No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
26 CHURCH ROAD Horspath Village, OXFORD, OX33 1RU
Traditional family run willage public house with 3 separate accommodation rooms. Bar menu available Tues - Friday 12-2pm Sat 12 - 3pm and 6-9 Mon - Sat. Sun Roast with all the trimmings 2 sittings 12.30 & 2pm.

We have a restaurant area seating for 30 people in our lounge. Games room, garden, large car park, play area, live music Saturdays, sky TV showing all live sports in the bar.

Please note if you are arriving on Mondays we open at 5pm if you would like an earlier check in time please contact us.
Picture of Queens Head, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome was received when we arrived lovely atmosphere in the public bar where we had our evening meal.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Stayed at the Queen's Head for 4 nights while on business in Oxford. Lovely quiet restful location but easy access to Oxford. Janet, the landlady, is delightful and food in the pub is excellent pub grub. The room is annexed to the pub and is comfortable and has plenty of tea/coffee. There is ample parking and it was great to have a pint in the sunny beer garden on arriving back. Food is only served between 6pm and 8pm in the evening (we weren't there at lunchtime) which may not always be convenient. There is no cooked breakfast option, but a continental breakfast is provided to you room.

Reviewed by
Marcus K

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant pub and b&b
The pub was very nice and the staff were very friendly, the food was basic but nice enough. The rooms were pleasant but could do with a lick of paint and I did notice some damp mould around the window frames. Other than that the rooms were ok.

Reviewed by
B Minnion

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value in a pleasant location
Good value for money. Clean and comfortable. Would stay there again

Reviewed by
S Hart

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Friendly Pub with rooms
Would happily stop here again, good value for money, good food, nice rooms, good friendly staff.
It is a fair taxi ride from Oxford town center though £13-15.

Reviewed by
Rob S

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay at Queen's Head, Horspath Village
The welcome at the Queen's Head, Horspath Village, was both warm and efficient. The room was compact but had everything you needed including an iron, ironing board and fan. The evening meal was wonderful home-made fare in very generous portions.
Breakfast, should we have ordered it, would have been brought to the room in the evening, but we were given a jug of fresh milk for hot drinks through the evening and the next morning.
The one and only criticism was that there was a constant low buzzing of an electrical appliance all night long, which was disturbing for a light sleeper. Personally, I didn't notice it much and it didn't stop me sleeping.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good friendly service and nice village location
Very good place to stay for quiet break or visiting Oxford

Reviewed by
A West

From DONCASTER, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed for the night
You get what you pay for. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Rooms clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
S Carthy

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
this is a lovely place to stay and to eat. Lovely staff, great food and lovely clean room. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
paula H

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next