No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Leas, Clifton Gardens , Folkestone, CT20 2EB
Our traditional Victorian style hotel, dating back to 1864, is situated in the centre of the famous Leas. As such, guests will overlook the English Channel at BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel, as our friendly staff oversees their every need! The view's just as impressive inside, with 80 well-furnished bedrooms, five comfortable meeting rooms, a relaxing restaurant and an inviting bar. Business and pleasure are catered here in style, in a peaceful location just ten minutes from Folkestone's town centre, and close to the M20. The Eurotunnel is just three miles away for those who want easy access to the Continent and Dover is only seven miles from the hotel should you prefer to set sail from another famous port town!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old and tired hotel
Very grim interior in need of investment. Breakfast was not freshly cooked. £40 per night would be a fairer price for what you get

Reviewed by
cyrus h

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint, but pleasant.
We were given a superior room, overlooking the gardens. Very pleasant, if a little dated. Perfectly acceptable, though. Room could have been cleaner, but overall O.K.

Reviewed by
T Sweet

From Bargoed, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissatiredpointed
The hotel,which we had stayed some years ago, before becoming a part of a chain, is now very tired and beginning to look run down. We upgraded our room but felt there was no improvement, the furnishings were splendid but the bathroom was very small and uncomfortable. There were no grab bars to assist getting into the bath shower, considering the age group of some of the guests I would think they would be very helpful. Breakfast was very basic and there were no croissants if a continental was preferred. We decided on our last night to dinner, mistake! The menu was roast dinner, beef, lamb etc, in fact we were lucky, we had the last of the beef. We bought a bottle of wine, my first glass was invaded by a fly which swam around, no doubt enjoying itself. I called the restaurant manager across who apoligising profusely took the full glass of wine away and replaced it with a clean empty glass, I had therefore paid for a full bottle but less a full glass. When we used to stay before there was a excellent maître d/hotel and an excellent extensive menu. We were to fed up to argue and left as early as we could next morning, I could not be bothered with breakfast.

Reviewed by
IAN BATT

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but Clean
The room was large but unfortunately somewhat dated and in need of some refurbishment. The worst experience was to be woken at 2 a.m. by extreme weather with the sash windows rattling against each other, toilet roll proved an effective silencer! Neither of the bedside lights worked and the heated towel rail turned the bathroom into a sauna, no apparent way of turning it down or off. Otherwise a spacious comfortable room, with all the usual amenities and perfectly adequate for one night..

Reviewed by
Christopher I

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had great room the only complaint shower room a bit snug.
Second time we have stayed at the Clifton all staff were lovely breakfast was great room overlooked garden, we had a lovely stay thanks.

Reviewed by
J Raistrick

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old but stylish
This hotel is a little old and perhaps a little jaded.however it is very comfortable the room was everything you need from a room
It was spacious comfortable and clean. The customer service was second to none in this hotel.the staff were professional and friendly. The food was excellent . would not hesitate to stay here again

Reviewed by
Anne G

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food/service
Although the hotel was fairly busy with people staying we didn't have a problem the first morning however on the second, though less people, it took nearly half an hour to receive our breakfast following us ordering it.Also a lot of used tables were left uncleared for long periods which seemed odd because there were 3 waiters on hand, but seemed to disappear for long periods.
Secondly,on both evenings we ordered bar meals which were very slow to appear, almost 45 minutes the second evening and the food (chicken on skewers with plain rice and small nan bread) was far from appetisingThe chicken was very dry, felt as if it had been cooked the day before ! A sauce to go on the rice would have been welcome, but there was no option to have any, so I think the chef needs to think again ,overall disappointing to say the least.

Reviewed by
M PARKES

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions now and have never been disappointed, there are some lovely rooms with great sea views.

Reviewed by
phil c

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Who let the dogs out!!
The hotel info said 'no pets in public rooms'. We were very disappointed to see several dogs with owners in the lounge bar. The dogs were barking and growling not what we would want for a pleasant evening. There were other people who had pets in their rooms

Reviewed by
David L

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly,helpful staff, very enjoyable stay.
lovely view of sea and private gardens, staff gave a wonderful service; even going the extra mile to help. would have liked some sort of grab rail to assist when getting out of over shower bath, as I am slightly mobility impaired.

Reviewed by
Theresa B

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next