You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3

Fairfax Street, Coventry, CV1 5RP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (74)

51% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S James

  • December 2015

I will not stay again

I stayed in Coventry to visit a sick relative and chose a hotel near the bus station.

I did not check beforehand that there was internet as this is the 21st Century and the UK is not a 3rd world country. The only internet is in the public areas. The tv did not work, and despite a request for it to be fixed this did not happen. There were holes in the walls and the room smelled musty, like cigarette smoke. I had booked in for 3 days. I checked out after 2 and stayed at the other hotel which I would recommend.

  • Isaac F

  • December 2015

Good experience

The hotel was good and staff were courteous.

  • Rachael W

  • December 2015

Great hotel

This is the first time that I stayed at Britannia Coventry.

The staff are incredibly pleasant and warm. The room was very clean and tidy and maid service was wonderful. We stayed for a total of two nights, each morning going down to a lovely cooked English breakfast and other standard breakfast items which were available buffet style in the ground floor restaurant. This hotel is a great place to stay as the main town centre is ideally located within walking distance. The bus station is located opposite the hotel which is great and convenient for people using public transport or travelling by coach. Depending on which side your room is situated in the level of noise varies but unfortunately our room was directly facing it. We didn't spend much time in the room except to sleep so it wasn't too much of a bother. This hotel is perfect for a long weekend and I think we got our money's worth and would certainly recommend for couples looking to get away.

  • Isaac F

  • December 2015

Internet in rooms is very essential today

  • A Keeble

  • December 2015

Don't go here!

Quality of the room was extremely poor.

There were marks on the carpet and walls, some of the wallpaper was coming off the walls and there was mould in the en suite. They had the old style double glazing that didn't stop any sound and there were road works outside going all night, which they didn't mention on their website. They obviously usually cater for coach parties and because we weren't part of a coach party we were catered 2nd. We had to wait till 8pm for dinner on the first night and on the 3rd night we got there for 6pm (start of dinner) and were told we couldn't have a table until 7.30pm at which point my husband spat his dummy out because he'd had enough at this point (with lack of sleep as well) and we went elsewhere. 99% of staff were friendly and really hardworking - they seemed to be understaffed.

  • Andy P

  • November 2015

Very convenient - large room but roadworks and noise well into the night.

Quite easy to find and car parking is opposite - but had to do a U turn in roadworks to get to it.

I was lucky and had a large room with a separate sofa area. It all looks a bit tired unfortunately and my door was difficult to open as it had dropped and rubbed the carpet. There are roadworks outside at the moment - not the hotel's fault but be warned that for the time being it can get quite noisy. I am vegetarian, so due to the limited carver had chips from just down the road - lots of small restaurants within a very short distance I discovered as well. After I got chips of course.

I would return for the convenience of the location.

  • P Edward

  • November 2015

Britannia Coventry, City Centre

It was fantastic stay and I had a great timd

  • chantell n

  • November 2015

Britannia Nightmare

This was my first time visiting this hotel with my boyfriend, and we had planned for a nice relaxing weekend while visiting friends in the local area.

However when we got to the hotel to check we first had to stand 30 mins in the queue because there was only 1 person at reception on a busy Friday afternoon...Secondly our room was not even ready so we then had to wait an additional 20 mins only to find out that the room we had requested for was not available and were then put in a non smoking room, it didn't end here.. Got to the room and the telly wasn't working either (bare in mind it looked like something from the 80's) and there was a massive wet patch on the floor, not sure what it was but it was grim.. Throughout the night we could clearly here conversations from the room next door, and although we had paid for a late checkout housekeeping came in to the room several times!!.

  • Simona C

  • October 2015

Staff attentiveness

Excellent and helpful staff!

  • J Smith

  • October 2015

Overpriced for an old fashioned room

Standard of the room was fine but in need of a refurb.

It would have been fine if it hadn't been so expensive. £65 seems excessive for such a mediocre room. But it was fit for purpose and if I could get a cheaper rate I would stay again. Breakfast was fine. Overall it's ok just a not amazing.