a Jacuzzi bath which didn't work ! After the horrendous dinner I had, needless to say, i didn't even attempt breakfast. All-in-all a very disappointing stay. Pick somewhere else to stay, for £80 I feel like I was well and truly ripped off!

Reviewed by
Michelle B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

britannia coventry
having stopped at this hotel before on a coach trip to Cotswolds, it was our first choice when we wanted to visit the Coventry transport museum. The rooms are clean, staff polite and friendly and food is good. Lovely hotel right in the centre of Coventry. Only down side is no car park, parking cost £12 for 24 hours not £6 as advertised.

Reviewed by
julie p

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice deal
Definitely worth staying

Reviewed by
x chen

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay at this hotel
I took a smoking room as I smoke, which was poorly decorated with a awful view bed was uncomfortable and old and all fixtures and fittings were old. The Windows were dirty. I had the breakfast and there was plenty of choice but the cooked breakfast was barely warm.

Reviewed by
Edmund W

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Worst Hotel I've ever stayed in
What can I say about this hotel....well the shower didn't work, the room was massively outdated with mold in the bathroom. Hot water was warm at best, the bed was lumpy and the radiators made clanging noises about 6am in morning at which time I decided to leave - better find somewhere else to stay I would say!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Allan C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little bit dated but very clean
Very clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
P Andrews

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next