No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Coventry, City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fairfax Street , Coventry, CV1 5RP
Right in the heart of the city, the hotel adjoins the historically famous Coventry Cathedral. The pleasant reception area with its marbled floors gives this hotel a modern and professional welcome. All 211 en-suite bedrooms are furnished and decorated to provide light and a home from home feel. Facilities include TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee facilities. The tempting aroma from Butlers’ restaurant tantalises your tastebuds and you can enjoy your meal out on Cathedral Square. Bar rogue café bar is great for a lighter bar snack or meal and is popular with the locals. The 18 conference rooms are suitable for both Business and Leisure guests offering first class facilities, for any occasion. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night, or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Coventry, City Centre, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 159 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor stay.
I stayed at the hotel for one night before an interview in Coventry the next day. The staff at the reception were quite unwelcoming and unhelpful. I did not sleep well due to the room being extremely warm due to little ventilation. The room could have done with a lick of paint but was clean all the same. The lift was dirty and had not been cleaned for a while though I did arrive at 9pm at night (but still). At breakfast I had to find my own table and no one welcomed me to the table. I will be obviously not recommend stay to anyone.

Reviewed by
joel k

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outdated
i find the room outdated i have stayed at other places which is a lot cheaper and the rooms are first class and modern would stay here again but not £40 a night

Reviewed by
J M Burgess

From Abingdon, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Satty M

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate for a night away
My stay was probably a one off, I had two homeless people in the room next door, they were arguing when I arrived (6.30) and they were still arguing at 1am.. I rang reception a few times but no answer, to make matters worse the couple started fighting in the corridor and set off the fire alarm.. Screaming sirens for 15 minutes until the staff turned it off and finally threw the couple out of the hotel.

Reviewed by
S Evans

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Truly appalling..And not interested in replying to complaints
I stay in a lot of hotels. My recent stay at the Brittania in Coventry was truly terrible:-
Workmen working in barriered of pit inside front door, other front door can only 'slam' shut
Given a twin despite booking a double. Decoration awful, Tv from prehistory. Only 2 out of 3 lifts working (Particularly annoying, when having preopaid for 2 nights keycard cancelled after 1 so had to make return trip from 6th floor to reception!) When they 'serviced' my room they just replaced the towels and little shower gels, didn't touch the beds or remove dirty glass from night before (Why bother at all? ) despite my having left room by 7.45am and not returned til after 9.00pm. Breakfast - dried up bacon and eggs and cheap bread sausages (Ate in a popular bakery the next morning..Seriously better1!)Why didn't I complain? Because there was nobody on reception!!! Truly an apalling experience.
This is an exact copy of the complaint I sent to Brittania Hotels' customer services. I didn't even receive an acknowledgement that they had received the complaint. Very poor!

Reviewed by
R Hutchinson

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location near coach station
I send booking that like room near lift ... but they gave me a room, I was at the back.. Cleanning is good but not perfect .. had a problem with the toilet flushing ... bad regulate water in the shower ... Very nice hotel, good price, but maybe it needed more heed to the functionality and cleanlinesse a room, I was at the back

Reviewed by
ANNIE W

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor accommodation
Would never stay here
Noisy and very dirty

Reviewed by
LYNSEY STEER

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel iv ever stayed in
This hotel should be ashamed to charge what they do for a room. Needed shutting down about 25 years ago by the look of the place, if I had of known that there was a premier inn round the corner I'd of stayed there. Nothing worked, the cleanliness of the place was disgusting. Wouldn't recommend it atall!!!!! Stay somewhere else.

Reviewed by
K Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paid for room twice a had trouble booking online whem booking did go through was wrong day.couldnt canclel so paid twice.went to enter room and somebody already in it.

Reviewed by
anthony hague

From sudbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A reasonable place to stay
The hotel is situated well for the city centre and serves as a good base for anyone with business in Coventry. The rooms were large and comfortable but the whole hotel is in need of a make over and has a worn feel to it. The bar closed at 11.00 which is rather early for a hotel of this size. Nevertherless the staff were friendly and helpful and a reasonably priced breakfast available if booked online.

Reviewed by
Barry Turner

From LINCOLN, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next