No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
26 CHURCH ROAD Horspath Village, OXFORD, OX33 1RU
Traditional family run willage public house with 3 separate accommodation rooms. Bar menu available Tues - Friday 12-2pm Sat 12 - 3pm and 6-9 Mon - Sat. Sun Roast with all the trimmings 2 sittings 12.30 & 2pm.

We have a restaurant area seating for 30 people in our lounge. Games room, garden, large car park, play area, live music Saturdays, sky TV showing all live sports in the bar.

Please note if you are arriving on Mondays we open at 5pm if you would like an earlier check in time please contact us.
Picture of Queens Head, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice place to stay. good accommodation and food.
Very comfortable. Warm welcome. Continental breakfast in the room was very convenient. Meals in the restaurant were good. Excellent local beer was a bonus.

Reviewed by
D Bayliss

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, cosy accommodation.
We went to Oxford to see a concert, to be told as we were arriving that the concert had been cancelled due to illness! Not a great start to our break.
However, we decided to continue, as there's so many things to do in Oxford anyway. So glad we did.
The accommodation was spotless & the owners were very friendly & helpful. We also spoke to several of the locals for advice where to visit. They were all very welcoming & polite.
Although we only stayed for one night, we will definitely stay here again, should we visit Oxford in the future.

Reviewed by
leslie d

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy nest
Nice, clean, cottage style accommodation with all mod cons. The hot water tap in the bathroom sink wasn't working when I was there but I'm sure that was only a temporary thing and there was still hot water for showers. Overall, a pleasant experience and I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely community atmosphere
This was a nice little public house, very friendly owner and staff even after I had asked if we could be moved to a room inside the accomodation from the one we had been given. I was dissapointed that we had an annex room at the back of the pub right next to the car park. I was worried about noise and light coming in through thin blind. We were willing to pay extra but no other rooms were available but were assured that it was very qiuet at night and the lights would go out which turned out to be true.
The breakfast was very adequate for the price but again was strange to be eating it in our room.
The bed was very comfy, the room very clean but felt like we were in a box and estranged from the main body of the pub!
This was a good place if you want complete solitude but was not the quaint old English pub experience I had expected!

Reviewed by
Janet L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good nights sleep.
The Inn is a very friendly location - good food and drinks. Happy people at the inn and a very comfortable room. We were only a couple, but with the mezanine floor there were two extra single beds, so a group of four or a family would have fitted in - no problemmo. A hair dryer was not supplied and this was the only blemish on the excellent room.

Reviewed by
Graham Trafford

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodating service
I came with some specific requirements, ie a second duvet for under the bottom sheet for hip pain and cooked vegetables for breakfast, as well as for dinner. All of these were provided with great willingness.
The only thing missing was a hairdryer in my room, this is being attended to. The ironing board is one that fits on a table, ironing a long dress was a bit problematic. I am sure that if I had asked for a different ironing board I would have been given one.

Reviewed by
Zoe Grace Cozens

From Harleston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Very close to oxford city centre but feels in the middle of the countryside. Friendly and helpful staff. We've stayed here twice and will certainly be back.

Reviewed by
Devra A

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, good atmosphere, situated in quiet country village. Room sufficient for overnight stay of 1/2 nights. Convenient to travel into Oxford.

Reviewed by
M Gallagher

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and easygoing
Easy to check in and later in the evening, the landlord was friendly when I was having a drink in the bar. I had a large family room to myself (as this was a late booking) and no real complaints about that - slight niggle- the toilet seat was the wrong size for the toilet! Otherwise the room was clean and the bed comfortable- although slightly noisy as the window was over the back entrance and some chatter from guests/staff was a bit noisy but it soon stopped. The only other concern - which might be more of a problem as time progresses, the back of the premises, lobby and stairway up to the accommodation was very grubby and overall it looks like the rear of the pub needs a damn good clean. This was a bit off putting and made me wonder whether things are on a downward track. Overall OK ' though.

Reviewed by
Jonathan E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased

Reviewed by
L Winkler

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next