No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
26 CHURCH ROAD Horspath Village, OXFORD, OX33 1RU
Traditional family run willage public house with 3 separate accommodation rooms. Bar menu available Tues - Friday 12-2pm Sat 12 - 3pm and 6-9 Mon - Sat. Sun Roast with all the trimmings 2 sittings 12.30 & 2pm.

We have a restaurant area seating for 30 people in our lounge. Games room, garden, large car park, play area, live music Saturdays, sky TV showing all live sports in the bar.

Please note if you are arriving on Mondays we open at 5pm if you would like an earlier check in time please contact us.
Picture of Queens Head, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay and very professional friendly staff
As soon as we arrived at the Inn, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the owners who showed us to our room and saw that we had a place to sit in the pub restaurant. There was a birthday going on and we were made to feel very welcome. The food is top notch and reasonably priced and the service is warm, friendly and professional.
Our room was decorated in a contemporary fashion and was exceptionally clean. I personally liked the cottage feel with the rooms situated outside of the main pub and close to the car park.
The area was pleasant with nice drives and walks available to explore all the surrounding villages. If the weather had been better we would have gone walking.
All in all, I would recommend The Queen's Head to my friends and am sure you will have a great stay if you choose to book with them.

Reviewed by
Gemma O'Brien

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it
Great stay and location to visit Oxford. Lovely oldy worldy pub. Park and ride is about 2 mile down the road. Janet the host was really friendly and made us very welcome. Got to say the bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in, got a great nights sleep. Had an evening meal in the pub, it was excellent. Also recommend the Taste of India just down the road, we had the buffet for £10.95, plenty of choice.
Would definitely stay again, fantastic value for money.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at Queens Head in Oxford
For a one night stay the Queens Head was just right. Clean and comfortable. Close to Oxford. Breakfast sufficient. Janet the proprietor was very helpful. No noise disturbance from the pub and a good night sleep was had.

Reviewed by
m Williams

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a cheap out of town stay, no longer than 1 night
We asked for a early checkin at 12, couldnt check in til 12.30, not really a problem as originally advised it would be 2pm, the room is outside the pub and is a room with a disabled bathroom and shower, there is not much room in there at all, but there is plenty of wardrobe space, drawers etc, but you wouldnt want to stay here longer than 1 night. the bathroom was not that clean and we felt like we had to keep our flip flops on all the time, but as a room to get your head down after a late night it was fine.

Reviewed by
Amy B

From Newbury, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night in Horspath - Queens Head Inn
Great food. Good beer. Great barmaids. Warm welcome and hotel rooms They have captured the market well!!

Reviewed by
Mark Campbell

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, comfy accommodation but ..........
Needed a very quiet location due to a sports competition my teen daughters were participating in starting early in morning. Unfortunately although confirmed with late rooms and the venue a mont or two earlier this was not documented by the hotel. A party in the pub had loud live music until 11.15pm and then the guests stayed until 1.15am . This was one of the three nights we stayed. The other nights were quiet and the accommodation was very comfy. Breakfast was fine and a non-gluten cereal was provided for me who is wheat intolerant.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Very much enjoyed our stay, nice local pub and very friendly!
Would definately stay again!

Reviewed by
Hayley B

From Coleford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was looking for somewhere relatively cheap to stay to accompany my son on his university open day. only 10 mins from the city centre, this was ideal. The accommodation was exactly as expected for the price. Clean room with everything that you would expect. Host very friendly and attentive. Rooms are not above the pub but in an annexe, which must be quieter. Overall very pleased.

Reviewed by
Howard O

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really convenient for the City. Nice little country village pub accommodation.
The Queens Head is a great little hideaway that is really convenient for Oxford. Really good functional rooms, clean and comfortable. Landlord and landlady really amiable and the food was good. I will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Really friendly staff, nice family atmosphere. Comfy beds and a big shower. Nice continental breakfast.

Reviewed by
C Hogg

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next