No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
26 CHURCH ROAD Horspath Village, OXFORD, OX33 1RU
Traditional family run willage public house with 3 separate accommodation rooms. Bar menu available Tues - Friday 12-2pm Sat 12 - 3pm and 6-9 Mon - Sat. Sun Roast with all the trimmings 2 sittings 12.30 & 2pm.

We have a restaurant area seating for 30 people in our lounge. Games room, garden, large car park, play area, live music Saturdays, sky TV showing all live sports in the bar.

Please note if you are arriving on Mondays we open at 5pm if you would like an earlier check in time please contact us.
Picture of Queens Head, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review 26/11/13
Very hospitable management, good clean rooms and good value for money in a country in with character.

Reviewed by
Michael E

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely comfortable stay here,food was excellent and brought to our room which was a bonus

Reviewed by
s martin

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
family run, very friendly and accomodating, would recomend and stay there again.

Reviewed by
B Cooper

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The Queens's Head is a little gem and I don't believe you would find anywhere equalling the value for money in Oxford
Our room was a double in the 'garden area' the only downside was the bathroom was designed for wheelchair access therefore the sink and the showerhead were lower than usual - (but I did read the details after we checked in and it did say that these three rooms all had wheelchair access). One improvement would be to put a bigger sink in the bathroom - I appreciate that the sink needs to be lower but there was plenty space to have a bigger sink - as it was I struggled to fill the kettle.
Lovely complimentary toiletries and nice touch with the hot chocolate and biscuits as well as the usual tea and coffee.
Overall enjoyed a one night break and would definitely look to book a room again for 1 or 2 nights in the future.

Reviewed by
Debby T

From Burnley, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

REVIEW ON QUEENS HEAD HORSPATH VILLAGE
We can thoroughly recommend the Queens Head to anyone who is looking for reasonably priced accommodation near to Oxford City Centre. We stayed Friday & Saturday night & had a twin en suite room which had everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean & the beds were so comfy! The owners were away whilst we were there & had left their two daughters in charge. They were fantastic! So friendly! They made sure we were happy & had everything we needed. Nothing was too much trouble for them. There is a bus stop just down the road from the pub & the buses run once an hour into Oxford City Centre. It is only £3.00 return which was really good. The last bus back was 18.40 which we found to be a little early so we got a taxi back on the Saturday night around 21.00 which cost around £9.00 so that wasn't too bad. They had a 60s band on in the pub when we got back. They were excellent & we had a great night. Thanks Cara & Amy. You were brilliant!! And thanks Cara for keeping our piece of lamb in your freezer that my boyfriend won in your meat draw on the Friday night! Your hospitality was amazing! We will definitely return. Anybody who stays here will not be disappointed!

Reviewed by
ELAINE SCULLY

From WESTON SUPER MARE, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great time at The Queens Head ,great food ,and great service. Will defiantly be going back.

Reviewed by
Annabell Bond

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a stay, a friendly local pub
Nice room, very nice bar and seemed to be be busy.
Shame there is not a cooked breakfast or I would be staying a couple of time a month!

Reviewed by
Raymond B

From Settle, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay and very professional friendly staff
As soon as we arrived at the Inn, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the owners who showed us to our room and saw that we had a place to sit in the pub restaurant. There was a birthday going on and we were made to feel very welcome. The food is top notch and reasonably priced and the service is warm, friendly and professional.
Our room was decorated in a contemporary fashion and was exceptionally clean. I personally liked the cottage feel with the rooms situated outside of the main pub and close to the car park.
The area was pleasant with nice drives and walks available to explore all the surrounding villages. If the weather had been better we would have gone walking.
All in all, I would recommend The Queen's Head to my friends and am sure you will have a great stay if you choose to book with them.

Reviewed by
Gemma O'Brien

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it
Great stay and location to visit Oxford. Lovely oldy worldy pub. Park and ride is about 2 mile down the road. Janet the host was really friendly and made us very welcome. Got to say the bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in, got a great nights sleep. Had an evening meal in the pub, it was excellent. Also recommend the Taste of India just down the road, we had the buffet for £10.95, plenty of choice.
Would definitely stay again, fantastic value for money.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at Queens Head in Oxford
For a one night stay the Queens Head was just right. Clean and comfortable. Close to Oxford. Breakfast sufficient. Janet the proprietor was very helpful. No noise disturbance from the pub and a good night sleep was had.

Reviewed by
m Williams

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next