No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
26 CHURCH ROAD Horspath Village, OXFORD, OX33 1RU
Traditional family run willage public house with 3 separate accommodation rooms. Bar menu available Tues - Friday 12-2pm Sat 12 - 3pm and 6-9 Mon - Sat. Sun Roast with all the trimmings 2 sittings 12.30 & 2pm.

We have a restaurant area seating for 30 people in our lounge. Games room, garden, large car park, play area, live music Saturdays, sky TV showing all live sports in the bar.

Please note if you are arriving on Mondays we open at 5pm if you would like an earlier check in time please contact us.
Picture of Queens Head, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Found the staff very helpful

Reviewed by
Mark A

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over nighter
The single beds very comfortable. OK for an overnight stay.
Not much room to move about & had to eat "breakfast" sitting on the beds.
This was the nearest over night accommodation as attending family funeral.
Very glad we call by in daylight might not have found it after dark.

Reviewed by
Monica H

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't be faulted
A lovely boozer. We chose to stay at the Queens Head as it was out of the way. It was a bonus when we realised it was in the Good Beer Guide. The beer was excellent!
Very friendly and welcoming. Good room, in a separate building from the pub. Wifi iffy though..
We arrived by train to Oxford and jumped a black cab. I'd recommend getting a private hire- it was between £12-17 in a private hire. £20 in a black cab off peak.

Reviewed by
James A

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome was received when we arrived lovely atmosphere in the public bar where we had our evening meal.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Stayed at the Queen's Head for 4 nights while on business in Oxford. Lovely quiet restful location but easy access to Oxford. Janet, the landlady, is delightful and food in the pub is excellent pub grub. The room is annexed to the pub and is comfortable and has plenty of tea/coffee. There is ample parking and it was great to have a pint in the sunny beer garden on arriving back. Food is only served between 6pm and 8pm in the evening (we weren't there at lunchtime) which may not always be convenient. There is no cooked breakfast option, but a continental breakfast is provided to you room.

Reviewed by
Marcus K

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant pub and b&b
The pub was very nice and the staff were very friendly, the food was basic but nice enough. The rooms were pleasant but could do with a lick of paint and I did notice some damp mould around the window frames. Other than that the rooms were ok.

Reviewed by
B Minnion

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a decent sleep once the party had finished
Was a last minute booking about a week before staying and whilst the room was small it was comfortable and the breakfast served in the room was nice. Main problem though was that it was a Sunday night and there was a 'Family Fun Day' on in the pub and car park meaning it was really busy and noisy. Whilst the bouncy castle and games finished about 7pm, kids were still playing chase around the out the back of the pub where the rooms are well into the evening, people were sat outside drinking and chatting, and then the disco kicked in. It stopped at midnight on the dot I think after which everything did go quiet, and don't get me wrong, I don't begrudge people enjoying themselves at a party, but if I'd known where the rooms were exactly and that there would be such a noisy function on I wouldn't have booked here as there was no ignoring it. Worth checking what's on before deciding to stay here. They also don't serve food on Sunday evenings of which there was no mention until we arrived. Thankfully the curry house down the road was lovely.

Reviewed by
Yvonne C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value in a pleasant location
Good value for money. Clean and comfortable. Would stay there again

Reviewed by
S Hart

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Friendly Pub with rooms
Would happily stop here again, good value for money, good food, nice rooms, good friendly staff.
It is a fair taxi ride from Oxford town center though £13-15.

Reviewed by
Rob S

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next