You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3

Fairfax Street, Coventry, CV1 5RP

Price From 74.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (81)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • T Handley

  • October 2014

Very old and tired rooms but you get what you pay for!

Staff were very professional.

Room was probably last decorated in the 1970's - faux marble in the loo and just generally very tired and jaded. Curtains were filthy and the twin beds not appreciated. I'm always convinced (and awaiting confirmation) that these companies keep these naff rooms aside to make up their bookings on-line...

  • Angela E

  • October 2014

Good size room clean and recently renovated.

However queue at reception desk unacceptably long and were kept waiting for 20 mins before checking in. Good rentral location and easily walkable to the station.

  • Gaspar C

  • September 2014

Worst hotel I ever stayed in my life.

Receptionist 'Lance' completely rude, unfriendly and unhelpful. The food was disgusting. Poor quality. Was woken up at 2 am by loud noises and drunken couple having a domestic in room next door... Cleanlinines ass simply awful.

  • J Townsend

  • September 2014

Dated hotel that badly needs a revamp

With a major update this hotel would be amazing.

The rooms are a great size with good levels of lighting but they need new furnishings and décor. The reception staff are friendly and very helpful but the ones who work in the restaurant require some customer care training. Although the description says that WiFi is available in the public areas of the hotel the signal in the restaurant area is poor. The food was a real disappointment.

  • Martin B

  • September 2014

Never again

When arriving at the hotel, loud music was played in the bar and the restaurant was still open for half an hour.

They were prepared to provide me with a main course, but the rice, pork casserole and fish on one plate was not what I expected. It looked like a dog had been sick on my plate and when I stated that I couldn't eat it, I was aksed to pay £8.94. The state of the room was was awful with curtains falling down and no rail in the wardrobe. All in all £108.94 for this experience would explain my poor rating for this 'hotel'. Never again

  • D Laidlaw

  • September 2014

Worst stay in Coventry Britannia Hotel.

We were very dissappointed with our recent stay at the Britannia Hotel in Coventry City Centre.

We have used this hotel before and never had the problems we experienced this stay. We arrived on Friday evening at 18:30hrs after an 8 hour drive from our home to be told by a very rude young lady/receptionist that we did not have a booking at the hotel.

I provided the email I had confirming my reservation and eventually a gentlemen came and tried to find our booking on his booking system after 40 mins and a telephone call by him to late rooms he told us our booking was confirmed for the 9th not the 19th but they would provide us with a room for the 2 nights stay. After my telephone call with Late rooms today23rd September the lady I spoke to said no telephone call had been made about our booking on Friday. The room was adaquate but needed a new bathroom suite the sink was very badly cracked and the bath chipped the curtains did not close properly as a lot of them were of the curtain rail I felt we had been put in a room that was used for emergencies

We were very dissapointed with the overall experience. My family live in Coventry and we as a family find this hotel is ideal for our short stays but after our last experience we will definitely be re thinking where we stay.

  • Tim D

  • September 2014

A reasonably cheap hotel close to where I needed to be

The hotel is very tatty with only one of the lifts working however it was cheap so would have been happy to stay again.

However, following check out I was charged again as a no show. When I called to complain I was told by the hotel that it was my fault even though it subsequently turned out to be the hotel's error. I made a written complaint but I have had no apology so unlikely to be staying in this hotel again as would not be able to trust them not to over charge me again.

  • Ian S

  • September 2014

Oh dear

No parking - have to use the public offering about 100 yards down the road.

Reception and bar arent too bad, but in desperate need of refurbishment. Lifts were very beat up, leaving you feeling unsafe whilst in them. I was on the seventh floor, which is not especially clean - again in desperate need of refurbishment. And for the room - dear oh dear. Its clear nothing has been done to them in several decades. Carpet was dirty, as was the bed which appeared to have food, mascara and maybe blood(!?)/lipstick on it. The walls and bed head rest were scuffed to pieces, and there were questionable marks/stains on all the surfaces. Wires hanging out the back of the TV causing trip hazards - the picture also didnt work with most channels producing white noise. Shower didnt work, which I did report and they sent a polite young chap up to fix it whilst I went out for the evening. Upon my return it seemed to be working, but wasnt again when I got up in the morning. Really not impressed at all, and couldnt even be bothered to complain as it was such a joke. Hairs on the bathroom

  • E Clement

  • August 2014

Fine for the most part.

Although the room was fine, on the whole, the facilities could do with updating i.e.

TV, access points for plugs and tea making etc. also, on both mornings of my stay I was disturbed by the fire alarm... I believe they were drills, but hadn't been forewarned of this.

  • Nigel M

  • August 2014

Central and Clean

Stayed overnight for a concert, suited my purposes, central, clean