No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Coquetvale Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Station Road,Rothbury , Rothbury, NE65 7QH
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of The Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the
beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits.

We are also an ideal base for exploring North Northumberland with its many National Trust properties and places of interest. Cragside is on our doorstep here in Rothbury, and Wallington Hall and Gardens is just down the road. Slightly further afield the delightful market town of Alnwick is just 25 minutes drive away, home to Alnwick Castle (used as the filming location
for many film and television scenes including Harry Potter), the award winning Alnwick Gardens and Barter Books, one of the largest second hand book stores in the UK. The heritage coastline is approximately a 30 minute drive away offering miles of unspoilt beaches and beautiful views.

The Coquetvale Hotel boasts a very popular restaurant serving an Italian menu with a number of alternative dishes on our weekly specials. Opening hours vary depending on the season - we are open seven nights from April through until September and Wednesday to Saturday evenings throughout the rest of the year. Sunday lunches are served throughout the winter months.

ACCESSIBILITY STATEMENT

The hotel reception is situated on the ground floor and restaurant is located on the second floor. Access is via a stairway and from reception to the restaurant. The first ten rooms which are our classic and superior rooms are situated on the second floor and the four loft rooms are situated on the third floor. Due to the historic nature of the property we regret that we're unable to provide any lift facilities.

Picture of Coquetvale Hotel, Rothbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay, would definitly book again if in the vicinity.
Our room was on the top floor, we were aware of this when booking, there are no lifts but around 60 stair steps you therefore need to be in good health to appreciate your stay to the full.
Only negative comment would be the car parking area, this was rather small & appeared to be booked to capacity giving the impression of spaces being at a premium.
Thanks again to all staff for making us very welcome.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and great food
Food in the Italian excellent and so was breakfast, great night's sleep, confusing shower and a great area to visit too.

Reviewed by
S jones

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and restaurant
Nice rooms. Great food.

Reviewed by
Joanne B

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay with my wife in Dunstonburgh room
I found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. The room was of a good standard and well worth the money. The food in the italian restaurant was superb and service was impressively quick. We were heading to a wedding and the staff were able to source an iron for my somewhat crinkled shirt, without making me feel like I was putting them out. The full Northumbrian breakfast in the morning was a decent size and very tasty indeed!
My only criticism would be the power of the shower in our room. It may be due to less water pressure on the top floor but the stream was a bit weak.
We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
T Yeoman

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superior Double Room?
There was a warm welcome at Reception, and all the staff were polite and efficient at breakfast. We had no need to see staff at any other time.
The impression of the hotel was of a traditional establishment that had been successfully refurbished to a high standard. No complaints.
Our 'Superior' double room was large by any standards, with a 6 foot bed, two-seater settee, the usual TV and tea/coffee facilities, dressing table, bed-side tables and lamps and large wardrobe and plenty of room to walk around the newly-carpeted floor. The room position was excellent - on a corner with two large windows giving views over the town and valley in two directions.
The bathroom was also large, but the shower appeared to have been installed by a DIY learner with a lack of attention to details, such as grouting on the outside and general quality of painting and 'finish'. More importantly, the shower was damaged; the water feed pipe was bent and cracked and sprayed water independently of the shower head. There was evidence of (unsuccessful) repair by adhesive tape, not replacement. Disappointingly, the temperature control was manual, so balancing hot and cold valves whilst being sprayed by streams of water from the cracked pipe was a frustrating experience; definitely not a 'superior' experience. To compensate, the Jacuzzi bath was a pleasure to use and highly recommended.
Finally, the room lacked those extra touches that would distinguish a 'superior' room from any other. no boxes of tissues or cotton wool balls, one small shampoo bottle and bath gel, not a bowl full, and not replaced each day, and evidence that the hotel was owned by a man; there were no 'feminine touches' (I was told by my partner) that would convey that extra touch of luxury that would warrant the higher price and 'superior' name.
I cannot comment on the Italian restaurant as we didn't dine there; we felt the prices were too high, an opinion clearly shared as only one table was occupied when we looked in. Fortunately, Rothbury had several hotels serving evening meals, ranging from 'pub' food to high class hotel meals, just five minutes walk over the river.
The general impression was favourable, the accommodation was very comfortable and spacious, but let down by small details - and that shower! Small improvements would warrant a full star rating.

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This will be a first class hotel when the. Building improvements have been impllemented
This hotel as a feel about it and the young and enthusiastic staff work well as a team and there customer care is first class

Reviewed by
David Hunton

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Had one of the attic rooms - Craster - the climb tired me out, but the room was clean, warm and the bed was ultra comfortable. Next time I stay here I will ask for a room on a lower floor though :)

Reviewed by
George K

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall nice place
Friendly staff, nice room. Restaurant a bit dusty but the good was nice. Not sure about the award winning sausages though !

Reviewed by
Lisa N

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at the Coquetvale for one night over the easter weekend. Having read some of the reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised by the high standard of accommodation - the room was comfortable, tastefully decorated and had everything we needed; the staff were friendly and helpful; and the food was good. We'd definitely return if we are in the area again.

Reviewed by
A de Mendonca

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel with character and style.
We enjoyed our stay in a newly refurbished loft room. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The hospitality of the staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. Great view from the room.

Reviewed by
wendy s

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next