Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Little Saxham Hotels > The Ickworth Hotel & Apartments
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ickworth Hotel & Apartments

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Ickworth , Bury St Edmunds, IP29 5QE
The East Wing at Ickworth in Suffolk was home to the Hervey family for almost 200 years. It has now been transformed into one of the most remarkable luxury family-friendly hotels the UK has ever seen. Famous for its vast skies, stunning coastline and delightful countryside, Suffolk boasts a wealth of treasures, whether exploring for the day, taking a short break or embarking on a longer holiday. Ickworth is a luxury family-friendly hotel with spa and indoor swimming pool. The hotel is surrounded by 1,800 acres of National Trust parkland, which is perfect for family picnics, bike rides and walks. Enjoy a sophisticated and sumptuous adult-only affair in Frederick's Restaurant overlooking the Italian Gardens or choose creative but simple dishes for the whole family in our sunshine filled Conservatory. Please do book to avoid disappointment; this is the finest family friendly restaurant in Suffolk
Picture of The Ickworth Hotel & Apartments, Bury St Edmunds at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attentive
The hotel provide an exceptional service for families with young children.

Reviewed by
Derek A

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
The Ickworth is really aimed at people with youngish children and is fantastically catered in that direction. We were without children and had forgotten it was half term, so the places was packed with small people, and most of the public areas had children rolling around, but somehow this just added to the general atmosphere of conviviality. We had the pool to ourselves (at 6pm) the gardens were gloriously empty, and bicycles (free) to explore the extensive gounds.
Delicious food in the Conservatory, delectable breakfast and friendly staff. Ickworth is just the most delightful hotel.

Reviewed by
H St johnston

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel had character
The room was clean but was tired and need redecoration. The bathroom was clean but quite basic.

Reviewed by
G Garside

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay with friendly staff let down by very average food
The Hotel is great. Very family friendly. Good rooms. Friendly and attentive staff.
The food however is poor. We dined in the family dining room. The food was that of a not very good gastro pub. A boring menu. Nothing inspiring and not very well done. Just because we are eating with our children does not mean we want burgers, fish cakes or curries. Breakfast was very similar.
A real shame and something which often lets down English hotels (and yes...we are English so I'm not having any sort of cultural dig but in our experience it's the case).
Would like to say we would return but only if they sort out the food.

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful experience
We had a lovely time here staying in one wing if a stately home. With a super breakfast in the conservatory to start the day being on site for Ickworth House was excellent. The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed but efficient and attentive.

Reviewed by
Janet Hill

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A thoroughly enjoyable Stay
Staff and accommodation were excellent throughout the short visit

Reviewed by
V Hobbs

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend away!
Very family orientated luxury hotel, great food, very relaxing, bikes to ride and a beautiful swimming pool. Excellent setting you don't have to leave the premises - why would you? We wished we'd taken our son with us. If you want a quiet romantic hotel this is not it.

Reviewed by
M Biggins

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room + Account
This is an excellent hotel. The only negative of note is that some rooms including ours have a bath with a central single tap input and a central fixed shower head above. Think about this. Not good for families and the tap can be positively dangerous. Very hot water on your midriff. One other small niggle. Back home and the Visa slip and the account varied by £6 in the hotel's favour. We rung up and this was refunded but they had added a tip without asking or showing it. Otherwise this is a truly fantastic place to spend time and the hotel is probably one of the most chracterful in England. True eccentrics created it all.

Reviewed by
Robert Forsythe

From Prudhoe, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend at Ickworth Hotel
Some good points with the room, some negative. On the plus side, wonderful views of the parkland, and a good sized room. The staff were friendly and helpful. On a negative, we found that the kettle could only be plugged in on the floor as the lead was too short, the carpet was stained, and generally the room had a tired decor. The hotel does generally appeal to families as it has a swimming pool.

Reviewed by
Graham C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Wonderful family hotel in a stunning location. We couldn't have asked for more for our young family, plenty to keep the little one occupied & spa treatments & evening baby monitoring for some quality time away from the kids. They seem to have thought of everything from Wellies & brollies to borrow when the weather is not so good, to bikes & a trampoline when the sun shines. We were amazed by everything on offer & the complimentary entrance to the NT house was a real bonus. We will be going back!

Reviewed by
Louise H

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.