No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
26 CHURCH ROAD Horspath Village, OXFORD, OX33 1RU
Traditional family run willage public house with 3 separate accommodation rooms. Bar menu available Tues - Friday 12-2pm Sat 12 - 3pm and 6-9 Mon - Sat. Sun Roast with all the trimmings 2 sittings 12.30 & 2pm.

We have a restaurant area seating for 30 people in our lounge. Games room, garden, large car park, play area, live music Saturdays, sky TV showing all live sports in the bar.

Please note if you are arriving on Mondays we open at 5pm if you would like an earlier check in time please contact us.
Picture of Queens Head, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very small but fine. Bathroom was a disabled bathroom which was very cold, needed updating and felt like it needed a good clean (there were a few insects). We didn't require a disabled bathroom and would've preferred slightly more space in the bedroom as we were staying two nights.
everyone that checked in was asked if they 'would like' (but made to feel you had to) pay on arrival. I don't think this is very good practice before you've even seen the room.
for what we paid, this was ok but I wouldn't go back. Just small things like being given enough milk in the rooms would've made a difference.

Reviewed by
L lambert

From Wrexham, Wales
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Place but needs some work
Located just outside of Oxford, it gave us an opportunity to experience to life in the countryside. The Pub food was great and the local people were very friendly. The staff was extremely helpful. The room location (in relation to the Pub) presented a challenge. To let in air we had to open a window which meant we experience smoke (from the smokers), light from the path and noise from the billiard players. Electrical outlets in the room did not work, the shower was difficult and the room needs good cleaning.

Reviewed by
T Lam

From USA
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

where was my breakfast?
I didn't expect too much at the price - but hey, when you pay up front for your breakfast you don't want the remains of what you were served the morning before. £5 for nothing. And at 7am and no staff - what can you do? Rooms being in the carpark didn't help either re: a good nights sleep with people laughing and shouting at 3am either. Won't be going back.

Reviewed by
Geraldine T

From NR ST AUSTELL, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly family atmosphere
Only spent one night here while attending an event in Oxford but would recommend it. The twin room is in a row of three as an extension at the back of the pub, by the car park. Possibly might be noisy but as I was out all evening I wouldn't know! The room was good for me, might be a little small for two, but it was clean and bright and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom with good shower, towels and toiletries.
I didn't have breakfast as they only provide a cereal and bread based meal and I'm gluten free but I had lunch (lovely chips). The staff were all very helpful and friendly in spite of the worry they must be suffering regarding the landlord's recent accident in Portugal.
The pub is ideally based for walking to Brasenose woods or Shotover Hill - only few hundred yards up the same road. Horspath and neighbouring Wheatley are pleasant villages in a lovely area - would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Janis W

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money!
Very comfortable! Warm & and friendly staff! Much better than expected for the price!

Reviewed by
Sylvia P

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy accommodation / great pub
The Pub is in a lovely location, very peaceful and pretty. The location, if you time the buses correctly, is just fine to get in to and out of Oxford. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable but not very big, perfectly fine for a couple of nights stay, but not really any more than that. The Pub is lovely, very friendly hosts and lovely locals, very welcoming.

Reviewed by
anthony d

From walton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great bed, shame about the cobwebs
One of the best beds we've slept in at a BnB. And the room had everything we needed including biscuits, hot chocolate and an ironing board.
Unfortunately, it was let down by established cobwebs hanging above the bed and black in the grouting around the shower. Despite sleeping with the windows wide open, the room was also extremely hot, thanks to an unrelenting heater that that we couldn't turn off.
Regarding feedback for the pub itself, we wanted to eat dinner there but the pub menu was just an uninspiring laminated sheet so we deceided we'd eat elsewhere and just come back for a drink. When we returned there were some other people eating there and the food did look much better than the menu suggested, indeed much better than we had found elsewhere so improving the presentation of the menu might just drum up some trade.
No-one was available to speak to when we checked out at 10am but we would stay again if the heater and cobweb situation was rectified.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be staying again
What a wonderful place to stay - the rooms are in an outbuilding, are very comfortable, well-furnished and a delight to stay in. I should think I'll be in Oxford again fairly soon - and I'll be staying here when I am.
The tickboxes below this ask if I'd recommend this place to a friend. I already have.

Reviewed by
Sam Skelton

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Oxford
Stayed one night, friendly staff who were very helpful. We had a meal in the pub which was excellent value and lovely quality. Ideal location outside of oxford but near enough to spend a day in the city

Reviewed by
Chris Lee

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accomodation, friendly helpful staff, would definitely stay again
The Queens Head is a lovely place to stay, and we would definitely stay again. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. The room was at the back and slightly away from the pub, so we weren't disturbed by any noise, and it looked like it had been fairly recently refurbished. When we arrived to check-in for our stay the lady who owned the property couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. She showed us to our room, gave us details of all the facilities and even directions how to get into Oxford. We ate in the restaurant at the pub only on one night, I wish now we had eaten there both nights as the food was absolutely delicious, and very reasonably priced, similar prices to other pub chains but of much better quality! Can't wait for an excuse now to go back to Oxford, so we can stay at The Queens Head again.

Reviewed by
Melanie R

From Burntwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next