No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 157 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was stood at reception for 25 minutes why the women went in the back the 'retrieve my documents'. Also there was hair in the bath and sink. To add to the bad service, i paid the the late check out (an extra £15- until 1pm) yet i had the cleaner knocking on my room 3 times and the 3rd time she even brought security with her! Very poor communication and will not return.

Reviewed by
C wilson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service only problem was that I booked a standard double room but I was given a standard twin room and I was not given a different room which is a downfall

Reviewed by
o ahmed

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guy at reception was very pleasant, professional and a credit to the hotel. The staff in the breakfast room a tad surly. Room was a bit worn and outdated but location convenient.

Reviewed by
Clare H

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
I wanted a room near the cathedral and I couldn't have been closer! Exterior of hotel somewhat tatty and ugly, the interior however retro, if slightly shabby chic. I loved the panelling and 'old fashioned' feel of the building, the good quality bedroom furniture and faded elegance. 3 course evening meal for £8.50 amazing quality for the price. Minimal service but friendly and helpful when asked.

Reviewed by
Barbara N

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Still very basic, need more tea n coffee in rooms.

Reviewed by
beverley C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very old and tired rooms but you get what you pay for!
Staff were very professional. Room was probably last decorated in the 1970's - faux marble in the loo and just generally very tired and jaded. Curtains were filthy and the twin beds not appreciated! I'm always convinced (and awaiting confirmation) that these companies keep these naff rooms aside to make up their bookings on-line...

Reviewed by
T Handley

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size room clean and recently renovated.
However queue at reception desk unacceptably long and were kept waiting for 20 mins before checking in.
Good rentral location and easily walkable to the station.

Reviewed by
Angela E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel I ever stayed in my life. Receptionist 'Lance' completely rude, unfriendly and unhelpful. The food was disgusting. Poor quality. Was woken up at 2 am by loud noises and drunken couple having a domestic in room next door...
Cleanlinines ass simply awful.

Reviewed by
Gaspar C

From Greenford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated hotel that badly needs a revamp
With a major update this hotel would be amazing. The rooms are a great size with good levels of lighting but they need new furnishings and décor. The reception staff are friendly and very helpful but the ones who work in the restaurant require some customer care training. Although the description says that WiFi is available in the public areas of the hotel the signal in the restaurant area is poor. The food was a real disappointment.

Reviewed by
J Townsend

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst stay in Coventry Britannia Hotel.
We were very dissappointed with our recent stay at the Britannia Hotel in Coventry City Centre.
We have used this hotel before and never had the problems we experienced this stay. We arrived on Friday evening at 18:30hrs after an 8 hour drive from our home to be told by a very rude young lady/receptionist that we did not have a booking at the hotel.
I provided the email I had confirming my reservation and eventually a gentlemen came and tried to find our booking on his booking system after 40 mins and a telephone call by him to late rooms he told us our booking was confirmed for the 9th not the 19th but they would provide us with a room for the 2 nights stay. After my telephone call with Late rooms today23rd September the lady I spoke to said no telephone call had been made about our booking on Friday.
The room was adaquate but needed a new bathroom suite the sink was very badly cracked and the bath chipped the curtains did not close properly as a lot of them were of the curtain rail I felt we had been put in a room that was used for emergencies
We were very dissapointed with the overall experience. My family live in Coventry and we as a family find this hotel is ideal for our short stays but after our last experience we will definitely be re thinking where we stay.

Reviewed by
D Laidlaw

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next