Reviews - Metro Inn Newcastle


Ponteland Road Kenton Bank, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE3 3HZ

Price From 50.14 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (61)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • j brady

  • November 2015


I found the accommodation very basic.

My own fault for not getting more info before booking. Used to tea and coffee making facilities, not even a kettle. Three vending machines in reception, one for cold drinks, one for crisps sweets etc. and one for hot drinks, which of course was essential but out of order. So no kettle, no caffeine, a real struggle. No En-suite, again something I took for granted.

  • K MacKenzie

  • October 2015

budget accommodation

In need of a good makeover

  • elle v

  • September 2015

Party weekend?

We stayed at this hotel for no other reason than it was cheap.

We were in Newcastle for a family occasion and needed somewhere to stay that wouldn't cost the world so money wise it was great (£80 for two nights)

We were aware of the shared shower and toilet, they were fine but the toilets did stink of wee and ran out of loo roll very regularly. If you are in Newcastle for a party it's perfect, for us however we had to leave the hotel very early and were kept awake by people returning from a night out. So sleep was not had all weekend :(

The fire alarm went off early in the morning causing me to nearly have a heart attack as no warning was said about it. The room itself is fine, the bed is very comfortable. We just ignored the holes in the bedding... The main landlady was very nice, if a little scary. If you don't need sleep and need cheap accommodation it's perfect. For us however it wasn't great, but the price meant we couldn't do too much complaining.

  • c wade

  • September 2015

Metro Inn Newcastle

Basic but great value.

  • Mark H

  • September 2015


What you expect for a cheap room £20 per night.

Rooms small with double bed and bunk bed above them. Toilets are like goin to the toilet in a aeroplane, small and have to share with corridor of rooms. Carpets could do with a clean

  • N Firth

  • July 2015

Great weekend

Really good weekend away, staff were all friendly and up for a laugh.

Decent rooms and good company in other rooms.

  • Clair C

  • July 2015

Cheap and functional

You get exactly what you pay for; a bed, a sink and toilets down the hall.

Carpets could be cleaner but the bed was comfortable and that's all I needed.

  • Kane F

  • July 2015

Cheap and Cheerful

For around £20 per night per room and one of the only hotels I could find to have 3 share a room.

I can't say I was expecting much. What I received was a clean if basic room. Containing double bed, bunk bed, tv, table and sink/wash area. The bed was comfortable and the communal shower and toilets were well maintained. We only needed to wash and sleep, the rest of our days was spent in town so the basic amenities covered our needs no problem. Close distance to Toby carvery and fast food for food, tescos for any other shopping needs and only a short walk to the metro into town. Staff were friendly and helpful, spoke to the manager who knew which room we were staying in without us telling her (bonus points for attentiveness) would stay again and definitely recomend.

  • Allan M

  • June 2015

Metro Inn Newcastle

Cheap, cheerful and clean, and right next door to a Toby Inn, perfect.

  • Michael Elder

  • June 2015

Good basic hotel

Me and my friend booked last minute hotel room to stay for a night out in Newcastle so we only needed something cheap and basic and that is what we got.

Room is basic but got everything you need for overnight stay. The man on reception was very friendly and helpfull and even booked a taxi to take us into Newcastle for night out. There is someone on reception all the time so easy to come back anytime you like during night. There was a catering van just outside hotel on Sunday morning where I got a delicious bacon and sausage sandwich. Overall a good hotel and I would stay here again.